We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
3
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2014

Booking the Tuscany Unite for a weekend visit to the Clare Valley before working in Adelaide during Cup week in Melbourne, I was not expecting what we got.

The unit is very comfortable, clean and well laid out. It is what you don't expect that amazes you. A platter of bread, oil and dip waiting on the table. A complimentary bottle of Taylor's Riesling in the fridge and a carafe of Port for a late night nip. Breakfast of cereals, eggs, bacon and bread are all there if you feel the need.

Owners are very pleasant and accommodating, and the town of Auburn is very nice with most things you will need. Great pub - Rising Sun, very good menu and reasonably priced.

We will definitely return here.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Well, how can I start. Arrived at this wonder town of Auburn in Clare Valley Sth Aust . This accommodation is by far one of the best decked out accommodations that we've stayed at.
We could not believe all the extras. For a unit that was the price it was, all the extras were so good. Orange Juice, 6 eggs, Bacon, Milk, Butter, Fruit, 3 Cereals, Bottle of Taylor Wine, Loaf of Bread, Jams . Also a gift bag of Biscuits and Jams.. A Platter of bread ..oils and dukhah. And chocolates ...in the bathroom beautiful lavender liquid soaps and body washes and shampoo from the local lavender farm....in the unit there was everything you needed to make your time spent there great. The garden is lovely to sit in and have a,cool drink and there is a lot of cafes and a great pub within walking distance. All in all this place is a credit to the owners, we will be back and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Great area for local produce, wines and olives etc
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gidgie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed one night in the Tuscany cottage during our recent trip to the Clare Valley. The owners were very accommodating and allowed us an earlier check in so we could take advantage of the free bikes to explore the Riesling Trail. The cottage is very close to the trail (literally across the street) and the bikes were in adequate condition (although some minor maintenance would be in order). The cottage itself was so clean and inviting. It has a fully stocked kitchen with provisions--our fridge had juice, milk, eggs, bacon, a bottle of Clare Valley Riesling wine, and a lovely cheese spread with crackers, as well as a stocked pantry with cereals, coffee, and tea. There was even a cute welcome basket with delicious honey biscuits and small bottles of honey and marmalade for us to take. The attention to detail with the way the cottage is set up is impeccable. Everything you could possibly need or want is laid out for you, including lavender-scented toiletries and bathrobes. I could have easily stayed here for an entire week. The only con about the cottage is that it is on the main road, so if you are sensitive to car traffic noise (highway noise, not city noise), this may not be the best option for you. Otherwise, this is a very nice romantic option for couples looking to get away. I also highly recommend eating at the local pub in Auburn called the Rising Sun. Delicious and within walking distance.

Room Tip: The Tuscany cottage is spacious and beautiful, but the Provence cottage is off the main road so might be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed in Tuscany, friends in Provence - the names are too phoney, it is Australia for goodness sake. Not luxurious, very comfortable country style, lavender themed. Absolute attention to detail, good breakfast provisions, fully equipped kitchen, delicious biscuits, gift bag of local goodies, bottle of wine, etc. quality linens, comfortable beds. Because it is an old building there are compromises, the front cottage is near the road, but the bedroom is at the back. Outdoor seating areas with barbecues. The front cottage is perhaps a little larger and has a washing machine, so perhaps better for a longer stay. Good eating in Auburn, thoroughly recommended for a Clare Valley wine tour, or cycling the local trails on old railway lines. Bikes supplied at the cottages although we didn't use them or the sauna. Air conditioning and log burner not used by us.

Room Tip: Rear cottage perhaps quieter and has a garden outdoor sitting area, although Australian insects probably preclude this at most times.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaviaEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We traveled to the Clare Valley to rekindle our love of wine and stayed in this B&B as part of the travel auction deals.

Lavender Blue B&B offers two cottages, Tuscany and Provence. We stayed in Provence which is at the back of the property away from the main street which takes all traffic to Clare.
I am not sure what we expected, but having stayed in many B&Bs both in Australia and overseas over the years we expected more that we got. There was nothing of the personality of the owners here.

The cottage had a bedroom, a small kitchen, a shower and lounge with TV, air conditioning and a wood burning stove. The outside area had seating and small electric BBQ. There was off street parking, a communal sauna and the availability of bicycles to explore the riesling trail.

The rooms were rather dark and unwelcoming. When I go into a B&B I expect some of the personality of the owners to be reflected in the decorations and furniture. The rooms looked like someone had a list of what was needed and gone to an op shop to get what they though was typical of Provence. Having been to Provence there was nothing in the cottage (except the lovely blue and gold tiles in the kitchen and bathroom) that evoked that lovely area.
Where was the sunlight, the warmth, the welcoming feel?

True the beds (two singles brought together to make a king) were comfortable but they were on rollers so you risked sliding away from the wall. The floors through out were slate or concrete, OK but cold under foot. Rugs were thin and the two in the bedroom were actually bath mats. What a difference a good large rug in the lounge and bedroom would make.

In the lounge area the sofa and chair were ok but not really comfortable and there were a few books and a few DVDs to watch (if you liked watching 4W drive movies). The overhead lights were weak and not possible to read by. The best lighting was provided by the bedside lights in the bedroom.

Imagine yourself in front of a roaring fire with a good book, cuddling into a comfy sofa with your beloved with a glass of Clare wine in hand listening to the rain and wind outside I can but not in this place.

As we were on a rather tight budget and there was only one hotel to eat out at locally, we chose to take advantage of the "well equipped" kitchen listed in the brochure. If we wanted to cook casseroles there were plenty of dishes, but the basics were not there - a decent cutting board, a strainer, a lid for the large saucepan, etc. We made do. They did have a coffee maker and plunger and the Anzac biscuits were a treat. The breakfast provided was continental and the bread was nice.

The bathroom was good and the shower was hot.

At night the rooms got very cold, even for April. There is an air conditioner but it seemed to be blowing cold air even set at 25 degrees C. There is a lovely wood burning stove but no wood. We found blocks outside but were not sure if we could use them as they were not split. The bedrooms is under the other older cottage and was warmer by virtue of only having one window. I expect all the rooms would be cold in the winter months.

Outside was no better. A tired, poorly painted pergola area had a couple of cane chairs and a noisy bio-cycle unit smack in the middle of the back lawn. There is parking at the back but no wheelchair access.

All in all, all the basics were there but the warmth and welcome you would expect of a good B&B was not. There are many B&Bs in the area. For the price I would try elsewhere first.

Room Tip: If you are staying here ask for Provence as the traffic noise from the main street is somewhat muffled.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Viscountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouandAJ, Owner at Lavender Blue Country Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay over with us. We only recently purchased the property and had hoped that guests would fill in the customer review sheet found in the information folder so we could update where necessary. The previous owner had named the rooms, and we wished to keep the same names, not as themed rooms. Our customers that have paid full price and received the full package of cooked breakfast provisions, cheese and crackers, Clare Valley Wine, port, biscuits, all linen and towels and a welcome package have left us good responses. We are on a tight budget and are painting and improving as fast as we can. The floors through Provence are made from local slate mined at Mintaro. We have added the things you mentioned missing from the kitchen and will leave instructions for the air conditioner. Apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews