We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stonewater Motel(Madeira Park)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina(Garden Bay)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort(Halfmoon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$264
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
211
86
29
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
86
29
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszodiac tourprincess louisa inletforest viewskookumchuck rapidschatterbox fallsfloat planestunning locationocean view roombreakfast and dinnerspectacular scenerya short ferry ridestaff was very friendly and helpfulling codmain buildingbeautiful bckenmore airsalmon
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

I have been booking a number of different restaurants for a car group of some 25 when I first talked to the wilderness Lodge they were very excited but when it came to making the final booking they decided that we were a event and everyone would be required to have the same meal and all the meals would have to be pre-booked as well the average meal was around $25 but as an event I was told each meal would be approximately $50 and if anyone did not show up I personally would be responsible for paying for it

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

If you want to enjoy a unbelievable view and food, you have to stay here! Nice service and a good choice of different specialities. The room we got was rather small with no view but still clean and very comfy. The spa they are offering is actually just a whirlpool and the offer to get a massage.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We ate there very spontaneously while driving by. We were welcomed immediatly and got a table at the restraunt which has an unbelievable view and great food! very friendly and helpful waiters! we will come back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wasser C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

While the views from the dining room and the food were excelent, the dining room staff shortage on August 17 2017 resulted in a 7.40 pm reservation being honoured at 8.40 pm. Only two servers were working the three dining room areas and were performing server busing and hostess services for the many diners. As a result the busy servers lost track of our four hungry diners. Once the oversight was noticed other diners were seated ahead of us as each of the two servers were justly busy. While we were waiting for a table the owner, after being advised of our situation, did not offer an apology, did not offer complementary cocktails or complementary desserts. After being seated a request for bread for four hungry diners was followed with the comment that there would be a charge for the bread service and a bread serving sufficient for two but not four diners.
The king size mattress in one of the two rooms is best described as a king size hammock.

Room Tip: Test the mattress in your room before unpacking and if unsatisfactory hope there is an alternate room. Book an early time for dinner.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ConcernedPatron2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The L, General Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We are sorry to hear that there seems to have been some issues with your dining experience. We have passed your comments onto management and hope to see you in the future so you can have the real West Coast Wilderness Lodge experience.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

The location of this is truly in the wilderness, the views are the best I've ever had from a hotel room. Egmont is tiny and you would possibly class it as a village.
We arrived at 4.45pm after a six hour journey with 3 kids to be told the restaurant was full and we could either book at 5.45 or 8.50pm! There is virtually nowhere else to go. Come on guys, make a booking for your guests, hold a slot, it isn't rocket science. The food was tasty if a little over complicated.
The rooms were comfy if a little tired (top tip, update your blankets and hairdryers, an easy win). As mentioned on other reviews, why no duvet cover? The sheets are slippery and it doesn't seem very hygienic. Most hotels provide a cover even if they use sheets as well.
The staff were friendly just not quite on top of everything

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank latusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The L, General Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. While we are sorry that the reservation times available did not satisfy you, when you make a reservation last minute sometimes you don’t have many options left. Speaking of ‘rocket science’ when a guest books with us, and chooses not to book a package, we have no way of knowing how the guest decides to spend their meals. If a guest knows they will be here around dinner time they will ask to make a reservation, especially when traveling for a long amount of time with 3 children. Egmont is definitely a ‘village’ although there are still other options for dinner available in the summer seasons, including a family restaurant next door. Perhaps one of those options would have less complicated dishes that you would have enjoyed a bit more. Our chef takes a lot of pride in creating food that astounds all pallets and senses, not just the stomach.

We do not use a duvet cover because they are not sanitary. Most hotels these days use the same technique that we do which is called ‘triple sheeting’. This allows us to make sure that your bed and everything your body touches is always clean.

Im glad you enjoyed the view as it is certainly second to none.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews