We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impression”
Review of Sucrerie Lavigne

Sucrerie Lavigne
Ranked #18 of 30 Restaurants in Rigaud
Price range: US$5 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: La Sucrerie Lavigne is a family business located in Rigaud, west of Montreal, offering customers an excellent sugar shack experience since 1957.
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

As this was my first time ever being at a cabin a sucre I was definitely not let down. The food was amazing and fresh and hot. Everyone was smiling and very friendly. Would totally go again :)

Thank Meganclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Propriétaire at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. As a small family sugar shack, it means a lot to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff, great food, moderate prices and laid-back atmosphere. Loved it! Would go back again for sure :):)

Thank Mysoundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Propriétaire at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. As a small family sugar shack, it means a lot to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We went with a group of 18 to the cabane yesterday. What a mistake... Tasteless eggs, cold soup,,greasy bacon, burned pancakes and dried up beans. Not expecting buffet type service. No wonder the food was not fresh and hot. As of 10 this morning 4 from the group are throwing up. Guess we will have to find another location next year.

Thank rockyum2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Propriétaire at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2016

We are truly sorry that you were not informed about our traditional hot buffet type service and that the food did not meet your expectations. Please note that our food is made from fresh ingredients just before your eyes, our apologies if you did not get that impression. As a small family business, be sure that we take good note of your comments in order to improve our clients’ experience. Hopefully, you will give our sugar shack another chance to meet your expectations in the upcoming years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2014

I have gone to many cabane à sucre since I was born 53 years ago. This is by far the most genuine old fashion one around. The people are friendly and catered mostly to families. My children, now teens, still adore going on the horse pulled carriage.The price is very fair and the food is delicious. Furthermore, I am able eat many of their dishes despite my lactose and gluten free diet. It is unfortunately only opened in the spring because or the difficult access through the dirt road in winter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Propriétaire at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. As a small family sugar shack it means a lot to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is not a good Cabane à sucre. The food was not good. The potatoes were disgusting and they did not have any tourtière! Not worth $26 at all. It felt like the place was closing down. I strongly do not recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Propriétaire at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2016

As part of the third generation of owners, we have decided to get closer to our customers online in order to continuously improve our process and offer a better experience.

We are taking good note of your comment regarding the quality of the food, its price and the fact that it did not include meat pie. We are sorry you felt like we were closing down. Even though we are a small family sugar shack, this is not the impression we want to give.

Hopefully, you will give our sugar shack another chance to meet your expectations in the upcoming years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sucrerie Lavigne also viewed

 

Been to Sucrerie Lavigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing