We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Condition At Best”

Panther's Run Golf Links
Ranked #10 of 20 things to do in Sunset Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Panther's Run Golf Links was born to be a different breed of golf. Winding its way throughout a pristine nature preserve, this magnificent Tim Cate design is one of The Grand Strand's all-time favorite layouts. Now featuring new MiniVerde greens, this gorgeous Big Cat is groomed to perfection and ready to help you go on the hunt for some birdies!
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Been several years since we have played at this facility. We have noticed a trend in the area of declining conditions of the courses in the myrtle beach area. The concern seems to get as many people out on the course as possible. Our round was just over 5 hrs. Too long. Conditions were fair at best. Greens are challenging and ran pretty fast and true. Not much rough to deal with but lots of trouble off the fairway. Thicker rough would save some wayward shots and at least keep you out of the houses or woods. The driving range could definitely use some work. The last time we were here you could drive over on your way to the tee box and met the starter there. Now it is a long walk over with the ball machine on the far side of the range. The range looked like hitting out to a field with some stakes for targets. Overall a good track, fun to play, conditions need attention.

Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We will definitely do our best to address your areas of concern. We have several renovation projects on the schedule and expect most of the issues you mentioned to be addressed and improved. You can keep track of our progress on our Facebook and twitter pages. Thank you again and we hope you will give us another opportunity to show our best side on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tiger's eye"
in 4 reviews
"nice staff"
in 2 reviews
"courses"
in 11 reviews
"track"
in 3 reviews
"trouble"
in 2 reviews
"challenges"
in 2 reviews
"facility"
in 2 reviews
"week"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017

Hard to express how disappointed we were at the course conditions and the low level of customer service. We played Lion's Paw and Tiger's Eye many years ago and they were then top level courses. Panther's Run is simply run-down. None of the Par 3 tees had been mown in the past several days. Some other tees were simply not taken care of. Fairways were at best OK. Greens are a mess - with invading grasses mixed with the MiniVerde, they were bumpy enough to knock a decent speed putt off line. The club loading was borderline insulting; you would have never known we were customers. We were treated as obstacles to the guys getting the carts loaded. The driving range is also in shabby condition - fully 1/2 the balls were completely worn out and discolored. Poorly kept target areas - really had an uncared-for appearance. On the positive side, the lady keeping bar was delightful as was the refreshment cart lady. I won't be back and I will caution anyone interested to save their $82 and play elsewhere.

1  Thank SGB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We certainly appreciate your feedback and we definitely take your concerns seriously. We do have several renovations projects in the works and many of the issues you mentioned here will be addressed. We are aggressively treating the Poa Annua outbreak right now. As you may have noticed while watching the Masters this year, there is an epidemic of Poa in this region. We fully expect to be able to get this under control and offer the smooth, fast putting surfaces golfers at Panther's Run have come to expect and appreciate. We sincerely apologize that we did not live up to your expectations on this visit. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to not only meet, but to exceed those expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Friendly, helpful staff. Relatively fast greens compared to other courses this week. It's clear they are used to moving a lot of people through this course.

Thank docrock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I found Panthers Run to be one of the more enjoyable courses I played in the area. The course condition was very good. For my game, the landing areas were generous but also well protected by the placement of bunkers. The greens were in good shape and rolled true. I found the staff to be very friendly. The only thing preventing 5 stars was the location of the practice area which is a bit of a walk. It's not horrible but allow some extra time if you want to hit a few before you play.

Thank BigDaddy713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The greens are smooth and fast. The course condition is very well maintained. We encountered a croc on the 17th hole and two broods of off spring, made an interesting diversion.

Thank MdTbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panther's Run Golf Links also viewed

 

Been to Panther's Run Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing