We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maplewood Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons Motel(Port Elgin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Court Motel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Manor Motel(Southampton)
View Hotel
Huron Haven Motel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Southampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
9
16
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
16
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are cleanhome away from homewould definitely stay here againplace to staykitchenetteunitssinkmotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Redesigned park model trailer turned into two units. King size bed. Microwave. Fridge. Coffee maker. New sink etc. Air conditioned. Cable tv and free wifi. No frills but does the job if you are staying short term. Pleasant owners.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Once again I'm running the gauntlet to deal with family emergency and the couple that runs this place is there for me again. Last minute booking, great rate, clean, affordable, quiet room. Rooms include a small kitchenette, free parking and very comfortable.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Dwight B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Selected this hotel as other Trip Advisor Contributors had given it 4.2 out of 5 and it was far less expensive than the other hotels in the area by $50 - $60 per night; was only looking for a place to sleep while visiting family. Rooms are a little dated, but room was clean and bed was comfortable. Room hade a micro wave, two burner built in hot plate, small fridge, tv and free wifi. Owner was very hospitable. When I made the reservation, two weeks in advance, did not need to provide a credit card to guarantee reservation ... refreshing change. Would definitely stay here again ... right across from McDonald's, next door to the beer store, pub and Mary Browns ...

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HESSN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The Maplewood is operated by friendly people and offers comfortable beds. The kitchen is pleasant and well equipped. Unfortunately, you can hear every noise from adjoining rooms. The taps in the bathroom leaked badly and the shower head was very loose. The arrangement of the queen size room was cluttered and difficult to navigate. This motel is acceptable for a one night stay at a low price.

Room Tip: Back rooms are best
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Redfox-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I try to stay at "mom and pop" places when I can. After all, it's usually just a place to sleep.
Maplewood is an old motel, which they have worked at to modernize, and they keep it clean and tidy.
The grounds have big shade trees, and it is on the 'main drag' close enough to restaurants and shopping that you can easily walk.
I was in room 10, which had a small kitchen area with sink, fridge, stove, counter, and all the cooking and eating utensils and tools you'd need, plus a microwave.
While small, there was a table for 2, a comfortable bed, with side tables, a big dresser, and arm chair, as well as a small clothes cupboard.
The large tv had plenty of cable channels.
The wifi was free, easy to access, and quick.
There was cross-ventilation with a screen door, and bathroom window, as well as an air-conditioner which I didn't need.
While sometimes it took a short time to arrive, there was plenty of HOT water.
The small bathroom had a sink, shower, and toilet, as well as a small shelf with toiletries for 2, as well as face cloths, hand towels and shower towels, and a shower mat.
Even though I didn't leave towels on the floor, they were replaced with clean ones, but the shower towels were thin, and smaller than I'm used to.
Parking is right outside your door, with the spaces clearly delineated with a 'walking area' marked off between each space.
There was a table and umbrella outside every second room, and Muskoka chairs outside each other.
The room was clearly marked no smoking.
The bed was comfortable, and overall it was a quiet place.
BUT
The bathroom shower stall in #10 had lots of mold along the three walls of the base. One side wall was loose, and that was the source of the problem, and where it was worst. It will only get even worse, and lead to some structural failure. For this reason alone, I would not stay here again.

If you want to get picky, I have never seen crown moulding installed flat along the wall, as opposed to obliquely against the wall and ceiling.
And while there was nothing wrong with the tv, I have never had to use 2 remotes, for doing different things - like one for channels, and the other for volume.
I could hear what the folks next door were talking about, but I presume there were hearing issues involved there, and I had to up the volume quite loud on the tv to cancel out their choices - probably to the detriment of the folks on the other side of me.
They were smokers, outside at the table, but that meant I had to close the screen door.

Room Tip: Due to the shower, I would not pick room 10, until it is fixed.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rockybeach10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews