We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Sportsman's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sportsman's Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 11 June 2017

The cheapest hotel we have stayed in on our US trip and perfectly good. It does what it sets out to do. A laundry room was a bonus. Clean, friendly and good value. Next to the highway but no trouble with noise. Why pay more for an overnight stop. One negative - the air con unit was really noisy. Too noisy to sleep with.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank david B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGJhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Sportsman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hello
I would like to thank you for staying with us at Sportsman's Inn in Plymouth NC. I want to share the news that we have replaced the a/c unit so there will be no noise and only peace. We apologize for your inconvenience that was caused by bad a/c unit. It was back ordered for some time now and it has arrived now and replaced the old one.
We appreciate all your guidance to make us better. We value your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017

I liked staying here ! I stayed when I had to do internship work with my college and the stay was very pleasant. Nothing was wrong with the place , staff , or room . I enjoyed being able to walk in and not have to worry about whether I had enough of something or needed more . I appreciated the new fridge in the room and can tell the place had a new paint job .

There are a few things I want to say though : Since they renovated the property , I kind of wish they had done the same with the bed spread . I feel that if they had just a simple comforter, this place would have gotten five stars from me. I just didn't like it because it felt like such a step back from how simple and clean the place was but it wasn't a let down either. Another thing I will say is that their snack machine needs to be fixed . Although it wasn't a bother to me , I can tell it might upset others that maybe wanted a late night snack .

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TashayiaBusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGJhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Sportsman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank You for your feedback. We are in the process of renovation and resetting the theme of Motel currently. The bedspreads are in order of coming and will be changed soon. About the snack machine, we are sorry for that but we no longer provide that service and the machine have such displayed notice.
Once again, I appreciate your review on behalf of our team at Sportsman's Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The Sportsman's Inn is an older, budget motel, but well maintained. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The outdoor pavilion was a great place to relax on a sunny afternoon. The owners were extremely helpful and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KLSCrystalRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGJhospitality, Public Relations Manager at Sportsman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank You for your review. Your feedback motivates us do our best work and provide excellent services to our guest. We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We were traveling in the area for a family reunion and needed a place to stop for the night. Front Desk person was very friendly and helpful. This motel is very conveniently located on the highway to the Outer Banks. But, it is pretty old and VERY basic. Sheets are very thin, and towels are very small; no hand towels. Bed was sort of squeaky and crunched when getting in and out of it. But carpet appeared to be recent and clean. All in all, it was worth the $69.95 that I paid to stay there. The 10:00 A.M. check out time was a surprise.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 7hokiegirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGJhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Sportsman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Sportsman's Inn. I assure you on behalf of our whole team that on your next visit you can definitely expect improvements. We believe in quality over quantity and your review does help us to improve our service and amenities. We appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

My husband and I just got home from a week's stay in Plymouth{we were doing some work on a sailboat nearby}, and we stayed here for the entire week.
Our {non-smoking} room was smallish, but not uncomfortably so. It was very clean, neat, and well maintained.The bed was comfortable, and had almost enough pillows{they gladly gave me another one upon request}.Everyone was friendly, pleasant and helpful.
We had a fridge,& microwave in our room, which was really all we needed,{although a small coffeemaker might have been nice}.
It was peaceful and a pleasant place to stay while we were in town.The rates were excellent, and we will look forward to a return visit soon.
My only disappointment was that we couldn't use the nice, clean refreshing-looking pool, because the pool inspector hadn't come to inspect it for this season. I'm hoping that will be fixed by the time we come back!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGJhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Sportsman's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Hello Susan.. I am glad to see your review on Sportsman's Inn. Yes the pool is fixed, inspected and open to our guests now. We take pride in keeping our property well equipped and clean. Your feedback is appreciated. Looking forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.3 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
68 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#1 of 3 in Plymouth
84 reviews
28.6 km away
Hampton Inn Edenton
Hampton Inn Edenton
#1 of 2 in Edenton
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman's Inn

Address: 990 US Highway 64 W, Plymouth, NC 27962-8845 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing