We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked beautiful but they didn't respect our reservation”
Review of At The Shore B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
At The Shore B&B
Ranked #6 of 27 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I'm sure At the Shore B&B is a nice place - the view alone is spectacular. Unfortunately, they did not respect our booking despite having a confirmed booking. Perhaps because we had only booked for one-night, they had given the room away to someone else. While they were relatively helpful in finding us something else, it is really not the situation you want to find yourself in when you are treating someone with a special night away. I would warn others to double-check their confirmation if they are booking here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Reka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porpoise07, Owner at At The Shore B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hello, Reka:
You have just encountered an in-keeper's worst nightmare. No, we had not given your suite away. If fact it had been booked previously for two nights. Fortunately I was able to find you two alternate accommodations and put you in contact with the owners. Celia at Arcturus Retreat in Gibsons has told me that you and your mother enjoyed your stay at that location. I spend considerable time organizing our reservations. Unfortunately as in this case a conflict goes unnoticed. Norma and I are pleased the alternate accommodation was satisfactory to you and offer our sincere apologies. Best regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Our five day stay at the At the Shore B&B has been everything we'd hoped for and more. The property is conveniently located five minutes from town, where we had several nice meals out. We stayed in the Bluenose suite which was spacious, had all amenities you could ask for (mini kitchen, huge tub, heated floors, fireplace, suuuuper comfy bed, etc) and had a gorgeous view of Porpoise Bay and the property. Norma and Peter were very accommodating, meeting our every request. Our favourite part was choosing from the daily breakfast menu which was adjusted each day to keep things fresh. Every breakfast delivered to our room was amazing - Norma is quite the chef and has great attention to detail. I'm sure I've missed some of the other details (beach bonfires, movie viewing room, hot tub...), but if you're looking for something on the Sunshine Coast, this place likely has it!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porpoise07, Owner at At The Shore B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Hi, Jamie, thank you for the wonderful comments above and in our guest book. We recognize your stay was a considerable investment on your part and we are grateful you chose our B&B. Norma and I also enjoyed your five day stay. We especially enjoyed getting to know your year old daughter Sloane. She is a delight. Hopefully we will encounter you and Brian and her as she grows up . Best regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Norma and Peter are the best hosts. Their home and the view are out of this world, but it was the little touches that made our visit so special. From supplying bubble bath for the luxurious soaker tub, to heated bathroom floors, to taking our breakfast order the night before... We cannot say enough good things! As soon as we arrived they made us feel as if we were right at home. Peter gave a wonderful tour of our suite and the property, and we even saw an orca on our first visit to their beachfront! Even if you're not regularly "B and B" people, this spot is magic. You get a private patio and eating area plus full access to their covered hot tub and beach front reading area. We fell in love with Sechelt (and our hosts)!

Room Tip: Both rooms have private dining and waterfront views. We stayed in the Bluenose and absolutely loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynBrown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porpoise07, Owner at At The Shore B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Robyn: Norma and I are pleased you witness the passage of an orca on our Bay. Once or twice a summer they make a tour through Sechelt Narrows and travel to the end of Porpoise Bay before making the return trip. Occasionally we see them catch up with a pot of dolphins. As we are on the edge of the forests, deer and the occasional bear walk across our property. Ducks, geese and blue heron search for lunch at waters edge. I am glad you enjoyed our little village of Sechelt. There is just enough shops and eateries. Thank you for your thoughtful review. Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Our adult children gave us a two-night stay at "At the Shore B&B", for our 38th anniversary. Our hosts were Peter and Norma, a lovely couple who can't do enough for their guests. Norma is a gourmet chef and prepared fabulous breakfasts each morning delivered by Peter to our suite at the requested time. (Especially loved the German apple pancakes and fresh fruit cup). Peter & Norma surprised us with a little anniversary gift shortly after arrival which was both delicious and much appreciated. We stayed in the fabulous Bluenose Suite, decorated in all sorts of nautical items, model ships etc. Our luxurious bed faced the Sechelt Inlet and our breakfast table was so situated to take maximum advantage of the fantastic view. Peter's directions from the town are spot on. We will see you again Peter & Norma. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Both suites are great but the Bluenose has a nicer view and a larger bathroom with a jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porpoise07, Owner at At The Shore B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Ken and Deborah: Norma and I are very happy that your anniversary celebration with us was so successful. Norma has taken great care to decorate our suites. We are pleased you found them comfortable. Yes, Norma's German Apply Pancake is a frequent favourite with our guests. Many thanks to your daughter Jessie for arranging your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed At the Shore at the end of our trip to Canada. The B and B was a delight and we could have asked for a more pleasant way to end our visit. The accommodation and breakfast were of the highest quality, with a fabulous view from the breakfast table over Sechelt Inlet.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maera_Sirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
21.7 km away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
4.8 km away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#3 of 27 in Sechelt
318 reviews
4.9 km away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Above the Inlet B and B and Vacation Rentals
4.1 km away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
136 reviews
3.1 km away
Davis Brook Retreat
Davis Brook Retreat
#8 of 27 in Sechelt
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Shore B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Shore B&B

Address: 6394 Gale Ave N, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range: $200 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At The Shore B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your At The Shore B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing