We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
5
1
5
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
1
5
0
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Visited a week after the Labor Day weekend to avoid the crowds. Without our camping vehicle/RV, we chose this motel which (including its RV campsites) is 'on the lake'.
The room was clean and functional with two double beds, a small flat screen TV on the wall, a microwave oven, and a mini-fridge. I thought that @ $65 + tax it was overpriced (after the summer season), and the room smelled heavily of Fabreze air freshener - we had to open the door to breathe. The beds were "acceptable", but I wouldn't want to sleep on them more than a night or two.
We were the only guests in the motel (and possibly the entire campground). In fact most of the town was empty/closed for the season. The beach was deserted, and one of the two docks/piers was closed for painting. In mid-September, the water was ALMOST too cool to enjoy, and it was far from "white", and it was also far from "clear". In fact the shallow sandy lake bottom was covered with brown "muck", and very unappealing. We drove around the lake to check out Camp Clearwater, and found it indeed DID have CLEAR water, no doubt achieved by their efforts to clean or 'vacuum' the debris from their beaches.
Overall this was an OK experience, but next time we'll return to Camp Clearwater, during the season, with warmer water and more facilities & businesses open.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank JTC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Motel was clean. Just found a few hairs on pillows. They give soap and bath towels. Dated "old time motel". Beds not bad. Kept up pretty well. Lake is nice and peaceful. No restaurants in the area. Most grill out. Can order dominoes. If you drive to Elizabethtown there's a few places to eat burgers, mexican, pizza hut. Down the road by Goldstons has a descent restaurant, bingo, dairy queen, few kids amusement rides. Further down there's a waterpark.A small southern town with country accents.Room had small fridge and microwave.lake is relaxing. DON'T EAT AT PIZZA CONNECTION LIKE CARDBOARD, REALLY BAD!

Room Tip: Wifi did not work, very remote area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank beach g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is nothing fancy, but laid back, inexpensive, quiet, friendly and lakefront to White lake. Beautiful. A boat is a big plus! (Rentals nearby) Nice beachfront, 2 nice long docks to relax on, perfect for a sunrise or sunset. Or both? Old school motel rooms with front porch, close to the road. No restaurant, but grillin and chillin! Pretty good coffee and decent food across the street at the "Scotchman" gas station. Yes, you read that right, and I can not believe I wrote it, but its true!! Make it an adventure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

White Lake is a funky lake community which is being passed by as tourism has gone to the glitz of beach front condos. The White Lake Motel has absorbed two other adjacent closed, independent strip buildings to form a single motel entity. Exterior maintenance has not been a priority as their primary audience is RV's. Some rot on the porch as the A/C drains directly on the bare plywood but the interior is adequate for a quick stay for a passing bicycle tour. Clean, with clean sheets & remarkably thin towels and adequate A/C & few other expected amenities but no shampoo. It provided a bed. View of the lake for such a short stop nothing special. Not many eating establishments after Labor Day but the store/Subway directly across the street was quite adequate for dinner & breakfast for a pack of bicycles.

Room Tip: About as boob as you can expect for a resort that time forgot.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

They told us it was handicapped accessibly. IT WASN'T!! Then the toilet stopped up we called no response.the next day we had to buy a plunger and unstop it ourselves. If you stay here make sure you use the chain on the door because they will come in whenever they want! I believe they go in your room when you're out. The lake is dirty on that side. I recommend you stay on the other side of the lake if you want clean water. The owner is real nice when you are renting the room, but then watch out! They turn into the most hateful people after they get your money. also they watch your ever move, as if they think you are going to steal the whole motel. WILL NEVER STAY AGAIN!!! Take my advice there is a reason they are the only motel that always has a vacancy.

Room Tip: Want clean water and access to everything stay on other side of lake.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews