We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Country Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rexton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Rexton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay at the Fisher’s Loft Inn while visiting the Bonavista Peninsula.

The Inn is comprised of several buildings located on a hillside. We stayed in a Loft Suite, which was located on the 3rd floor in a building mid-way up the hill. When booking the room, I was advised to select a top floor room if I wanted to avoid the risk of hearing people walking above us (and if we didn’t mind climbing stairs to the 3rd floor.)

Our suite was very comfortable, spacious, quiet and charming with lovely views of the water. Our bedroom had a queen bed. The sitting room had a couch, chair, desk and armoire with small TV. Robes were provided along with a walking stick, binoculars and trail mix. Wi-fi was fast.

We ate two dinners at the Inn. Both were very good. Dinner is a fixed menu and consists of amuse bouche, soup, salad, fish entrée (salmon our first night and baked cod with ratatouille the next) and dessert. Portion sizes were appropriate so that we did not feel stuffed afterward. I am still dreaming about the yogurt panna cotta dessert!! With a day’s notice, other alternatives can be provided. I believe the cost was $69 pp with tax.

Dinner has two seatings (5:15 pm and 7:30 pm). The first seating works well when going to see a performance at the Rising Tide Theatre in Trinity and those with children under 8 (who are not allowed at the later seating). Most people went to the 7:30 pm seating during our stay.

Casual attire is fine for dinner. Some people were in hiking attire, most were in casual or business casual clothing and only a few were dressed up.

Breakfast is served starting at 8 am and costs $18. I can’t recall how late it is served. Breakfast includes cold cereals, oatmeal, fruit, bread and a choice between two hot items (waffles or poached eggs for instance). You can get coffee and tea earlier, at least by 7 am. I think it will even be delivered to your room for free if you partake in the breakfast.

Bottom line: We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at the Fisher Loft Inn. We enjoyed our accommodations and the meals. If we are ever in the area again, I would stay here again without hesitation.

Finally, as for some things to do around the Inn, we enjoyed:
1. Hiking the 5-6 km Skerwink Trail, which takes about 2 hours with photo stops.
2. Taking the Historical Walking Tour of Trinity. It occurs daily during the summer at 10 am in Trinity, which is about a 15-minute drive from the Inn. It is hosted by a professor who informative and entertaining. Cost is $15 pp. While the tour is 2.5 hours long, the time flies. The starting point of the tour was not easy for us to find, so I recommend driving to Trinity and asking a merchant to direct you to the starting point if you can’t find it. Everyone in the small town seems to know of the tour. This tour gave us great insights into the history of Trinity and the struggles facing small fishing communities on the peninsula.
3. Catching a play by the Rising Tide Theatre in Trinity. We saw a two-person drama, “Birthday Balloon”, that was excellent. Fabulous acting. Great script. Performance was at 8 pm. On this evening, we ate dinner at Fisher's Loft at the 5:30 seating and had plenty of time to get to the theatre.
4. Heading up to Elliston to see the Puffin Colony and root cellars.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Best spot in the area for both higher end dining and nice accommodations. Friendly staff, spacious rooms all with views of the harbour with giant icebergs in sight. Food was unique, local and different both nights. Very good but on the pricey side.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed in Fishers' Loft in Port Rexton for 5 nights at the end of our trip to Newfoundland in June and enjoyed our stay. Our room was elegantly appointed with some lovely details, like the L'Occitane toiletries, and kept immaculately through our stay by the friendly housekeeping staff. The location is great- right on the stunning Skerwink Trail, yet just a short drive from historic Trinity. There is also a lovely coffee shop and cafe called Two Whales nearby, which does excellent coffee, light lunches and desserts. Breakfast was not included in our rate, but the two mornings we had it, we found it was good value and set us up for the day. The waiting staff, such as Amelia, were lovely. It is clear that the hotel is well regarded in the local area for bringing much needed employment and also supporting other local tour guides and businesses. If you are staying, I would highly recommend the historical walking tour of Trinity with Kevin Toop, the Rugged Beauty boat tour of the old outports and the Sea of Whales tour with Kris Prince. A drive to the Bonavista Social Club is also worthwhile for delicious pizzas in a fabulous setting... we saw a humpback whale while eating our dinner! This truly is a lovely part of Newfoundland and Fishers' Loft is a great base. Maria & Danny, Ireland

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MariaMoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a hilltop room with spectacular views of the water. The room and the bathroom were both quite large with lots of nice touches like luxurious bath towels, robes, binoculars, etc. No fridge or coffee maker.

The rooms are definitely not soundproof...lots of sounds (water, footsteps) from people above us and beside us. Not a big problem because people were respectful of quiet times.

Would have preferred a king bed but the queen bed was comfortable.

Meals are served in a separate building a short walk away. Fantastic breakfast and dinner.

Location is perfect for hiking the Skerwink trail or visiting Trinity area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank VIM689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Wonderfully situated.. with breathtaking views.. beautifuly kept buildings.. on different levels.. we stayed in a garden room, great attention to small details.. binoculars, torch, walking sticks, soft towels, bathrobes and great toiletries..
A small room nicely decorated, the bed was a bit too soft for us ( suppose its a matter of taste)..
We were quite surprized that there was no hot drink facility in the room when we phoned the owners we were sent a flask with hot water quite promptly, but we felt this is a basic commodity that should be available in the ròoms. Also the shower water was warm/hottish but not hot! We found this out quite late at night so didn't feel like calling the owners (would have been too much of a hassle)..

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Rexton
0.6 km away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
59 reviews
2.7 km away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
308 reviews
34.0 km away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
42 reviews
2.5 km away
Eriksen Premises
Eriksen Premises
#7 of 11 in Trinity
99 reviews
2.8 km away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#5 of 11 in Trinity
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove

Address: Mill Road, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador AOC 2HO, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Rexton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Rexton
Price Range: $117 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Fishers` Loft Inn By Ship Cove Hotel Port Rexton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing