We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$160
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avonlea Cottages(Cavendish)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverwood Motel(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Motel(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marco Polo Inn(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
30
37
29
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
37
29
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshining waterscavendish beachbreakfast couponscleaning supplieswalk in showercleaning staffnational parkgreen gablesbedroom cottagecoffee makerbed and breakfastswimming poolshort drivebeds were comfortableair conditioningnorth rusticoprince edward island
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Spacious clean room but it had an awkward bathroom setup. A huge jetted tub in the room with a very tiny corner sink and the private large bathroom only had a toilet and walk-in shower, no sink.
Cooked breakfast was provided in a restaurant on site which was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We had previously only booked one might in the Inn but after a full day of exploring PEI, we opted for a second night. The Inn was full, so we ended up getting a room in the motel area of the property.

Both rooms/accommodations were pretty basic, but met our needs just fine. I have read several of the recent reviews this morning before writing my own. It's a shame that so many people had disappointing experiences here.

There was a maintenance issue with a window that had a note on it. That was the only "negative" and then it really wasn't a big deal for us.

The woman who was working and made arrangements for our second night, was very pleasant and accommodating . . . matching our rate and amenities of the Inn at the motel.

Complimentary breakfast at Rachels (around the corner) was a nice value add! While their "rise & shine" breakfast is only $6.95 (and includes coffee or tea) . . . it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Be sure you know if you're booking in the main Inn, the motel or the cottages.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimeshareVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We checked into the Shining Waters Motel and Cottages on Friday afternoon only to fine out that we were actually checking into the next motel down the road (which Shining Waters had acquired). We were given our room and a map of the area. Checked out the room, got situated, then went out to eat. After dark, it's easy to get turned around so we checked out the map only to find that there was no shining Waters listed. It was listed as "The Resort on the Corner" which confused us. When we arrived back at the room we noticed the sink in the bathroom had no knob for the water stopper, the shower had no knob but a wingnut to pull out for shower. The fridge was moldy smelling, the toaster's center element wasn't working, and there was an old fridge built into the counter which we couldn't trust to work properly. The TV had no swivel so we were reduced to physically moving the TV around (which was heavy) each morning & evening to view. The air conditioner was extremely noisy and didn't cool very well. We did appreciate the pool and the barbecue available to us. The management was accommodating & courteous to us though. They were pleasant & the reception area was full of character. For the off season rates it was a fair value.

Room Tip: Check out the room they want to give you ahead of checking in to avoid dissatisfaction.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We returned to Ingleside Cottages for the first time since 2005 and our first visit 1999,and it was like going back in time, not much as changed visually. If you look closely there has been changes as in windows,vinyl siding, laminate flooring,air conditioning and still some units under renovations.The inside of our unit had a new microwave and a new stove.There is one thing you need to bear in mind these are very basic cottages, that are quite liveable, as long as you are not looking for opulence.My one and only complaint and we are not the only ones to say this is the bed, it was terrible.What makes this cottage good for us is the proximity to Cavendish beach, the national park parkway,and the fact that it's easy distance to North Rustico.We went during off season rates, I would not want to pay full summer rates. We also had great service from our cleaning crew . The resort could use a little spit and polish, but don't be afraid of it. It's not that bad.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank fgnadbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The 4 star rating is more about the overall experience and not the cottage itself. For just the cottage, the rating would be 2*.

The cottage is an easy drive/run (if you're in the mood to do so) to the beach. It had all the necessary amenities, including laundry area, for a good cottage stay. Staff was super nice and responded quickly to issues when necessary (faulty lighter on BBQ).

The cottage that we were given - not cheap either as it was peak summer season (July) - was not as pictured. It was a more run-down, brown, and ugly version of the yellow cottages int the pictures. Beds were uncomfortable, furniture was very very old, fridge and kitchen was basic, but since we spent minimal time inside and more time outside exploring and on the beach, it did not bother us.

This was our sixth time on PEI and we continue to love it.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a clean luxury cottage, this is not for you. Ask for the cottages in the back, it is much quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SSC-CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews