We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing venue”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheriton Bishop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Eggbeer Farm
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

The most amazing wedding venue. Alistair is so friendly and accomodating! Right from the start of planning, no request was too big and Alistair had many solutions for ideas we wanted for the big day! We had the most amazing weekend celebrating with family and friends. So much can be done to personalise this perfect place! Even after the music finished at the end of the night, Alistair saw we intended to continue the party into the small hours and opened the swimming pool, bringing cans of cider to guests in the pool. Thank you for helping to give us the wedding of our dreams and more! A must see venue! We can't wait to come back for an anniversary stay! Lucy and Lloyd x

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank lmorgan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2016

What an amazing location!
This farm is picture perfect for weddings / wedding celebrations.
We were blessed with an unusually sunny day (it is England afterall) and the ceremony took place outside with views over the countryside.
The Hall was perfect for the wedding breakfast and later became the dancefloor.
There's access to the Farmhouse for family & close guests, a bar area, a games room and even a heated pool plus an area to camp so guests don't have to worry about taxis / have a designated driver.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We enjoyed the facilities at Higher Eggbeer for a family wedding in July 2016. The hilltop setting with views of rolling hills and Dartmoor is really beautiful. The ancient buildings are unspoilt and the heated pool and pool-house are luxurious. I cannot imagine a better place for a Summer wedding. The arrangement is that your hire all the facilities (the banqueting hall, farmhouse, games room, pool, camping field Etc and then arrange your own catering, bars and entertrainment. This makes for a really special event without costing the earth

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We were guests at the wedding weekend higher eggbeer is a beauitful country cottage with surrounding barns and heated swimming pool it can be hired for the weekend or whatever you need it just so different from the usual venue for a wedding like the boring hotels and halls this place is magicial with views that are all round stunning the owner alistar is on hand for help and advise the barn and cottage are just lovely there are caravans to hire and also camping which is great for all the wxtra guests tge cottage its self has 7 bedrooms of various sizes with bathrooms and two kitchens lots of extra space to use too chech it out soon you will be amazed .

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Tucked away down a winding country lane is this traditional Devon Farmhouse. The views of the surrounding rural countryside are astounding.

On arrival we were greeted by Alistair along with their dog, some chickens, ducks and sheep from a nearby field. It really is rural.

Eggbeer is located in the midst of the Devon countryside, has plenty of beds for your stag or hen party and yet is close enough to Exeter to provide plentiful eating drinking and shopping opportunities. We travelled into Exeter for one big night out and a bite to eat and found Exeter to be perfect for this. The Cavern Indie bar made our night.

The best night of the stag however took part in the private bar located in the old barn adjacent to the farmhouse. It had its own speaker system set up ready for us to attach our ipod to. Its own bar already set up with a Keg Alistair sorted out for us from the local brewery. It also came with Darts, a Pool Table and Table Tennis Table. A real hidden aladdins cave which us lads loved. It provided a secluded area to really let you hair down and yet not disturb anyone in the adjacent valley.

The real pull for this Farmhouse was the heated pool though, this is a recent addition to Eggbear and it was great for a late night dip, or a relaxing day lounging by the pool with a BBQ. We did both.

With it stunning views and peaceful setting it is definitely a place that you should visit, be it for a large family, or for a group to have a party.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ghockley1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Higher Eggbeer Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Eggbeer Farm

Address: Nr. Exeter, Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cheriton Bishop
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cheriton Bishop
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing