We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Stay at Keltic Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Our recent stay of 3 days in the Keltic Lodge was wonderful. We stayed in the Corson House in a room facing the water which had incredible views. We ate in all of the restaurants and had drinks while listening to the music in the main lodge. Food in all places was very good. We were able to play golf on the day we arrived. We had hoped to play on another day but learned that a cruise ship was due in and all of the tee times were reserved; however, they fit us in for another day. Course is VERY CHALLENGING. Also hiked the Middle Head hiking trail which was quite easy and had very different, beautiful views. We would go back

Room Tip: Choose room in Corson House; main lodge had a lot of bus tour guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

This hotel is a really special place to visit and experience. It is true that the facility is dated and has some downsides in quality. The staff was mixed in skill with most very young and inexperienced. The place will be newly managed by a large golf entity and the expected upgrades will be a positive. The history is awesome. The meals were excellent. The beds in the Cordon building were not comfortable as mentioned by some of the Tauck tour people. Sites are awesome.

Room Tip: The lodge is what you would expect from the age of the building. The Cordon is 800-1000 yards away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sippytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

While the exterior of the lodge is quite lovely, our disappointment started once we entered in our room. Where one key didn't work for the front entrance, the doors didn't shut properly, you had to force them shut. The air conditioning didn't work. The bathroom had loose tiles and notable hard water deposits covering the shower fittings. It looked to us like a carpenter hadn't touched the room since the '70s.

When we went to dinner, we found that the beer wasn't well stocked, and the service we received was substandard the first night. The second night it seemed the waiter had to compensate for the poor service from the kitchen, where the food took ages to be served. When we arrived in the Thistle Room both mornings for breakfast, it took ages for any staff to notice we were waiting to be seated, and even after being seated we waited far too long for the water/tea/coffee to arrive.

Any one of these issues could be overlooked in isolation, but I'm afraid that it is totally unacceptable for an establishment who brands itself as a premium destination, and a flagship destination for Nova Scotia. I have come to expect better standards from motels than we experienced at the Keltic Lodge. In fact, once we arrived in Chéticamp, our accommodation was far superior, and cost one third less per night than the Keltic Lodge.

I had hoped this would be a special treat for my partner visiting Nova Scotia. But in reality it was the most disappointing point in our visit. I would not recommend this place to anyone following me to Cape Breton.

I sent this review to the staff at Keltic Lodge three months ago, and have yet to receive a response. Clearly they do not care about customer service or the quality of their rooms! I believe they're resting on their laurels.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lloyd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The second floor hotel room was $390.00 with tax, no elevator, cramped space, uneven floor, too warm even in later September with poor circulation, a/c unit was a roll-up DIY hidden in the closet, views from room through small window were okay, views from the dinning room were very nice and grounds were too. Many things did not function, sink plug, lights. When ordered Steak in lower dinning room, they couldn't get that right, compensated but went without meal just soup. Breakfast Buffet included was the best part. In all a very pretentious atmosphere with disappointing results. No where near worth the money even with the awesome view.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryZ8983BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Very disappointing, a newly renovated room with lumpy uncomfortable mattresses and poorly appointed room. For almost $400. a night you would expect the little things to be looked after, but not so. Had to request additional towels, little things like no soap dish in the bathroom, no place to put towels or store your shaving kit/cosmetic bag. No attention to detail in the rooms. The view is spectacular it is located on a peninsula that rivals the worlds best natural scenes.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first and test the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
3.9 km away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
59.5 km away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
69.1 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
3.7 km away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
95 reviews
68.9 km away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range: $286 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 100 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Eminence Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing