We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
133
82
32
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
82
32
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn living room wood stove cape breton nova scotia cabot trail wednesday night rustic charm square dancing live music oatcakes get away from it all porch swing fly fishing lots of character corner room blueberries
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We stayed in one of the cabins. Very comfortable and full of ambiance. We were within walking distance of the Barn where a ceilidh and square dance was held that evening. The music and dancing was fantastic - not to be missed. This is Cape Breton at its best.

Room Tip: Best to call the inn directly to get the total picture about availabilliy.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ashgrove01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We stayed at the Normaway Inn this previous October during Celtic Colours week - a return visit after 9 years.
The Margaree Valley is both beautiful and enticing, and just a bit off the beaten path. Your first view of the Inn is down a 1/4 mile long lane lined with stately 100 year old trees, reminiscent of a South Carolina Plantation. The main building may well have been on old fly fishing resort; it is older but very well kept. There are various types of lodging from rooms within the Inn itself to cabins. We were in the resort 9 years ago, and in the cabin this time around. In both cases we found the lodging to be rustic, in the best sense of the word, and comfortable.
The restaurant there was excellent - it is a bit of a drive back to Baddeck for others.

This is truly a place to "get away from it all" - a good place to read (or write) a book and enjoy Cape Breton's beauty. The staff is all very friendly and the owner Dave? is very accessible. He was reminiscing to us about his long association with the Normaway, and he said, "Sometimes I feel like I am living in a painting." And a beautiful painting it is. We recommend this place very highly.
PS They have nightly live fiddle music and dancing in the Barn - one more reason for enjoying your stay!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We've stayed at Normaway several times and always loved it. Friendly staff and owner Dave, beautiful grounds, excellent music in their own music barn and in the old, comfy living room. Good food with lots of fresh herbs and vegetables (often grown in their own gardens). Dave knows lots about the local music and loves it, and it shows in his warm emcee style for barn concerts. Lots to do there. Drive the magnificent Cabot Trail starting right there, fly fish for salmon in the Margaree river, time your trip to hear world class music during Celtic Colors (mostly fiddle, which everyone seems to play in Cape Breton. We like staying in one of the green cabins. Quiet and comfortable with wifi, etc, and nice hot shower.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We recently spent one night at this property in one of their cabins. It had an enclosed front porch with a porch swing and seating. We had a King bed and both bed and pillows were comfortable. It had a jet tub (but we did not use it). It had a small bathroom with shower. It was clean and comfortable enough. The grounds were very pretty. It was quiet. We didn't eat at their restaurant, but did attend the Celidh (music) in their barn - which we really enjoyed. We stayed a little while for the barn dance, but there wasn't really room for more than 4 couples to dance at a time. The price was higher than where we had been staying on Cape Breton, and not quite as comfortable... but for a cabin, it was fine and was handy for staying after we listened to the music on Thursday night. It had a small refrigerator and microwave on the enclosed porch, and a fold-down table. The check-in was easy and front desk staff very nice and accommodating. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We visited in the Fall during Celtic Colours. We have stayed at this Inn several times and had a very enjoyable time on each occassion. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you and make your stay enjoyable We stayed in the cabins for the first time and found them comfortable and relaxing. Close to the main lodge and offered great views of the Cape Breton Highlands. The food was very good and the service was quick and very efficiant I would recommend this Inn just for the knowledge that the staff are some of the best in the tourist industry and you will have a fantastic visit. PS the music provided in the barn and great room is very well done. The food is outstanding and served in a dinning room over looking the country side with plenty of windows to enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room in the main Inn as close to the entertainment and restaurant but all the rooms we have stayed in are nice.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandraconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews