We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
151
62
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
62
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland village liquor store the pub cape breton bras d'or lake cabot trail celtic music hill overlooking breakfast sandwich beautiful view wedding party on premises second level owners and staff family vacation chowder light breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018

What’s not to like? Lovely place, lovely stafff, pub grub, comfortable room and bed. Overlooking the lake, and next to the Gighland village centre, there’s enough here for a night as you tour Cape Breton.

Room tip: There are rooms with balconies for the view or on ground level, for ease of parking.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crh466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thanks for the great score. Super glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again. Cheers for now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We booked a family vacation to the Maritimes and during our stay we needed a hotel near Cape Breton. We found this gem. This hotel
Is amazing from breathtaking views to super friendly staff to cute and comfortable rooms. We had such a great time here. We were able to enjoy a glass of wine sitting outside our rooms watching the kids play badminton and enjoying the amazing views of the lake. We had breakfast at Jills chocolate and cafe at the hotel and it was so delicious. We also had dinner at the onsite restaurant with many selections and great food. Our family really enjoyed this gem of a find. We would recommend The Iona Heights Inn in a heartbeat. LOVED our stay here. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank smneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona_Heights_Inn, Owner at The Iona Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

This is a beatiful review that really makes us feel good. We are super happy you enjoyed your time here in Iona, and we love to hear that guests had a good and memorable time. Thanks for the kind words. Cheers for now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We stoped I’m on a quick getaway from Halifax and we’re amazed at what we found. Not only does it sit up on the hill overlooking mile after mile of coastline but the Inn itself offers the whole package. From Jill’s Award winning chocolates made on site, a cafe to grab a quick coffee and or sandwich, convenience liquor store and a pub that’s the real deal you won’t be left wanted for anything during your stay. Lots of local hiking, beaches and history in the area. Saturday night we went to the pub for supper and found a true Ceilidh was in full swing. The local people were friendly and made us feel at home. The staff was great as was the food and drink. Cant wait to go back.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This added 5 stars to our Cape Breton Road trip.

Me and my boyfriend went to our first road trip together to explore the cabot trail and on our way back home to Dartmouth, i felt sick and wasnt able to drive in car for another 4 hours so we booked this place for 88$ a night.

We were skeptical as we thought its in the middle of CB and wont have nice view and room is only 88$ but OMG!!!! Feels so good now to have booked this place.

We were surprised by the services. Room was amazing with a balcony andgreat view of the lake.
They have a Pub and grill with amazing food thats open from 10am to 9pm. We had beers in evening and had breakfast in morning.
Everything was so great because of great customer service. The guy who works at the restaurant and front desk was very welcoming and helpful.

Also they have a assorted fresh chocolate shop and they taste so delicious and fresh. Also had a white hot chocolate.

Everything was 5 stars especially for that price. Please look at the pictures for proof.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gurrattan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Great little spot for a relaxing get away! Rooms were not fancy, but super clean and had what you would need. Rooms even come with wifi, Netflix, noise machine for sleep and mini fridge. There was a convenience store, liquor store and Jill’s chocolate also within the building! The pub there was also super cute. Food, drinks, service and price were fabulous!

We will for sure be back in the summer/fall or both to enjoy the nice weather and beautiful view!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews