We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Port Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2017

My husband and I visited Port Hope to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and our 1st trip to Canada. We could not have asked for a better location and host, Rose was the best! I have several food allergies and restrictions and she accommodated me with a specialized breakfast that was delicious with all fresh ingredients. The digs were so plush and comfy; I didn't want to leave the luxurious shower. We talked on end and Rose gave advice on places to stop while in the area. It is a nice getaway location. We are planning to come back in the warmer months to experience the beach, but do yourself a favor and visit Plantation House, you won't regret your relaxing adventure!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlythebest_10, Owner at Plantation House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for your amazing review. I think you are now a B & B lover, the only way to stay! You both were just a wonderful couple and I would love to have you both return to Plantation House and beautiful Port Hope. Summertime here is wonderful and very laid back. Just park your car after a long drive and RELAX and enjoy the area.
Please come again soon and 2 days a must.
All the best to you both
Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2017

What a comfortable stay.Very close to downtown Port Hope. The breakfast was fresh, delicious and satisfying. The decor was a pleasure to sit and enjoy. Due to the rain, we were not able to enjoy the patio experience ..Rose is a gracious hostess and knowledgable about the area and where to eat and what to do.For a first time stay at a Bed and Breakfast, I was quite impressed.. We were upstairs as the lower level was under renovations. The sofa in the room was not very comfortable but the bed made up for that. Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank fsalwach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlythebest_10, Owner at Plantation House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very happy you enjoyed your 1st B & B visit and double happy that you choose Plantation House in beautiful Port Hope.
In our 1830 house, we do blend modern and old and yes the sofa is antique (very old) and reupholstered and done as comfortable as could be. However who wants to sit in a sofa when the bed is heavenly luxurious!
Please come again in the Summer when the grounds are green and lush and breakfast is served on the Porch overlooking the gardens.

Regards, Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

From the time we walked through the door, we felt at home at the Plantation House. The greeting was warm, and we were escorted to a spacious bedroom, with king bed and renovated ensuite bath. From the little treats, like extra water bottles and cake - along with a delicious breakfast - we were made to feel comfortable and supported in our visit to Port Hope. Thanks so much for making our trip a special one.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We booked the king room on the lower level. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. The bathroom was private (not shared) but just around the corner from the room with a beautiful shower and decor, robes included for use. There are doors that open to a gorgeous deck and sitting area that would be nice to enjoy once the weather gets warmer. Our host Rose was absoletely wonderful, she gave us a great mixture of privacy while also making us feel at home. She cooked us an amazing gourmet breakfast that included a mushroom and spinach quiche, fresh fruit, greek yogurt, and coffee from a french press. This was our first time at a bed & breakfast and we both commented on how much we enjoyed our stay, we will definitely be returning.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

So enjoyed my stay at the lovely Plantation House. Rose is a perfect hostess, breakfast was scrumptious, the bed was so comfortable and the home beautiful.. Everything was awesome. Rose told me of some great places to have dinner, and some exciting events coming up this summer that we must visit. Will definitely be back to enjoy the lovely gardens too.

Room Tip: The bedroom on the main floor is absolutely perfect as there is a patio just off the bedroom. Garden...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Hope hotels
0.4 km away
Summerhill Manor Bed & Breakfast and Tea Room
0.7 km away
The Waddell
The Waddell
#5 of 10 in Port Hope
67 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Plantation House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14 North St, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 1T5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Port Hope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hope
Price Range: $206 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plantation House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast located downtown Port Hope is a sweet excape,offering a combination of luxury and traditional hospitality unique to historical Port Hope. Our guestrooms are inspired by a sense of simple sophistication and sparsely decorated with an eclectic mix of antiques and designer furnishings chosen for their 'Island' flavour. Attention is paid to every detail to ensure the comfort of our guests. A sumptuous plate service breakfast which may consist of variety of individual quiches with field greens, can be enjoyed in the Sunroom, or seasonal, on the Porch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Plantation House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing