We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corner Brook(Corner Brook)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$108
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glynmill Inn(Corner Brook)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marblewood Village Resort(Steady Brook)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Corner Brook)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gros Morne Suites(Rocky Harbour)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
56
97
56
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
97
56
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsecond floorrestaurant upstairsnicest hotellobster dinnerbonne baynext morningbeautiful scenerystayed here for two nightsmusselsgros morne national parksmall balconynewfoundland musicnice roomfor salewi fiwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Four of us spent two nights at this place. It started with our rooms being mixed up and we did not get the rooms we requested and booked months in advance. There way of resolving it was by giving us two smaller rooms at full price in the off season.
The rooms were OK, but not what we booked. My wife slept on a smaller bed than we are used to and it didn't add to our comfort. The bathrooms were massive in the suites but a small shower was placed in a small corner with the shower head pointing out the door. The only way to turn it on was by having water pour out the door. The head could not be redirected. It just didn't seem to matter when either issue was brought up at the front desk.
Putting that aside, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is smack in the middle of "Down town" Rocky Harbour and close to everything. The art in the foyer and in the halls is by a local artist and is so clever.
All in all, it's not a bad place to stay but our cost was far above what we were expecting to pay and any of our issues didn't seem to matter.

Room Tip: Do not pay the extra money to stay in a suite.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hello and thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the overall stay in the area. The suites you were in sound like the Exec Suites and are quite large with a separate living room and bedroom with Queen Bed. I do apologize for the old round showers and they have been replaced this season with beautiful new large new ceramic showers and a general bathroom reno completed in each suite. The season rates on these rooms run at peak until September 30 and then scale back in October. Hope you can visit again!

Cheers,

Ocean View Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We were stuck in a handicap-capped room. This was not impressive since I am 5'1"!
I hated it, the bathroom smelt like urine and everything in there was to high. Shower head, toilet, and the sink. Why would you put me into this room? Paper thin walls was also bad! No fans in bathroom. Towels were old, they should have been put for cleaning the floor in the bathroom rather than using in the bathroom. Why would you put a mirror into the room, if you put it behind the tv? No fridge in room. But one thing you could walk, if you like to do that and we did. Water is very close and that was the blessing to this horrible room.

Room Tip: Beware of the Handi-capped room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelsviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hello and thank you for your review. We do appreciate your feedback. I'm not sure in particular which room you are referring to but I have started a review to make sure we did not miss something. Our housekeepers are well known for their immaculate work on these rooms so the review about the bathroom floor is surprising and will be followed up on. Unfortunately we are full most nights and have little choice over room selection for guests though we are happy to help resolve issues if we know there is a problem. So sorry the room was not to your liking.

Regards,

Ocean View Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The rooms were very nice and updated although small. Fridge and microwave in room. The 2nd floor had balconies while the 1st floor had a patio onto the parking lot. There's a 'lift' manually operated 2 person elevator to get your luggage upstairs. They have an attached bar with entertainment and a small restaurant upstairs. They often have bus groups in so there's limited seating, make a reservation, or for breakfast the sunset cafe is a short walk away.

Room Tip: get an oceanview if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank scott6428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks for the review. We appreciate your feedback. Great suggestions.

Cheers,

Ocean View Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The Ocean View is in a great location, and the rooms are pleasant (we had one overlooking the harbour). The reception staff were ok, but one was certainly brusque (Question: 'Do you have any laundry facilities?' Answer 'No, there are 3 public laundromats in Rocky Harbour' - no information on where!). The restaurant was ok, but overpriced - the food was equally as good (and cheaper) in two nearby restaurants. One particular problem we had was with the staff in the 'tours' centre in the hotel - very unhelpful and not very interested (probably not directly the responsibility of the hotel, but it gave a bad impression).

Room Tip: Our room was quiet, but I suspect any near the attached pub would be noisy
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks for the review. We do appreciate your time and comments. Glad you enjoyed the room. The rates for peak season are about mid-high range in the area running about $209 for an ocean view room for 2018. I have passed the tour center comments along to that business for review. We will agree to disagree on the food quality and pricing..but to each their taste...got a great new menu for 2018! Hope you get a chance to visit again.

Regards,

Ocean View Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We booked into this hotel because we wanted to watch Anchors Aweigh, a band that performs in the hotel pub. We were given two garden rooms in the back of the hotel. $179.00 plus 15% Tax. The room is a normal room, it is clean, but nothing at all special about it. A regular motel room that you would normally pay under $100.00 for. And NO breakfast. Definitely overpriced !!!
The picture is our garden view.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews