We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Salmon River B and B Ltd(St. Martins)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$137
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Plaza Motel(Saint John)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$106
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
39
29
13
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
29
13
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedining roomsea cavesfundy bayroad scholarlow tidefishing villageportion sizesclean roomsfrench toastold housenice breakfastshort drivelocation is greatthird floorbed and breakfastrudy
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here on our way to and from Cape Breton Island so just a stop over not a destination. We liked the easy access to the beach but it isn't the type of beach you can actually walk. We did walk to the Sea Caves from there at low tide but it was not a pleasant walk at all. All loose gravel.

The room was adequate. All we could get was an attic room with twin beds. Our window overlooked the trailer park next door. The window had an air conditioner so we couldn't get the ocean breezes.

On checking in, we were told to expect a delay for breakfast because of a large group. However, when we came down at 8:10 a.m. there was only one other couple so were seated right away.

On our second night on our return from Cape Breton, we had the same room. I was disappointed that we were not offered an upgrade even though there was availability.

We like staying in St. Martins instead of Saint John because of the small town feel and the more scenic coastline.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I booked three days at the Tidal Watch Inn. We have never stayed here before or seen St Martin. We stayed in the historic bigger home and had what is considered the standard room. We absolutely loved it! The breakfasts are from a menu and you get served, not like any other inclusive breakfast we have had before. We ate with a great view of the ocean. Our room also has an ocean view and it's very relaxing. We were warmly welcomed by the owner on our arrival and the staff has been fantastic. The beach is a great place to find pretty stones or seashells. The only thing I would recommend is beach shoes to make it easier on the feet. I like to go in the water and the shoes I had were not adequate. We took two day trips, one to the fundy trail which I highly recommend and one to a local beach. Both times we took a boxed lunch that we preordered from the Tidal Watch Inn. They were healthy and delicious. The scenery is magnificent everywhere you look and the townspeople are very friendly. We explored the caves and ate some great seafood chowder at the main beach. St Martins is small but there is a lot of nature to explore and enjoy. I would highly recommend The Tidal Watch Inn as your place to stay. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We preferred the main home for the character. It's a personal preference.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Many people skip St. Martin's as a place to stay or just take a day trip to the Sea Caves. We used St. Martin's as a base for our day trips to Hopewell Rocks and Bay of Fundy National Park. St. Martin's has its own charms with the sea caves (which you can enter and SHOULD NOT MISS at low tide), and eat the seafood chowder at the restaurant overlooking them. Remember that timing is everything, and due to similar tide schedules, you cannot attend everything in one day, though you should take high tide times to do The Fundy Trail overlook and hiking as it begins in St. Martin's.

We stayed 3 nights (2 together, 1 separate) at the Tidal Watch, where you can actually watch the beauty Bay of Fundy tides ebb and flow and view the Sea Caves from afar. We stayed at the Tidal Watch in a detached unit, which was very comfortable and lovely, with a whirlpool, coffee maker and electric fireplace! For breakfast, there is a choice of 3 great selections (I tried them all on separate days). Staff is pleasant and friendly. They give you a discount when you stay at least 3 days, so ask about that. But the BEST surprise was when I had booked a family unit in the main building to accommodate an extra guest for my last day, and due to low occupancy, we were upgraded. This was a wonderful way to spend our last night in Canada, as we felt like kings (or should I say 'queens').

The inn does overlook a private home (quiet, older couple) and there is a nearby campground (sound travels). I do believe the people below us could hear us move around because of something I overheard them say the next day. Only 2 rooms appear to have a balcony, as noted by another reviewer, but that is true of many other b and b and inns as well. As always, inquire and know whether a locale and quarters are what you want or not.

Room Tip: If you would like a balcony, be sure to ask for one of those rooms. Also, I would recommend a second floor in the detached unit if you prefer privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulalois99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

There were positives and negatives. Breakfast was wonderful ,served by a very cheerful and energetic waitress.Staff were friendly.Room was clean. The negatives were that our credit card was charged prior to us arriving,we wished to pay cash but were told that the transaction had already been completed and that we could not pay cash. The most disappointing negative was that the room we booked was not the one we received. We booked the captain class room as advertised- queen size bed,sitting area,whirlpool spa bath and fireplace,balcony overlooking the bay and sea caves.After registering we were taken to a lovely room but it did not have a balcony or a view of the ocean.We explained what the website said and our expectations of a balcony with a view but were told that we had been upgraded to a king bed and there is actually only 2 rooms in the whole establishment that have a balcony and we did not get one. We could not change rooms as they were full.The person we talked to said he would let the owners know . We did not have a celing fan and were unable to use the air conditioner because the room above us air conditioner was dripping water into ours.It would appear that this was an issue for sometime as evidenced by the dirty towel covering the airconditioner outside.I guess it would be fair to assume that management felt it was doing something great for us by upgrading us to a king bed.Unfortunatley this is of no importance to us. We were missled to think we would have a balcony with a view where we could see,and smell the ocean.There are buidings infront of and beside these rooms that restrict your view from the windows. We looked into someones backyard. If you are looking for a romantic,quiet place to stay ,i would not suggest this. There appears not to be any insulation between the floors as we heard our neighbors walking- actually sounded like work boots above us.

Room Tip: Request upper level -bottom level very noisy Do not rely on website for correct discriptions of rooms.Donot assume anything.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texasbound18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

we were stopping in St. Martins for one day and had reservations at Tidal Watch. The building on the outside is in GREAT need of painting. When checking in I was informed that there was a larger group there and we could not have breakfast until after 8:30am. This was a problem for our continuing plans. Our room had a 12x12 tv, and when we commented, were told it went along with the style of the room. There were no shades on the windows, so I guess its up at first light. The tub in the bathroom was 1/2 size(not useable for an adult.) When the owner brought another tv and I confronted him about the breakfast problem, He told us that if we were unhappy we could leave....which we did. He did give us a refund and we happily found a much nicer place.

Room Tip: find a different B&B
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ct782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

We're sorry this couple was not happy but pleased that someone else was able to make them happy. They booked our least expensive room that as a result has fewer features than others. When they checked in one of out staff told them that we have a group that will be eating breakfast at 8 AM, if they wished to have the same menu as the group they could come down at 8 AM but if they wished to order from our menu they could come down anytime after 8:30. The couple proceeded with check in. The couple then wished a larger television and other features not part of their room choice and after I provided them again complained about breakfast. I explained again that we have a group who are eating at 8 and they could have what they were having or wait to about 8:30 and order from our breakfast menu. All of our guests are important to us but this couple was not happy about anything thus far and it was clear that we would not be able to make them happy. I offered to refund their money if they wished to look elsewhere which they did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews