We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, old fashioned, and friendly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edwards of Ocracoke Rooms and Cottages
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Remember the days when motel rooms had real keys, the owner showed you a room before you checked in and without asking, and then gave good advice about the local hot spots? That's Edwards. Friendly, helpful, clean, retro, reasonablly priced, quiet and walking distance to everything in Ocracoke. In a word.....ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bentman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

We recently spent a long weekend at Edwards of Ocracoke. It was total bliss! Friendly staff! Clean accommodations! Love the vintage look of the entire place. We had a room with a kitchenette - which was great this time of year, since so many places are closed for the season. We absolutely LOVE Edwards of Ocracoke and will definitely be repeat customers!!!

Room Tip: Love the kitchenette room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hartsdesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We having been coming to Ocracoke for years, having stayed at both the Anchorage Inn and Bluff Shoals motels, rented houses, etc. Edwards is the perfect place to stay for us, as you don't have to rent for the entire week, you can cook here (sometimes hard to find a meal on the island if you are arriving/eating late) and this property just screams "laid back Ocracoke style!" This is a family-run property, and this trip was our third visit with them. It is older, but very well maintained, new windows, updated bathrooms, etc. It has the island charm that you want for this lovely little island, and they make you feel very welcome! We always bring our bikes, and leave them in the racks provided. This is the place you want to just park your car and either bike or walk! Visiting Ocracoke is like stepping back in time, and Edwards has captured that feel entirely! If you are looking for the high-rise condos of Panama City, Destin, or Daytona, don't come here! If you are looking for relaxation, peace and quiet without all of the frills, this is your place! We just left, and I already want to go back!

Room Tip: We love the efficiency rooms with the screened porches and kitchens. Will have to try the cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gocoastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Quaint. Simple. Quiet. Family owned & operated. You can not go wrong with any room here! Convenient location on the island. We've been 3 times and are going back tomorrow for our 1st anniversary! We won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bnhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We enjoyed our one evening in Ocracoke and liked the bungalow room we had at Edwards. The room had a somewhat rustic feel that fit the island's atmosphere nicely. It was also comfortable and clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They rented bicycles to us which we enjoyed riding around the small village, down to the harbor for dinner, and out to the beach the next morning. The only negative thing I would say is that the air conditioner unit in our room was quite loud so just we turned it completely off when we went to bed...then it got a little on the warm side. I would like to visit Ocracoke again and would probably stay at Edwards (with ear plugs next time).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NealB37093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
28.4 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
29.7 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
0.8 km away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwards of Ocracoke Rooms and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwards of Ocracoke Rooms and Cottages

Address: 216 Old Beach Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range: $73 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwards of Ocracoke offers a classic island facility located in the heart of Ocracoke Village and is convenient to shops, restaurants and Silver Lake Harbor, on a quiet, less traveled street. The accommodations are modern, exceptionally clean and very reasonably priced, while retaining the original charm and ambiance of the quaint fishing village atmosphere. Edwards offers a variety of options for vacationers and travelers: single rooms, double rooms, apartments and cottages which can accommodate couples and families. The facility is family-owned and operated and provides charming accommodations in a tranquil setting. It's like going back in time - you can relax and enjoy life like you're suppose to. We welcome you to our vintage facility and hope that you discover the charm. Our guests like to walk and bike to shops and restaurants or gather outside in the courtyard to visit, grill, barbecue or clean their fish catch. Many of the guests return annually to their favorite units and often bring others to share in their vacation tradition with us at Edwards of Ocracoke. The facilities consist of 8 motel rooms, 3 efficiency rooms, 6 cottage apartments and 2 private cottages. Most have private screened porches while others offer open porches and decks, providing a room outdoors as a part of the relaxed atmosphere that is offered at Edwards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edwards Of Ocracoke Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Motel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing