We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
132
74
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
74
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covered parking ocean front fishing pier private parking johnny mercer private balcony overflow lot small kitchenette washer dryer burner stove great balcony two double beds full size fridge awesome location room was clean a great place to stay easy access to beach
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came down to Wrightsville Beach for the first time to spend time with his mom and stepdad who were visiting from New York for the first time as well. They are looking for possible places to retire. They stayed at the Blockade Runner, we could not afford that resort so we got a great deal at this beautiful gem. We definitely got the best end of the bargain. We had a better hotel room, very spacious, a full kitchen, 2 full size comfortable beds, Oceanfront balcony, within walking distance to restaurants, and bars. This hotel is great and clean and the staff is very helpful and nice. Looking forward to visiting again soon!!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This hotel is a secret gem. The rooms are very spacious, beautiful and the beds are very, very comfortable. The room we booked was an oceanfront room. There was a very huge balcony that wrapped around so it seemed like 2 balconies. We will stay there all the time. Sorry other hotels.

Room tip: spring for the oceanfront room, it is worth the extra couple of dollars.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillipb921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Great stay, and Shelly was AMAZING!!! We would be delighted to stay here again and again. I am in the customer service industry and I applaud everything about our stay. The location was great but the service and friendliness was off the charts.

Room tip: Great Experience
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Manager at Silver Gull Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Thank you SO much! We hope you'll come down again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

I had family visiting from Iowa for the week. We wanted to go spend the night at the beach. Having never been to Wrightsville Beach, I took the chance and booked a room at the Silver Gull Motel, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The room was great! Exactly what we wanted. Good sized room, with a large balcony facing the ocean, right on the beach. The hotel has a private walkway with access directly to the beach. The staff were all wonderful. Extremely helpful and always cheerful. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to spend a relaxing time on the beach. I will definitely be back!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sgrey98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 20th Anniversary and we had an absolutely wonderful time...despite the fact that we were greeted by TS Hermine! After the storm moved through the beach was absolutely beautiful and the Silver Gull was a great place to stay. The room was clean and comfortable. And, you truly cannot get closer to the beach. There is a boardwalk that stretches from the back of the hotel directly onto the sand. Trips back to the room for a potty break or another drink are a breeze!

"Downtown" Wrightsville Beach is an easy 1/2 mile walk away with plenty of decent places for lunch and dinner. The Johnny Mercer Pier is right next door for people who enjoy fishing.

If you are looking for pools, lazy rivers, a thousand restaurants and high rise hotels, go to Myrtle Beach. But if you are content to enjoy the beach all day and then maybe a quiet dinner at the end of the day, this is the perfect spot.

I do wish the rooms would have been stocked a bit more. Bring your own shampoo/conditioner/soap because none is provided. And, even though it does have a small stove and refrigerator, the supply of cooking utensils and dinner ware was slim. Otherwise, we could not have been happier with our stay at the Silver Gull and we definitely hope to be back again soon!

Room tip: The hotel sits beside the Public Beach access which is very busy all day, you may want to request a room on the other side of the hotel.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin_Tamiwithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Manager at Silver Gull Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

We are so glad that you braved the storm to stay with us!

We supply our guests with shampoo, conditioner, and soap. We are really sorry that non was provided. We were having some difficulties with house keeping this summer, but now we are running on all cylinders. If you need additional soap or shampoo next time, please let us know at the front desk and will will promptly provide it.

There are four of each type of silverware provided in the rooms, in addition to pots and pans.

Please come stay with us again soon. Thank you SO much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews