We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm, 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm, 4:00 pm - 6:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Whale Watching Adventure!

This was on my bucket list and it was an amazing adventure! Captain Mackie and Robert were... read more

Reviewed 11 September 2019
DebbieS708
,
Niagara Falls, Canada
A memorable evening on the water!

We are still in awe of last nights whale watching trip, we have memories that will last a lifetime... read more

Reviewed 3 September 2019
Ellen S
,
Maine
Read all 61 reviews
  
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
56
1
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
1
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2019 via mobile

I picked this company based on trip advisor reviews and we had a great trip! I callled a few weeks prior to book the tickets and then paid for them when we got there. We then drove a few minutes to the harbor. Right on time we boarded the boat and headed out. The captains were very friendly and offered us a lot of info on what we might see. He was communicating with other boats to see where the whales were. We rode out about 5 miles where there was a pod of humpbacks. We circled for over an hour watching them. It was amazing! The captain was so patient making sure we all saw them and kept circling every time we would see a new spout of water. He has been the captain since 1995 but still was so excited to see the whales. I would do this trip again in a heartbeat. Thanks for a great day!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Theworldisours2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 July 2019

Although we were staying very close to Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park, my family (including two kids, ages 12 and 9) opted to forego the whale watching tours nearby which we heard used big (crowded) ships and required going far out to sea to possibly see whales, and instead go with this outfit over the US/Canada border on beautiful Campobello Island, where the groups are very small (we had 12 aboard), you are never out of sight of shore, and where we had heard you saw whales for huge portions of the trip. We were so glad we did! The entire experience was absolutely incredible, and hands-down the best whale watching experience we've ever done (our third). We saw two minke whales, one of which stayed with us for at least 45 minutes straight. We also saw porpoises, an adorable group of gray seals and harbor seals--including two babies!--and two stunning bald eagles, as well as other water birds. All of this was within sight of the beautiful New Brunswick shoreline, so the water was very calm and very minimal time was spent getting to where we might see anything. 5 minutes or 10 minutes tops and we were where whales could be found. You also get stellar views of the world-famous East Quoddy lighthouse. The two gentleman who served as captain and crew were incredibly knowledgable and personable as well.

It was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and the best whale watching experience we've found for families with kids.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank SevillaNoDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic cruise on Island Cruises! We left in gorgeous weather, then entered a fog bank all in search of whales. Those doubters among us were soon converted as we spent at least an hour following two humpbacks and watching their blows and lolling about and a few flukes! Miraculously, the fog lifted and we saw everything!

Our captain was terrific, very approachable and informative. On the return trip, he gave us an up close photo op of the lighthouse and took us through the tight channel that had been walkable in low tide...then to the salmon farms to give an explanation there.

As a side note...I was in Iceland (Husavik) on a whale watch a few weeks ago. No comparison with the whales seen on this watch. Many more whales, up close and personal and at half the cost. Island Cruises rocks.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank DSBAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We had gone with Island Cruises during our stay on Campabello. This is something we’ve always wanted to do- a bucket list item. We expected to see whales from a distance but that turned out NOT to be the case. The crew, Mackie and Robert were extremely pleasant, answering questions they’ve probably heard thousands of times before. These were two that obviously truly enjoyed what they were doing and their pasts as local fisherman tied them strongly to the sea. We had two humpback whales near the boat for almost an hour anywhere from 50 yds to right alongside giving us a phenomenal view of these magnificent creatures. From we older patrons to two children this was a unforgettable experience. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

This is the 3rd time in 5 years we have gone on this whale watching boat. Same crew each time and they are dedicated to find whales and have each time. The great part of this cruise is that you never have to go out into the open ocean so it has always been free of sea sick passengers. They stay longer than they have too if there are whales to see.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank BobxxxxCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews