We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
293
55
14
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
55
14
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishers loftfishers' loftdining roomskerwink trailseveral buildingstrinity bayhalibuthill overlookinggreat hikingbonavista peninsulatrail mixhiking sticksrocking chairstwo nightsfine dininggreat view of the bayshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed in Fishers' Loft in Port Rexton for 5 nights at the end of our trip to Newfoundland in June and enjoyed our stay. Our room was elegantly appointed with some lovely details, like the L'Occitane toiletries, and kept immaculately through our stay by the friendly housekeeping staff. The location is great- right on the stunning Skerwink Trail, yet just a short drive from historic Trinity. There is also a lovely coffee shop and cafe called Two Whales nearby, which does excellent coffee, light lunches and desserts. Breakfast was not included in our rate, but the two mornings we had it, we found it was good value and set us up for the day. The waiting staff, such as Amelia, were lovely. It is clear that the hotel is well regarded in the local area for bringing much needed employment and also supporting other local tour guides and businesses. If you are staying, I would highly recommend the historical walking tour of Trinity with Kevin Toop, the Rugged Beauty boat tour of the old outports and the Sea of Whales tour with Kris Prince. A drive to the Bonavista Social Club is also worthwhile for delicious pizzas in a fabulous setting... we saw a humpback whale while eating our dinner! This truly is a lovely part of Newfoundland and Fishers' Loft is a great base. Maria & Danny, Ireland

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MariaMoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a hilltop room with spectacular views of the water. The room and the bathroom were both quite large with lots of nice touches like luxurious bath towels, robes, binoculars, etc. No fridge or coffee maker.

The rooms are definitely not soundproof...lots of sounds (water, footsteps) from people above us and beside us. Not a big problem because people were respectful of quiet times.

Would have preferred a king bed but the queen bed was comfortable.

Meals are served in a separate building a short walk away. Fantastic breakfast and dinner.

Location is perfect for hiking the Skerwink trail or visiting Trinity area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank VIM689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Wonderfully situated.. with breathtaking views.. beautifuly kept buildings.. on different levels.. we stayed in a garden room, great attention to small details.. binoculars, torch, walking sticks, soft towels, bathrobes and great toiletries..
A small room nicely decorated, the bed was a bit too soft for us ( suppose its a matter of taste)..
We were quite surprized that there was no hot drink facility in the room when we phoned the owners we were sent a flask with hot water quite promptly, but we felt this is a basic commodity that should be available in the ròoms. Also the shower water was warm/hottish but not hot! We found this out quite late at night so didn't feel like calling the owners (would have been too much of a hassle)..

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

On a recent trip to NFLD we enjoyed 4 nights at this amazing Inn. Once settled in our quaint room with King Size bed ( there is only one ) private bath and stunning view we enjoyed a fantastic meal in the conference centre. Fresh and simple but really great! Breakfast each day was fresh muffins, scones fresh fruit and eggs, bacon and more! The coffee is great as well!
We hiked, walked and poked around the area with fog coming in and out, it was breathtaking !
Worth the trip.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BeckyP57774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

The view from this hotel is simply stunning. It is about a 10 minute walk from the Skerwink Trail, which is magical. We stayed only one night (my only regret of the trip) and managed the trail twice in less than 24 hours.

We stayed in room 5 and forgot to call ahead to make a reservation for dinner. When they found out it was our anniversary, they were able to squeeze us in. We are in the bar room and so did not have a view, but didn't care much. Dinner was superb. Excellent bread, salad, sweet potato soup, salmon or pork tenderloin, and a lemon mousse. Service was excellent.

The room was a suite and much bigger than anything we could possibly need. It was clean and charming, bed and pillows comfortable. Tiny TV in the living room only that we didn't even turn on. My only complaint with the room was that every time the upstairs occupants flushed the toilet it sounded like a waterfall in the wall. People mostly go to bed early and get up early, and the noise did not wake us or keep us up, we just thought it was funny.

Breakfast was a highlight. Not included, but well worth it. We had scrambled eggs, whole grain toast, and bacon, and they served croissants, muesli, oatmeal, and fruit. We feasted and it was easily the best breakfast we had the entire trip.

I wish we had stayed several nights for the view, excellent food, and to do the Skerwink Trail again and again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hjlb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews