We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Port Hope)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waddell(Port Hope)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lotus Motel(Cobourg)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
108
17
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
17
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciousb and bclose to downtowngreek yogurtprivate bathroomhouse is beautifully decoratedlovely womanwarmer monthsrooms were spotlesseastern ontariolittle touchesher attentionwould highly recommend this placeyear wedding anniversarymaking us feelthe lower level
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2017

What a comfortable stay.Very close to downtown Port Hope. The breakfast was fresh, delicious and satisfying. The decor was a pleasure to sit and enjoy. Due to the rain, we were not able to enjoy the patio experience ..Rose is a gracious hostess and knowledgable about the area and where to eat and what to do.For a first time stay at a Bed and Breakfast, I was quite impressed.. We were upstairs as the lower level was under renovations. The sofa in the room was not very comfortable but the bed made up for that. Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank fsalwach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlythebest_10, Owner at Plantation House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very happy you enjoyed your 1st B & B visit and double happy that you choose Plantation House in beautiful Port Hope.
In our 1830 house, we do blend modern and old and yes the sofa is antique (very old) and reupholstered and done as comfortable as could be. However who wants to sit in a sofa when the bed is heavenly luxurious!
Please come again in the Summer when the grounds are green and lush and breakfast is served on the Porch overlooking the gardens.

Regards, Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

From the time we walked through the door, we felt at home at the Plantation House. The greeting was warm, and we were escorted to a spacious bedroom, with king bed and renovated ensuite bath. From the little treats, like extra water bottles and cake - along with a delicious breakfast - we were made to feel comfortable and supported in our visit to Port Hope. Thanks so much for making our trip a special one.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We booked the king room on the lower level. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. The bathroom was private (not shared) but just around the corner from the room with a beautiful shower and decor, robes included for use. There are doors that open to a gorgeous deck and sitting area that would be nice to enjoy once the weather gets warmer. Our host Rose was absoletely wonderful, she gave us a great mixture of privacy while also making us feel at home. She cooked us an amazing gourmet breakfast that included a mushroom and spinach quiche, fresh fruit, greek yogurt, and coffee from a french press. This was our first time at a bed & breakfast and we both commented on how much we enjoyed our stay, we will definitely be returning.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

So enjoyed my stay at the lovely Plantation House. Rose is a perfect hostess, breakfast was scrumptious, the bed was so comfortable and the home beautiful.. Everything was awesome. Rose told me of some great places to have dinner, and some exciting events coming up this summer that we must visit. Will definitely be back to enjoy the lovely gardens too.

Room Tip: The bedroom on the main floor is absolutely perfect as there is a patio just off the bedroom. Gardens in summer will be beautiful.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Rose goes to great lengths to make sure her guests enjoy their stay at Plantation House. She is most welcoming and serves a wonderful breakfast. She also knows the area well which was a great help when trying to locate a place to eat .

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hmccub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews