We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Side Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Blue Heron Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tar Heel Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Foam Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Owens' Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,797)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
1,266
424
84
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,266
424
84
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth buildingmain buildingocean frontthe outer banksloft roomoutdoor poolcontinental breakfastquichewafflesfresh fruitcomplimentary winehard boiled eggswonderful hoteloff seasonhotel in nags headhot tubbiscuits and gravy
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Small hotel on the beach. Room was adequate, was a little dated. Breakfast was average, but there was a good selection. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They did have a wine and cheese complimentary happy hour from 4-6 pm daily.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Very nice hotel on the outer banks. Large clean well equipped rooms, good selection of breakfast items and nice staff. Perfect location to the beach and 2nd floor rooms and up have great ocean views. Wonderful outdoor and indoor pools.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have great views
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank waldop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We have stayed at the Surfside many times and when we found out our niece was getting married in Nags Head we immediately booked our reservation at the Surfside again. We stayed in the third floor oceanfront suite. We usually stay in the 4th floor suite so I was a little concerned I would hear lot of noise from the rooms above us, but no noise at all. You cannot hear noise from the adjoining or upper floor rooms.

The staff are welcoming and it feels like home. Breakfasts were delicious...more than a continental breakfast with home-cooked hot options every day. We were sad to leave but excited to come back again soon.

Room Tip: Great location, quieter end of Nags Head, balconies with screens, well-built with no adjacent room noise
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

hotel is clean, with great views. our view was not sea view, as we chose, and we still had a very nice view of the seashore.
the room is spacious.
staff is nice and helpful
breakfast is generous.
would definitely recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This was our first visit to Nags Head and Surf Side Hotel. We read lots of great reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel was very clean and a nice place to stay with kids. All of the staff was very friendly. They offered a free breakfast every morning. We had a side room, but still had a nice view of the ocean. They have an indoor pool and hot tub. We had an elevator in our building that was much easier with luggage. We did not have a kitchen, only a fridge and microwave, but was aware of that before making reservations. Also, if you are a repeat customer you can receive a 10% discount on your next stay. Overall, it was a wonderful stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BCLove24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews