We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hibachi and sushi in newland ”

Nguyens Asian Grill
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Newland
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

This was a pleasant surprise. The prices are good for decent ( not crazy large ) portions. We enjoyed the mixed hibachi - shrimp was especially good and sushi. Try it out if you're in Newland.

Thank Kathyhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Owner at Nguyens Asian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you Kathyhug for you review! Our family is glad to hear that you enjoyed it! Thank you, we appreciate your time and business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Great food, fresh and well-prepared. Extensive menu as you would find in a large city. This family run restaurant offers fast and efficient service, wonderful food, and very reasonable prices. Although it is 20 miles from our mountain home, we will be regulars. A nice find.

Thank wjlagano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Owner at Nguyens Asian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you so much wjlagano for the wonderful review! And thank you so much for going so far to come and support our family business! We really really appreciate it very much! Please next time your here come in the kitchen and say hi! We would like to send you some appetizers and dessert. Again thank so much for your time, review and business. We greatly appreciate it! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

This is the best Asian/ Japanese restaurant in the Avery County area. Lots of choices for whatever you're craving and generous portions so you won't leave hungry. Everything I've tried so far(chicken, steak, shrimp) has been exceptional. The inside is a little drab but having worked in the restaurant business before sometimes you just have to do the best you can with what you have to work with. It is very clean and the service is great.

Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Owner at Nguyens Asian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Jake P, thank you so much for your time and review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed it! And for the restaurant it is still a working process. At the moment we direct most of our income to food quality, our community and to all the heros of our country. So at the moment we are working with what we have but we will keep adding little by little everyday to make our restaurant truly a place to enjoy. Thank you so much for understanding our situation. And thank you so much for you time, review and business! We hope to see you again soon! Your business is greatly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Given the selection of restaurants in the Town of Newland, it is great to see a new and different restaurant open in town. The sushi here is always fresh and there is a great selection. The only downside to this restaurant is that it is only open for dinner, not lunch. I can live with that, but sometimes I would like Asian food for lunch and they are not open. Guess I'll just have to come back for the dinner session. The hibachi grill food is good as well. I will continue to eat this restaurant and encourage others to give it a try. For the Town of Newland, you can't go wrong here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Owner at Nguyens Asian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Justin r, thank you very much for your time and review! We are very happy to hear about your experience at our restaurant and we are so sorry about our business hours. Since business in Newland is very unpredictable and to ensure the best quality in our food we must do everything ourselves in the beginning. But due to an extremely high volume of demands for lunch our family will be working on opening for lunch soon so please hang in there we will work on that as soon as possible! Again we would like to thank you for your time, review and bussiness, we hope to see you again soon! Your business is greatly appreciated! Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

My wife and I were in Newland, while I was performing a wedding. We saw the restaurant, after we had eaten pizza the first night. The next night we stopped in. I was so disappointed that we didn't go the first night. I would have happily eaten there twice!

The wait staff were friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful.We had the Pork Gyoza, Spicy Crunchy Krab Roll, and Dragon Roll. It is hard to say which roll was better -- both were delicious.

The next time we are in the area, we will return. The restaurant is a family affair and they are doing a great job.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Owner at Nguyens Asian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Paul P, thank you so much for your time and wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed it, and we can't wait to see you again! Thank you so much for your business we hope to see you again soon! Please have a safe journey back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nguyens Asian Grill also viewed

Newland, North Carolina Mountains
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
 
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville Falls, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Nguyens Asian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing