We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Processed parmigiana, roast was very good”
Review of Spinifex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spinifex Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 24 June 2016

After a few day trip to the Archipeligo our fellow boat friends and us all decided to meet up at the hotel for dinner. The roast pork was very large and lots of veggies and meat, however my parmigiana was made entirely of processed chicken breast, and at $26 I really really was disappointed. The roast was $22 including a dessert, but as it took them 20 minutes to clear our plates and no offer of the included dessert it was too late to have it and the waitress wasn't forthcoming and seemed altogether confused.

Room Tip: Don't choose the parmigiana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank jmk4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016

Upon arrival last Tuesday 14th June 2016, I was greeted by friendly administration staff who quickly checked me in. Walking to my room I noticed a sparkling swimming pool and tidy decking. I also pickup up on the beautiful 31 degrees which was nice coming from a freezing Perth. The beer garden was being renovated with a mobile stage being put in, new artificial lawn and an enormous sand pit for the little ones. The hotel manager advised me all will be completed in one week. My room was peacefully quiet and everything I needed with a comfortable bed, good size TV with Foxtel, fridge and a nice hot shower. I attended the front bar and was happy to see numerous beer taps and dozens of bottled beer and wines. The staff were friendly and in full uniform. I ordered the 5 spice squid for entrée which was delicious and followed up with the Spinifex Steak sandwich which was huge. The bar was busy as was the restaurant. Next morning I went for a run along a well lit up walk/cycle path to the Derby Jetty and was greeted with a postcard view of the jetty under lights and a wonderful sunrise. Back to the Spinifex for the Spinifex Big Breakfast which arrived on a large plate and was fault less. For dinner I tried the beef vindaloo and was once again impressed. Overall the hotel management and staff are a well-organized team and I will be back.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs check your room is on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank herringhead7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We arrived at 5 pm all rooms were ready for our party of 40 Aussies on a tour bus. The rooms fully equipped with washing machines, You could live here if working in the town. The units are very well insulated for cooling and noise. Handy to pool and kitchen if you eat in house. Absolutely beautifully finished great beds.

Room Tip: Ask for ground level unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank holidayms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

I must say i was totally surprised by this place. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. I had a really restful time here as I couldn't hear any of my neighbours so there must be some serious sound proofing going on. The restaurant is amazing too, great food! Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Tommaso P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Modern hotel with great dinning available indoors or out. All our meals were well presented and tasty. Good facilities if needing a hotel here I would definitely stay but ensure all your valuables are locked away as people we know had their bikes stolen off their trailers whilst in the car park

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ann and Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you so much for your review! We are so sorry the bikes were stolen and we are looking into updating our security so this will not happen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.1 km away
Derby Lodge
Derby Lodge
#2 of 9 in Derby
67 reviews
1.4 km away
Derby Boab Inn
Derby Boab Inn
#2 of 3 in Derby
34 reviews
2.9 km away
West Kimberley Lodge
West Kimberley Lodge
#7 of 9 in Derby
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.2 km away
Mornington Wilderness Camp
Show Prices

Been to Spinifex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinifex Hotel

Address: 6 Clarendon St, Derby, Western Australia 6728, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: $213 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spinifex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Spinifex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing