We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Impressed”

Watermen's Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Waves
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery
Reviewed 8 October 2021 via mobile

Trip Advisor listed this place closed. We drove by and saw cars so stopped in. We ordered at the counter the Shrimp and Crab Guactail, Sesame Seared Tuna and 2 draft beers. They brought our food quickly and everything was fantastic. We could have sat outside all day with the water view and ocean breeze. Highly recommend!!

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank Tayah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2021 via mobile

Tasty food, great atmosphere! We did takeout one night and a lunch at the outdoor dining area another day. Both times food was great and kids and adults loved it. The shop next door is great too. Unfortunately we did not get to see any windsurfing the day we visited but we’ll be back again soon.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank daydream5178
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

I was initially opposed to eating here. Picnic tables and counter service didn’t appeal to me with their prices of entrees. However, finding restaurants nearby where we were staying that were actually open on our trip was a huge challenge, so our final night we gave this a try. Best meal we had in the outer banks, hands down! The crab stuffed mushrooms was enormous and delicious app. My husband had the surf and turf, and I had the tuna, which I didn’t realize even came with a crab cake on top! Both were delicious! Others in our party were impressed by the ribs. While the setting/ building is still sort of odd, it’s great that it’s on the water and you can watch the kite boarders. Service was also wonderful- give this place a try!

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank Arkatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

Big plus is outside dining for COVID (no one wears masks down here- idiots. Bugs were terrible. NO PRICES POSTED ANYWHERE so we had to ask which is embarrassing. Food was mixed. Blackened tuna was good. Fajitas were TERRIBLE. Chicken was so dry it was inedible. Waitress was tired, bored, inattentive. We got one napkin and she saw us and didn’t offer another one. Then walked by and said “wanna beer?”

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Marktheshark027
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

We were looking for covid friendly options for two families (didn’t want crowded indoor dining) and were able to get an outdoor table. Fun ambience with kite surfing and sunset. Food was super “eh” for the price and bad service. You have to go in and order your food and drink. They wouldn’t give my husband both of our beers (said I needed to come in and prove I was there) but gave our friend both of their beers to one person. Service not great. Asked two waitresses (who asked if we needed anything) for water and never got any. Asked and waited without result for a take out container at end of meal. Could be bc we hit it at end of night (they stop all service at 8pm) but we agreed food was nothing special for price. We got much better food for less at food trucks even. Also bugs terrible here! Which was weird bc we never experienced bugs anywhere else - even at our beachfront home - all week. One plus though is the covid safe option to eat outside.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank vacationgrl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Watermen's Bar & Grill also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Watermen's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.