We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When have we eaten a meal this bad?”

Texas Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #8 of 79 Restaurants in Smithfield
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Texas Steakhouse & Saloon is a casual dining Steakhouse. Our menu is full of appetizing items with an emphasis on steaks. We also have award winning ribs, fresh seafood & chicken, as well as a variety of garden fresh salads, appetizers & homemade desserts. We pride ourselves in serving a great meal with value & variety in a family friendly environment. Dine In - Take Out - Catering
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We cannot recall eating a meal at any restaurant recently that was this bad...and we mean really bad. We ordered two sandwiches---a Philly cheese steak and a shrimp Po-boy. We added loaded fries to each order. When the food finally arrived after about 40 minutes, (the place was not busy!) the fries were room temperature, the Philly cheese steak had NO cheese! Yes, that's right...cheese steak with no cheese! And the shrimp in the PoBoy still had the tails on them, so it wasn't edible as a sandwich. When I opened it to take the tails off the shrimp, there was a little lettuce and some tomato. ... no dressing, no mayo, nothing...just a dry bun. We had driven the whole day and were staying at a local hotel, so we ate our food, drank some beer, and left----never to return.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AandK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2020

Love the steaks here, convenient to shopping and hotels and on main road. The servers are very attentive, decor is nice and seating is spaced.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Bayraised58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

In the midst of COVID, we decided to try their curbside service. Ordered online and prepaid with no issues, and was given a time window to pickup. We got there in the middle of the 10-minute pick up window and the parking space said to text them and give our name and parking space number. We did that and waited until 5 minutes after the pickup window ended and called since we had no response. We asked about our order status and were told it’s not ready yet. They said they’d bring it out when it’s ready. We continued to wait another 25 minutes and heard nothing so we called again. We then were told there was no order in their system despite us having a confirmation and having been told previously that they were working on it. We asked if we could give them a confirmation number, time it was ordered, etc. and they said no. Another person got on the phone and asked us to bring in the confirmation. We did and when we walked in, here comes someone with the order that was now found and they said, oh this has been ready for 40 minutes...we thought you gave a different name and we didn’t have an order for that name. Remember, we texted our name and phone number when we arrived. Clearly, no one was checking anything. How often do you think people who have ordered online and go pickup their order arrive 40 minutes late? I doubt that happens too much. So no one sees this bag of food sitting in their takeout area for 40 minutes and thinks that is strange? Additionally, it wasn’t like they were slammed with takeout orders. There was one takeout order leaving when we arrived and one that came and went while we were waiting. That’s it, and we were there until closing. And yet they knew someone has been sitting outside waiting for their order for 45 minutes and obviously did not bother to investigate at all. They also made us feel like it was our fault. Like we would tell them a name that is not our own? We said at this point after having wasted nearly an hour of our time, we didn’t want cold food and they were now at closing time. They acted surprised that we had no interest in cold food nor interest in waiting another half hour for them to prepare it again. We asked for a credit which they did and they wound up just giving us the food instead of throwing it away. We went somewhere else and got some warm food and went home. When we got home we checked the curbside order and half the order was missing. Texas, you really need to get your act together if you want to survive in this pandemic. The treatment we received leaves a lot to be desired as far as customer service goes. The very idea that you couldn’t even bother to come out to us to view the confirmation and such and rather ask us to come inside to handle all this is upsetting in and of itself. There’s a reason people order curbside. They don’t want to go inside. As for us, we’ll never be back.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Miles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

Good food selection. I had the NY prime with baby back ribs. Our server Carolyn was friendly and attentive. Best western guest get 10% off dinner.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Torres8174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2020

The steak was good, the potato was good, the rolls were great. Good dinner after traveling all day. Just what we wanted. Close to hotel made it even better. Social distancing was being used, waiters were wearing masks. Felt comfortable.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

Smithfield, Johnston County
 
Smithfield, Johnston County
Smithfield, Johnston County
 

Been to Texas Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.