We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Skyline Cabins(Ingonish)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knotty Pine Cottages(Ingonish)(Great Value!)
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kow's Inn(Little Bras d'Or)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clansman Motel(North Sydney)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern Hill & Hollow(Ingonish)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
339
346
204
122
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
346
204
122
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspurple thistlesitting roomatlantic restaurantgolf coursecape bretonthe main dining roomnova scotiacabot trailbreakfast buffetmiddle head trailingonish beachfish cakesspectacular viewslive musiclobsteroutdoor pooleggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This hotel is a really special place to visit and experience. It is true that the facility is dated and has some downsides in quality. The staff was mixed in skill with most very young and inexperienced. The place will be newly managed by a large golf entity and the expected upgrades will be a positive. The history is awesome. The meals were excellent. The beds in the Cordon building were not comfortable as mentioned by some of the Tauck tour people. Sites are awesome.

Room Tip: The lodge is what you would expect from the age of the building. The Cordon is 800-1000 yards away from the lodge.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sippytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

While the exterior of the lodge is quite lovely, our disappointment started once we entered in our room. Where one key didn't work for the front entrance, the doors didn't shut properly, you had to force them shut. The air conditioning didn't work. The bathroom had loose tiles and notable hard water deposits covering the shower fittings. It looked to us like a carpenter hadn't touched the room since the '70s.

When we went to dinner, we found that the beer wasn't well stocked, and the service we received was substandard the first night. The second night it seemed the waiter had to compensate for the poor service from the kitchen, where the food took ages to be served. When we arrived in the Thistle Room both mornings for breakfast, it took ages for any staff to notice we were waiting to be seated, and even after being seated we waited far too long for the water/tea/coffee to arrive.

Any one of these issues could be overlooked in isolation, but I'm afraid that it is totally unacceptable for an establishment who brands itself as a premium destination, and a flagship destination for Nova Scotia. I have come to expect better standards from motels than we experienced at the Keltic Lodge. In fact, once we arrived in Chéticamp, our accommodation was far superior, and cost one third less per night than the Keltic Lodge.

I had hoped this would be a special treat for my partner visiting Nova Scotia. But in reality it was the most disappointing point in our visit. I would not recommend this place to anyone following me to Cape Breton.

I sent this review to the staff at Keltic Lodge three months ago, and have yet to receive a response. Clearly they do not care about customer service or the quality of their rooms! I believe they're resting on their laurels.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lloyd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The second floor hotel room was $390.00 with tax, no elevator, cramped space, uneven floor, too warm even in later September with poor circulation, a/c unit was a roll-up DIY hidden in the closet, views from room through small window were okay, views from the dinning room were very nice and grounds were too. Many things did not function, sink plug, lights. When ordered Steak in lower dinning room, they couldn't get that right, compensated but went without meal just soup. Breakfast Buffet included was the best part. In all a very pretentious atmosphere with disappointing results. No where near worth the money even with the awesome view.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerryZ8983BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Very disappointing, a newly renovated room with lumpy uncomfortable mattresses and poorly appointed room. For almost $400. a night you would expect the little things to be looked after, but not so. Had to request additional towels, little things like no soap dish in the bathroom, no place to put towels or store your shaving kit/cosmetic bag. No attention to detail in the rooms. The view is spectacular it is located on a peninsula that rivals the worlds best natural scenes.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first and test the bed.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

What a beautiful setting, it was truly spectacular. Although friendly and helpful there was limited staff and they were not able to provide that first class service you would expect for this first class pricing. It would not take too much attention to make a big difference in this area. After some recent visits to other first class resorts it did pale in comparison.
Upgrades are definitely needed. I can only hope with the busy season just experienced there will be capital available to turn this majestic setting into something very memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews