We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Meadows Inn(New Bern)
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn New Bern(New Bern)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard New Bern(New Bern)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Aerie(New Bern)
US$139
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$123
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina(New Bern)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Captain's Stay(New Bern)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
15
14
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
14
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfatlantic beachfull kitchenpleasant stayindoor poolloftpondwashercondogeeseresortunitsdeckdryerfurnitureamenitiesrecreation
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2015

My wife & I and 2 adult children spent the week of June 6-13/2015. Unit was very tired, furniture old; sofas (& 1 sleeper) stained and sleeper not at all satisfactory: bar in middle! Central AC went out twice: the first day. Fixed in timely manner. Second time was about 9PM on our last night. NO emergency repair available (& it was hot!). All after hours numbers either did not answer or could do nothing. Repair made after our check out. Kitchen and equipment satisfactory, washer/dryer good. 2 bedrooms/2 1/2 baths. Roof leaked over stair to second floor. Second floor porch had standing water, breeding lots of mosquitoes and other bugs.Nice outdoor pool; did not use the miniature golf, basketball, & tennis. Bathroom exhaust fans very noisy, fortunately no occupant next door.

Room Tip: Get a renovated unit.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anlophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

My wife and I, and another couple, spent a delightful week in May of this year in a conduminium unit at Sand Castle Village II. We were in unit #3606 on an exchange through RCI, and this is one of the largest 2 BR, 2 Bath units we have ever been in. The unit had a living room, a dining room with hardwood floors, and a kitchen as well as a small bathroom on the first floor. A sliding glass door with a screen opened up off the dining area onto a very nice deck with sturdy cast iron chairs and a table with an umbrella, and the deck overlooked the lake. We all enjoyed taking walks around the lake. On the second level was a separate room with a jacuzzi bathtub and washer and dryer, and a second bedroom with a queen size bed and bath. A few steps up from the second level was a third level with a queen size bed and bath, and then even a fourth level with large room and two twin beds and bookshelves. The condominium was immaculately clean, and it looked like most of the furniture, carpeting and kitchenware were almost brand new. We had one problem on our first day there, which the staff fixed as soon as they were notified. The dishwasher in our unit was broken and was leaking and not cleaning the glasses properly. The staff brought in a new diswasher and new drinking glasses the next day. The only drawback was the challenge in walking around the lake because of Canadian geese, which the association is addressing. Overall we had an excellent experience at Sand Castle Village II, and in the historic New Bern area, and we highly recommend this beautiful condominium complex.

Room Tip: If you can, request unit #3606
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ZeroTTZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014 via mobile

We're here now and are meeting such nice people. Everyone has been so friendly. There's a gorgeous pond with a boardwalk around it. There's a group of resident ducks, a great blue heron...and so many little turtle heads pop up as you walk. There's a beautiful marina and a nice restaurant on the premises. We enjoyed the outdoor pool today. I'm very happy with Sandcastle ii.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Our party of 4 adults stayed at Sandcastle Village (2 BR, 2.5 BA). We had plenty of space with a separate living area with TV, dining area & table and separate kitchen. The kitchen was stocked well with pans enabling us to make eggs & bacon a couple mornings. There are stairs to get to the bedrooms - one flight to get to the first bedroom and another 1/2 flight to get to the 2nd bedroom. Within the 2nd bedroom, there is another half flight to get to the loft with two twin beds there. Note: for anyone sleeping in the loft, there was no curtain over the triangular window in that room. We had a wooden deck that was furnished with a round table & 6 chairs. There is a carport that one small vehicle will fit under, which came in handy when it was raining. The rec center has a nice pool area outside (the indoor pool decking was being re-done while we were there so the indoor pool was closed.) The fitness room looked to have nice equipment & was always being used. If I was in the area, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 54321dogsmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The condos are nicely appointed with 2 bedrooms with full balls , a loft with 2 twins beds , a fully equipped kitchen, half bath downstairs , dining room, family room , a nice deck with table, chairs and umbrella facing a pond. The geese are quite aggressive so beware. We also had a full size washer and dryer in a jacuzzi tub that we really didn't use. We did use the laundry. We had a problem with the washer but maintenance fixed it within 2 days .
The rec center offered a free continental welcome breakfast on Monday and they told us what was around the area and had a week of activities . The outside pool was very nice. The inside pool was closed because they were updating it with new windows They provided towels . There was a game room , workout room and a computer room . You could rent dvd's but we brought our own from home. They had a mini golf course , basket ball court & tennis.
The restaurant on the grounds the Fairfield is decent. Large portions, most of us had chicken wings, burgers & salads that were very good. Service was slow but was very nice. They were doing karaoke in the lounge after dinner friday night.
There is a food lion not far from us so we shopped there and cooked most nights but we ate out at Morgan's twice and the Chelsea one night in downtown New Bern which is 10 minutes away. Both very good! We visited the Pepsi store , Tyron Palace , Lake road winery & Atlantic beach while we were here. Atlantic beach is an easy hour drive. We went to Fort Macon park which has public bath house and showers with a snack shop. However they do not have beach chair rentals. The water temp must have been in the 70's! So enjoyable . Our sailing tour got canceled due to a thunder storm that came into the area but they refunded our money . Over all we were pleasantly surprised at our time with 3 families in 2 adjoining condos at sand castle village.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank strawberry1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews