We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Steamer Pots!”

Moore Street Oyster Bar
Ranked #5 of 72 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Oyster pub specializing in coastal Southern cooking with a wide array of hard-to-get bourbons, delicious wines, and craft beers in scenic Southport!
Restaurant details
Description: Oyster pub specializing in coastal Southern cooking with a wide array of hard-to-get bourbons, delicious wines, and craft beers in scenic Southport!
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Get the steamer pot!!! Pick your favorites - the shrimp, corn, andouille sausage, potato with Old Bay did not disappoint. And grab a blood orange margarita & you’ll be happy. Relaxed atmosphere too.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank coxclan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

The wait was pretty long — close to an hour. However, the food was good and the atmosphere relaxing. I shared a steamer pot with my sister, which was flavored well. We also had drinks, which were good if not a tad pricey. But I also feel like the prices were not out of the ordinary for this sort of locale. I do recommend! Just arrive earlier than we did to potentially avoid the wait.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank whitneydawnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2021

Excellent raw oysters, Beausoleil and Sweet Petite, at reasonable prices. So good, just use lemon juice, as the sauces would cover up the good flavors and textures of the fresh oysters. The Fried Shrimp platter is large and shareable, but about average. Try the Mind Haze beer...

Place was busy and usually has a long line as they do not take reservations. Get there before noon for a reasonable lunchtime wait. At dinner time the line usually is 60 to 90 minutes for a table.

Service is efficient, given how busy the place seems to be.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhilViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Give it two for ambiance. Service was poor, and not really even polite- guy wasn't helpful at all or particularly interested in making sure we were taken care of. No Oyster po'boys on the day we were there (needed to come the next day), but they had 1 of the 4 half shell options available...it's an Oyster bar?
Shrimp po boy tasted like it was sitting next to an open propane tank. Didn't realize it tasted so poorly because I was so starving after a 75 minute wait for the food. If that is part of the business model it is working. Never be back.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ddpjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

The food was good...not great, but good. I had the bbq shrimp and it was tasty. My date had a burger and it was very good. We shared an appetizer; vegetable potstickers.
My issue with this place was the amount of time we had to wait for our server to come to our table and then the long ass wait for our food. We waited for 15 minutes for 5 potstickers and then another 20 minutes for our food to arrive. Extremely slow service, but our server was nice and somewhat attentive.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CoachSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Moore Street Oyster Bar also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Moore Street Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.