We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christi B
Cleveland, Ohio

Very friendly

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Aug 2016
I agree with other reviewers "Great place to stay for the price". We will be in town for our daughters wedding and have stayed once already for wedding planning meeting. We recommended to all of our out of town guests as the 'best budget friendly option'. Rooms are clean, staff is extremely friendly and the location is great for the wedding venue. Some rooms have newer upholstered furniture, this last room we stayed in did not and the armchair should be replaced as it is stained, but otherwise the cushions were still solid. Beds are very comfortable and each room has mini-fridge/micro. Only complaint is no coffee maker in room - when we come back for the week we will bring our own as we are driving in. Continental Breakfast has all the usual things, would like to see addition of yogurt as it is true 'continental breakfast' style - heavy on carbs. Muffins, cereal, fresh waffles and fresh fruit. But the best part really is the people. Very friendly, even the staff that cleans the rooms. They all smile and greet you. Billed as having the largest pool in the county - a must for NC summers. Pet friendly and they are quick to lower the price to $20/night for pets. We travel a lot with our dog and that is a bargain!
Date of stay: August 2016
Room Tip: Request a room number 200 or above and you will be with the vacationers
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review
Responded 21 Feb 2017
Dear Christy B,

We certainly appreciate your patronage! Our pet-friendly motel and large swimming pool is perfect for families! We do understand your concerns about the breakfast and will take your feedback seriously. We hope that you come back and stay with us again!

Regards,
Gary-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$185
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.3 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$98
  • Wyndham
1.1 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$176
  • Expedia.com
5.0 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hampton
  • Hotels.com
6.6 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Choice Hotels
    S$120
  • Hotels.com
6.6 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$88
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Comfort Inn
    S$108
  • Hotels.com
7.2 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
5.0 km from Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Shelby
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
6
6
6
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
6
6
7
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Great place to stay for the price, front desk staff was awesome an th rooms were very clean an comfortable. I will be staying here again when I visit Shelby nc.... great location for food an shopping. very quite an relaxing place to stay....

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhappysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear dhappysmith,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our property is conveniently located near several shops and restaurants. We take great pride in exceeding the expectations of our guests! I am glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff as well.


Regards,
Gary-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

There are no pros for this motel. It advertised a whirlpool room so we checked in. To our dismay, as we entered the room there was a bad cigarette smell, carpet was filthy, comforter had cigarette holes, bathroom floor need to be replaced. I was scared to approach the whirlpool but had to do it, and there it was... tile missing, unclean tub.
***It gives the impression that there's where truckers, drug-addicts & prostitutes hook up. Oh geez, we run out as fast as we could. They reimbursed our money but oh boy, they can't take back the awful experience.
Absolutely TERRIBLE. They don't even deserve 1 point!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Mujergitana28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear traveler,

We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. Had we been informed of these issues during your visit, we would have gladly addressed them. I am sorry that we were not able to provide you with an enjoyable visit.


Regards,
Gary-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Quite honestly one of the worst places I have ever stayed! Not even the cheap rate was worth it. Bathroom door had a hole in it, the bathroom sink was falling off the wall an unstable. There were four of us in a room that was only supplied with two sets of towels, thread bare I should add, when we asked for more we were told to dry them in the coin operated dryer...not! Two doors down "Bobo" was passed out in the grass and we had to hear his buddies trying to wake him up all night long. While another night visitors were knocking on his door all night long. Looked a bit like drugs deals going down to be honest...something was not right. Extremely disappointed. ..don't stay here!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Karinaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Karinaaron,

On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us. Although we do have alot of construction workers staying with us, we do our best to prevent any issues from occurring. Although we cannot control the actions of others, we do handle any situations which may occur immediately. We do not condone any illegal activity at our location. I am sorry that we could not provide you with an enjoyable experience.

Gary-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The room smelled like stale cigarettes and wet carpet. The bathroom floor was really dirty. I booked the room online for 4 people. At check-in, I was told that they had assigned me a king room. I was charged $20 more to get the room with two double beds. For that price, I could have stayed down the road at the much nicer Holiday Inn. Don't stay here.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floydfamily2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear floydfamily2202,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your visit. I am concerned about the issues you had experienced with housekeeping. We do take all complaints seriously and appropriate action taken. We will be sure to address these issues so that future guests are not affected. We pride ourselves in maintaining a clean and affordable facility.


Gary-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

So the outside appearance of the motel was fine. The kids were thrilled there was a pool, since temps were soaring into the high 90s. The room had two double beds. The bedding looked clean. We had our own pillows. The room smelled a little musty and took a long time to cool down. The laundry facilities were in a dark corridor and were out of order. They looked nasty anyway. The breakfast consisted of a waffle machine, yogurt, a few mini muffins, and milk that quickly ran out, with no replacement, making the cereal inedible. I do NOT recommend. Made my reservation on priceline.com, and it was already paid for, no refunds. Otherwise I would have gone down the road.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Tina J,

Your feedback is very important to us. It helps us to determine what we are doing right and which areas we can improve. We feel that we offer an affordable rate which includes complimentary breakfast which can be much higher at many other hotel chains. We try and control our costs without affecting our room rates. Our breakfast offerings include cereals, oatmeal, grits, muffins, cinnamon buns, toast, waffles, juices, coffee, fruits. If you would have brought the issue with the milk to our attention, one of our staff members would have gladly assisted you.


Gary-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews