We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Higher Eggbeer Farm
Nearby Hotels
Woodleigh Coach House(Cheriton Bishop)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
20
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding weekendpool housecamping fieldthe barnbishopcountrysideguestsciderbreak
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016

What an amazing location!
This farm is picture perfect for weddings / wedding celebrations.
We were blessed with an unusually sunny day (it is England afterall) and the ceremony took place outside with views over the countryside.
The Hall was perfect for the wedding breakfast and later became the dancefloor.
There's access to the Farmhouse for family & close guests, a bar area, a games room and even a heated pool plus an area to camp so guests don't have to worry about taxis / have a designated driver.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We enjoyed the facilities at Higher Eggbeer for a family wedding in July 2016. The hilltop setting with views of rolling hills and Dartmoor is really beautiful. The ancient buildings are unspoilt and the heated pool and pool-house are luxurious. I cannot imagine a better place for a Summer wedding. The arrangement is that your hire all the facilities (the banqueting hall, farmhouse, games room, pool, camping field Etc and then arrange your own catering, bars and entertrainment. This makes for a really special event without costing the earth

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We were guests at the wedding weekend higher eggbeer is a beauitful country cottage with surrounding barns and heated swimming pool it can be hired for the weekend or whatever you need it just so different from the usual venue for a wedding like the boring hotels and halls this place is magicial with views that are all round stunning the owner alistar is on hand for help and advise the barn and cottage are just lovely there are caravans to hire and also camping which is great for all the wxtra guests tge cottage its self has 7 bedrooms of various sizes with bathrooms and two kitchens lots of extra space to use too chech it out soon you will be amazed .

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Tucked away down a winding country lane is this traditional Devon Farmhouse. The views of the surrounding rural countryside are astounding.

On arrival we were greeted by Alistair along with their dog, some chickens, ducks and sheep from a nearby field. It really is rural.

Eggbeer is located in the midst of the Devon countryside, has plenty of beds for your stag or hen party and yet is close enough to Exeter to provide plentiful eating drinking and shopping opportunities. We travelled into Exeter for one big night out and a bite to eat and found Exeter to be perfect for this. The Cavern Indie bar made our night.

The best night of the stag however took part in the private bar located in the old barn adjacent to the farmhouse. It had its own speaker system set up ready for us to attach our ipod to. Its own bar already set up with a Keg Alistair sorted out for us from the local brewery. It also came with Darts, a Pool Table and Table Tennis Table. A real hidden aladdins cave which us lads loved. It provided a secluded area to really let you hair down and yet not disturb anyone in the adjacent valley.

The real pull for this Farmhouse was the heated pool though, this is a recent addition to Eggbear and it was great for a late night dip, or a relaxing day lounging by the pool with a BBQ. We did both.

With it stunning views and peaceful setting it is definitely a place that you should visit, be it for a large family, or for a group to have a party.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ghockley1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We are a family of nine adults, four children and two babies who were mostly there most of the time. The farmhouse suited us well, old, charming, comfortable and cosy with log-burning stoves and an aga type stove in the kitchen. We loved the garden, swimming pool, views and the very friendly dog. The area is lovely within easy reach of Dartmoor. Good local pub and friendly village shop complete the picture although I must also mention the very helpful and friendly hosts.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank 18fjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews