We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!!”
Review of The Dunlop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dunlop Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We traveled throughout Nova Scotia for 1 week. We were not sure what to expect when we booked the Dunlop Inn because of recent reviews. We had the lighthouse room and absolutely loved it! What a great room with a view!

Room Tip: Lighthouse Room. Recently redone with a nice view. Very clean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J3CAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Rooms were quite dated, ours had the sink in the bedroom, good-sized shower and toilet in a separate en suite room. Beautiful renovated kitchen where breakfast is served but only continental--not sure what the gorgeous appliances are used for. Did not seem to be as loving run and cared for as some of the other places we stayed. It did have a nice waterfront with a dock and lots of chairs and some kayaks that maybe could be used by guests. Walking distance to all of the major restaurants in Baddeck.

Room Tip: There is just one room with a view of the Bras d'Or, all others face the street, parking lot or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed three nights in the Lighthouse room, which has the most beautiful view from a bathroom I have experienced anywhere! Well decorated, spotless and comfortable.
The inn is small but well designed for a relaxing stay. The deck right on the water is perfect for breakfast or an early evening glass of wine.
The owners are friendly and the 'help yourself' breakfast with other guests is a convivial occasion.
Walking distance to anywhere you'd want to go in this delightful small town and well placed for doing the Cabot Trail.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank schea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed at this B&B last week, mainly because of the great view out the back and being in town. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner's daughter and there appeared to be a party getting under way with some guests staying at the B&B. I was assured that there would not be noise late into the night. As it turns out, there was a wedding reception right next door at the Yacht Club and the VERY loud music and noise continued until at least 1 or 2 in the morning. The next morning the owner's son-in-law had set out our continental breakfast which was very do-it-yourself without milk or serving spoons, etc. set out. There was no apology for the night before until I brought it up, and then the response was, "Oh, I guess we forgot". I understand that weddings are a time of celebration, but we should have been informed and given the option to go to another hotel. They do own another facility down the road that we could have easily stayed at. It appeared that only our booking and one other couple were "outsiders" and the other guests were associated with the wedding. I guess they didn't want to lose out on two rooms being booked. There was no offer of any type of compensation. So, beware when booking that there is a Yacht Club next door which often has a noise factor involved. One other note is that the bathroom was very cramped and you could not shut the door and use the sink, and the shower was very odd with glass blocks in it that were part of the adjoining bedroom wall.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grammyG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Until our stay here we were very impressed with the B and Bs in Nova Scotia and PEI. We always received a warm welcome from the B and B owners and they were always onsite

With the Dunlop , you check in at a large hotel several blocks away and you're really on your own for the rest of the time. Unlike all the other establishments' breakfasts, Dunlop offers only a cold Continental type breakfast with cold hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, bagels, and coffee or tea. All buffet style .

Our room was small, on the first floor with no amenities and shampoo and conditioner for only one person. No TV. The AC was loud with no instructions on how to turn down the fan

The outside view on the water outside the breakfast room are really beautiful and it is very quiet and peaceful. The wifi was good
We felt that it was quite pricey for what we got

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
1.3 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
675 reviews
2.2 km away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
316 reviews
0.4 km away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
112 reviews
0.8 km away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
0.1 km away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunlop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunlop Inn

Address: 552 Chebucto Street | Cape Breton, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: $171 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunlop Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dunlop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing