We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Can't beat the Cap!

We had an amazing time with Brandon and his son Grady. We brought FOUR kids ages 1-7 on board and... read more

Reviewed 7 August 2021
S2721RJashleya
Beautiful whale watching on the Bay of Fundy

Ok, New Brunswickers, you want low key family fun and an amazing boat ride? Capitain Riddles is the... read more

Reviewed 1 August 2020
carolinecI5532XZ
Read all 23 reviews
  
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
18
1
0
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
1
0
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mackerel fishing his son minke whales sea birds brandon campobello lighthouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2021

We had an amazing time with Brandon and his son Grady. We brought FOUR kids ages 1-7 on board and took them to see whales, porpoises, egals, seals and finished up with some mackerel fishing. I've been on several whale watching tours, but have never had this amount of fun. He and his son were so kind and considerate with the kids. We had a party of eight and didn't feel crowded or strapped for time to get in everything.

If you are looking for a taste of the east coast, a true look into island life, call Brandon. He's straight up, patient, reliable, knowledgeable and truly a saint! All of the extra fish we caught he brought back to a retired couple on Campobello Island.

This was a lifelong memory I am very thankful we made with Brandon and Grady, and I can't wait for our next adventure with them!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank S2721RJashleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 August 2020

Ok, New Brunswickers, you want low key family fun and an amazing boat ride? Capitain Riddles is the way to go! He picks up at Deer Island, so one free ferry ride will get you on board your whale watching adventure. We saw seals, porpoises and an elusive fin whale finally decided to swim right by our boat. To top it all off, we went fishing for mackerel!

Date of experience: July 2020
1  Thank carolinecI5532XZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 September 2019

Long story short - we tried to get onto another whale watching trip on the island and didn't. So, we called around, found Capt Riddles and he answered the phone, while dealing with a family issue. Talk about customer service. He was unable to take us, but he said that Miles (another captain who works for him) could, but there was a 4 person minimum. There were two of us. Given his very reasonable prices (cheaper than alternative), we just paid for four people.

We had two tours with Miles - one that day and we returned the next morning as well. The first one was more of a classic whale watching - we got to see finbacks on an overcast day. But the next day which was beautiful we hung out with four minke whales for about an hour, then took a cruise looking for bald eagles (saw tons) and along the way saw seals, porpoises, tons of sea birds, the lighthouse etc.

Mile was super nice, accommodating and friendly.

You can rent the boat I think for $400/day and they had fishing poles so I am assuming you can do that as well. I would highly recommend using them. They are not full time tour operators, so most of their bookings are through their Facebook page. But, you can also find a small kiosk for them on the main road on the island across the street from the Friars Cottages.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Companion05041965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 August 2019

We left from Deer Island at 10 am on Captain Riddle's Whale watching boat. We saw many Minke and Finback whales and porpoises. It was amazing watching these gentle giants. The Captain super informative and a great host. We would highly recommend this to anyone interested in seeing what nature has to offer in the Bay of Fundy. Make sure to wear a jacket of some kind as it does get chilly out on the water. Thank you so much for a wonderful morning!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank popmomriders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 August 2019

Family owned operation, typically open in July and August. We have gone many times and never fail to see bald eagles, sea lions and seals, and whales! Right whales, Minke and Finback are most commonly seen. Because it's a small operation, Capt. Brandon goes above and beyond to give you the best experience. If you're not into sightseeing in the North Atlantic, then you can try your hand at mackerel fishing! Friendly, affordable and never a disappointment. It's worth it!

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Lana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews