We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weaverville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ox-Ford Farm Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Weaverville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

4 of us stayed in the separate log home Tuesday thru Friday of Thanksgiving week
and we enjoyed it a lot. Dr. Hapke is a delightful older lady who runs this place so efficiently. We enjoyed fresh eggs, homemade sausage and loaves of homemade bread in our own kitchen. The farm is on the National Historic Register and deservedly so. You will enjoy the animals as you come and go. If you are looking for a true rural experience in a beautiful setting that includes a babbling stream then book here. Much more enjoyable than staying in town.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CJC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Dr. Hapke is a 80ish young lady who owns and runs this working farm 10 mins outside of Weaverville, NC. She is a chatty little lady to say the least but I think that is what makes this place an experience and not just lodging. First of all you need to know that she only takes cash and as far as I know does not take walk-in’s. We stayed 1 Saturday night and paid $107.50 which included tax and breakfast for two.
When you arrive you ring a bell, twice and she will come along shortly on her golf cart with her two very friendly dogs in tote. Check-in is from 3-6pm unless you work something out with her in advance. There is a cabin on the property that I know nothing about and we were the only two guests in the main house that night. We had a nice room with a King size bed and an en suite bath (tub only). There is another full bath located on the same floor that we were told we could use if we wanted a shower. There are two other bedrooms located upstairs but I think the one on the first floor is the best. She gave us a key to the front gate and went over our plans for dinner. She has been running the Inn for 19 years now and knows a lot about the town. We informed her of our dinner reservations at the Glass Onion and she approved. She explained to us the morning process and bid us farewell. The rest of the evening went off without a hitch.

Mornings at the Inn… The peacocks (40-50 of them) start talking to each other around 6 am. If you like to sleep in this place is not for you. She served us fresh coffee and mini poppy seed muffins at 7:30. It was a nice morning so we enjoyed them on the front porch. Her farm hand came around 8:15 to give us a tour of the property. This was no dime tour. *Make sure you wear shoes you don’t mind getting muddy. We started our morning by feeding the sheep (he does the feeding, we just watched and asked questions) We did get to bottle feed two baby sheep, one of which was let out and he followed us on the rest of the tour. The puppy sheep as we came to know him was so cute and a lot of fun to play with. After feeding the cows and seeing where the female peacocks were laying on their eggs breakfast was ready (10am). Fresh peaches, OJ, coffee, cinnamon biscuits, toast, grits, bacon, eggs (just laid the day before) and fried potatoes (german style with onions). WAY to much food for just the two of us. You will not leave hungry. Half way through our meal Dr. Hapke sat down with us and wanted to know what we thought about the farm and answered any questions we had. Such a sweet little elderly lady who gets around very well for her age. She left us with many words of wisdom and a smile on my face. A very different lodging experience to say the least and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We must explain our review, I think everybody would not rate it the same. The Ox-ford farm is a very old and lovely farm, owned by a very old lady. It is in a village in the mountains, close to ashville and the blue ridge pkw. If you go there for the mountain and the country-side, it is the right place. But don't have a tight schedule! Edith likes to take here time to prepare the breakfast, never before 9:30 and actually we usually eat later, a good brunch! It is delicious and fills you for the day! the products are as much as possible from the farm, and so good! The beds and bathrooms are clean, no pb with that. There are spider web here and there, but don't forget this is a farm in the middle of the trees.

The owner, Edith, is lovely, and an amazing person to meet. Going to her B&B is not only sleeping and taking the breakfast. There you must forget about the time, if you are in a hurry, forget about it! this is not for you. If you want to see the farm, meet Edith, take your time making the breakfast while talking about life, in a very nice landscape, go there, you will love it. If we go back there in the mountains, we will go for sure there again! We loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank FannyD_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The farm is wonderful with all the peacocks, chickens, sheep, cows, a donkey and a tom turkey who thinks he's a peacock. But at throughout the night and especially early morning those critters are talking.

The house had four rooms, one down and 3 upstairs and the upstairs rooms all share one bath. The downstairs room has an ensuite bath and there is an additional shared bathroom downstairs also.

Breakfast is not before 9 or 9:30am so don't plan to eat there and get out early. In the morning she serves mini muffins and coffee or tea then later makes breakfast. Gives you time to wander the property and visit with the amimals while she makes the meal. Breakfast was very filling, with bacon, eggs, toast, fruit, jam etc.

Don't come looking for TVs, internet, Spa or any such ammenities because there isn't any here. But if you want to feel like you've stepped back into the country farm life and watch the fireflies and hear the sounds of aminals and feel the slower pace of life this is a one of a kind experience.

Room Tip: Only the downstairs bedroom has an ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wundys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Dr. Edith Hapke is the 82(?) year-old, four-foot-ten, German-accented owner of this working farm/b&b. It is a vanity project for her, as she is a retired pulmonologist from Asheville. She, her nice and overworked young Mexican employee (I think his nickname was Pepito but my memory could be wrong), and her four giant and very sweet white Alsatians (Molly, Corolla, Vasca, and Leslie) run the farm, which has sheep, a pair of pet Highland Cattle with a new calf, about 50 roaming peacocks, and chickens and roosters on the steep side of a branch outside Weaverville. The house has four bedrooms - Edith sleeps in an apartment over the sheep barn, as she likes to be near the lambs.

Edith is a character - she says she accepts fewer requests for reservations than she turns away depending if she likes their attitude on the phone. Don't go and stay there for a new-age "cleansing weekend"! Expect plenty of bacon fat, pancakes, three kinds of home-made jam, pork chops, and several varieties of breads and muffins for breakfast. And don't go expecting a neutral, personality-free experience! We had a great time talking with her and listening to her definitive opinions about everything. She does like to talk, and sometimes gets a little distracted and forgets about cooking breakfast when she's in mid-story. It's all part of the mystique that is Edith.

My wife and I both thought it was also a great value for the money, and the stay there ended up as a very positively memorable part of our trip. Only drawback - bring earplugs! The #%#$%$ roosters start at 3:30 AM!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wawawayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ox-Ford Farm Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ox-Ford Farm Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 75 Ox Creek Rd, Weaverville, NC 28787-9760
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Weaverville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Weaverville
Price Range: $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing