We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
274
53
14
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
53
14
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishers loftfishers' loftdining roomskerwink trailseveral buildingstrinity bayhalibuthill overlookinggreat hikingrocking chairstrail mixtwo nightsfine diningbonavista peninsulaseparate buildingfor salepair of binoculars
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Fisher's Loft is visually stunning... it completely exceeded my romanticized vision of a quaint maritime home! The Inn is impeccably maintained, with carefully curated details: including handcrafted furniture and a rustic vegetable garden. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and there are numerous outdoor seating areas around the property to relax and take in the view of Port Rexton and the rugged coastline.

The dining area is a sort of enclosed porch - a charming architectural feature- where we ate breakfast and dinner, taking in the stunning views. My only complaint about Fisher's Loft was dinner itself: while the setting and service were excellent, unfortunately the food was very underwhelming. It was a set menu, and described as fine dining. The food wasn't so terrible that I would give the Inn an overall bad review, but it was very basic and disappointing compared to the rest of the experience at the Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Molly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Fisher's Loft Inn is one of a dwindling number of well run and well maintaind country inns with a very good kitchen and friendly and efficient staff. My wife and I stayed in one of the beautifully designed suites which, although relatively small, was more than adequate for our needs and was very comfortable. The breakfasts and dinners served in the dining room are very well prepared and presented and the meals, which are relatively expensive, are plentiful. A boxed lunch is available on request. The Inn is a wonderful place to spend two or three days while visiting the coast but there are a limited number of activities available in the area for children.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank torontotraveller939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We booked months in advance and were not able to get an upper floor room. As this turned out, the weather was nonstop rain, so the lower level rooms afforded us not having to carry our bags up the stairs. The rooms are well appointed, bedding is lovely, umbrellas, walking sticks, binoculars, L'Occitane soaps and shampoos, sitting chairs. This is what a country inn should be.
The staff at the reception desk both at site and on the phone are courteous but short. The abundant Newfoundland warmth and gift of gab is absent.
We vacillated over dinner or not. As we decided to pass on a pricey set menu, we had a late lunch at Bonavista Social Club and then drinks and grilled cheese at Port Rexton brew pub. There are alternatives, even at the end of the season.
We visited the conference centre to see the art exhibit there. We were not informed of this, nor suggested to walk up that way. If you are in the area, the views from this outpost are beautiful. There are chairs to sit on at the convention centre as well as around the dining room. There are games and a communal lounge in the dining room building. Check out this building as well.
All of these details were not shared at check with in. This is why a 4 rating. The rooms are a 5 rating but the lack of details shared was a big miss.
I also will share that this is the only lodging that took a deposit, months in advance. Why not be in line with the other properties and the laid back ways of every other innkeeper that we visited? Take a credit card in case if no show. This practice left me with a negative feeling as well.
Don't miss the garden and the labyrinth. Both of these were not shared but we enjoyed them anyway.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank MC0959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Our stay was great. We loved the room we were in. It was large and had an excellent view out the windows. Our breakfast were great with lots of variety but we found the dinner too expensive.

It was in a wonderful location and all the staff were very friendly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The place is beautiful, old charm and remote.
Loved the room and the views- to die for !
We ate dinner here and it was excellent.
The place is close by to the historic town of Trinity which adds more reasons to stay here.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank NewYorkCityMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews