We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable B&B”
Review of The Dunlop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dunlop Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2017

I loved the Dunlop Inn. It is a cute little 5 room house right on the water. Stayed for 5 nights and used it as my home base while exploring the Cabot Trail and surrounding area. Rooms were simple, clean and well maintained. Carl and his wife Jerri-Ann run the inn and are wonderful. So friendly and always helpful with suggestions about the area, good places to eat, and very quick to respond to concerns (for example, my key started sticking in the locks, and they were quick to provide a replacement). Basic, serve yourself continental breakfast each morning which was fine. Honestly, if all I had was coffee and that waterfront view every morning I'd be content.

Overall an excellent stay. would definitely recommend this Inn to people traveling through Baddeck.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atuck2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

B & B with five rooms and a self serve continental breakfast. We booked the spinnacker room It was mentioned by the management at the time of booking that this room had a private bathroom across the hallway. When we saw the situation it was not acceptable. They changed us to a much better room on the ground floor . Of course everybody has to decide if they want to accept the inconvenience. Let me finish with some good points : charming staff, good location and a nice sundeck.

Room Tip: avoid room with separated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrusselsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

The Dunlop Inn is a great place to stay in Baddeck. It's at the end of the main street, right on the water, with views to a nearby island and even an iconic Nova Scotia lighthouse. The colourful and comfy Muskoka chairs are impossible to resist!
The Mabel Bell room is large and comfortable, with a modern bathroom and a good shower. Bed and linens are first-rate.
The hosts are exceptional. Very hospitable and helpful in every way. A very generous self-serve continental breakfast is available in the super modern, bright kitchen overlooking the water. Nespresso coffee is a bonus!
We loved our three-night stay at the Dunlop Inn and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MJG555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Such a great BB.

Everything is so modern (almost too modern for the area). So clean and crisp. The decor really matched the little town.

We started in the lighthouse room which was like staying in an IKEA showroom. The bathroom was large and comfortable and had heated floors.

All of downstairs is common area and I was able to watch TV late at night with a cup of tea undisturbed.

The back dock had an incredible view of the lake and light house.

Owners are so cute and sweet.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank betty1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night only unfortunately the weather was not the greatest so could not enjoy the property to the fullest. The hosts were excellent and our room was immaculate. We were in the Lighthouse Room overlooking the water. Beautifully appointed and spotless. Highly recommend this property. Only wish they had TV in the room.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RPLPCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
1.3 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
0.4 km away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
0.2 km away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
2.2 km away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
316 reviews
0.1 km away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunlop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunlop Inn

Address: 552 Chebucto Street | Cape Breton, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: $169 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunlop Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dunlop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing