We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay. Beautiful Scenery. Lovely Breakfast.”
Review of At The Shore B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
At The Shore B&B
Ranked #7 of 27 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Peter and Norma's home was beautiful and their breakfasts were exquisite. I love all the attention to detail they give to the room, from the Royal Alberta chinas to the Bluenose themed clock and pictures. Every aspect of the decor contributed positively and perfectly to the ambiance. Also, waking up to the serene scenery of the mountains and inlet calmed my mind and soul.

My favourite part was sitting on the seashell beach in front of their home and gazing at the bright stars. I saw the milky way and was able to recognize the big dipper right away! This was something I definitely can't do at home back in Vancouver.

Thank you again for the lovely stay.

Room Tip: Check out is prompt at 11am. Reminder for usual hotel guests, this is a B&B, so your linens/towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Peter and Norma, Thanks so much, we had an amazing relaxing time. John loved the property and would enjoy your garden greatly. The breakfasts were delicious and we never needed lunch! The cozy comfortable room was great and we enjoyed the bubble bath in the massive tub. On top of it all was the view, view, view. Breathtaking! Wish we could have stayed longer and we sill surely come back. Thanks again, John and Joanne, August 27th, 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jojo8993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Back from a fabulous 2 night stay in the Bluenose Suite at this B&B. We were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived until we departed. Peter and Norma were very accommodating. I loved the idea of having our own entrance and private patio. At The Shore is a luxury Bed and Breakfast with a down to earth feeling from our hosts. Our breakfast was served on fine china with pure sterling silver utensils. Food was so tasty and homemade, (thank you Norma). The view we had while enjoying our breakfast was breathtaking.

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycedmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This B&B is for sale and the owners are truly ready to move on, which makes one feel a bit awkward. The spot is lovely, about 4 miles from town, with access to a nice stretch of beach. Great views, plus surprise visits from deer, Canada geeese, and eagles (though the owners are more into protecting their flowers than sharing in the guests' excitement of seeing a mom and baby deer so close up; the landscaping is pretty spectacular, but still...) make it a special place to stay. The room was a nice size, but darkish, so was the windowless bathroom. On that topic, guests have access to a media-room with large TV screen and a good choice of movies. French doors open to the terrace, perfect for breakfast in the sun. Breakfast offers were a puzzling choice of boxed cereals (really?), juice, yogurt and fresh fruit and a hot dish, overall rather disappointing for a 'superior' B&B with a hefty price tag of over $200.00/night. We hope they will sell the business soon to someone who casts a fresh eye over the place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AucklandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porpoise07, Owner at At The Shore B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Yes, 11 years of encountering a wide range of temperaments and idiosyncrasies of guests from around the world has taken its toll and we are prepared to move on. Nevertheless we continue welcome guests with enthusiasm and appreciation and treat them as we did upon opening in 2006. This guest is chiefly concerned about my interrupting her close encounter with a deer and fawn munching on our flowers. While we do love the fact that wildlife, deer, bear and geese and ducks roam ours and neighbouring properties, we must protect our huge investment of flowers, perennials and shrubs least they be eaten down to the roots. However in this case I was insensitive to a guest's excitement of seeing wildlife close at hand. Due to this poor judgement on my part the guest's experience of wildlife on the Sunshine Coast was lessened and for this I apologize. The guest has forgotten about our range of main courses of German Apple pancake, eggs benedict and French toast. Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I'm sure At the Shore B&B is a nice place - the view alone is spectacular. Unfortunately, they did not respect our booking despite having a confirmed booking. Perhaps because we had only booked for one-night, they had given the room away to someone else. While they were relatively helpful in finding us something else, it is really not the situation you want to find yourself in when you are treating someone with a special night away. I would warn others to double-check their confirmation if they are booking here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Reka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porpoise07, Owner at At The Shore B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hello, Reka:
You have just encountered an in-keeper's worst nightmare. No, we had not given your suite away. If fact it had been booked previously for two nights. Fortunately I was able to find you two alternate accommodations and put you in contact with the owners. Celia at Arcturus Retreat in Gibsons has told me that you and your mother enjoyed your stay at that location. I spend considerable time organizing our reservations. Unfortunately as in this case a conflict goes unnoticed. Norma and I are pleased the alternate accommodation was satisfactory to you and offer our sincere apologies. Best regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
21.5 km away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
150 reviews
14.9 km away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
842 reviews
4.1 km away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
3.0 km away
Davis Brook Retreat
Davis Brook Retreat
#8 of 27 in Sechelt
23 reviews
4.8 km away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 27 in Sechelt
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Shore B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Shore B&B

Address: 6394 Gale Ave N, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range: $201 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At The Shore B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your At The Shore B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing