We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe it !!”
Review of Sucrerie Lavigne

Sucrerie Lavigne
Ranked #17 of 29 Restaurants in Rigaud
Price range: US$5 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: La Sucrerie Lavigne is a family business located in Rigaud, west of Montreal, offering customers an excellent sugar shack experience since 1957.
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Can't believe we paid over $60 for 2 people for THIS !! Noisy dining room, disorganized way of working. The food was AWFUL , the cleanliness of the place VERY doubtful made us gag ! The taffy area small , the snow dirty + an employee's kids were eating the taffy BEFORE the clients !Will not go there again !!

This was our first & last time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Propriétaire at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

We are truly sorry you did not have a good time at our sugar shack. Even though we are a traditional family-oriented establishment, your experience is not the impression we want to give to our clients. We hope that you will find a sugar shack which corresponds to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Exactly what I expect from a sugar shack... The place has character and is family operated by friendly and attentive staff. The food is excellent and served 'buffet style' which is a great way to reduce food waste.

Thank groundwaterdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Propriétaire at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation. It means a lot to us! We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Everything tasted very ordinary and, to add insult to injury, you had to get up and get it, buffet-style. I had the impression the ham was rancid. The eggs were cold. Les oreilles de Criss were nothing to write home about. The pancakes were oozing with fat and I don't think there was maple syrup in the sugar pie. No milk was offered to the children. On the other hand the service (limited) was good and the staff was nice. I would suggest instead you try the Handfield cabane à sucre in St-Marc: it's in another category altogether. the place looks gorgeous. Even if the prices are about the same, there is excellent food and service and you can eat all you want (and order alcool, if you feel like it). It's not in the same region, but it's worth the detour.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank genevievemenard01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Propriétaire at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

We are truly sorry that you were not informed about our traditional hot buffet type service and that the food did not meet your expectations. Please note that our food is always made from fresh ingredients and that our sugar pie is indeed made with maple syrup, our apologies if you did not get that impression. Let us specify that our service is an all you can eat and that you can bring your alcoholic beverages if you wish to.
All in all, we are glad you found a sugar shack that suits you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

This sugar bush is a real celebration of what, we as Canadians,look forward to in early spring. A true sign of spring means loading up the kids, mom and dad, and a Grandparent or two for some sweet fun in the Maple sugar bush. We were smart to have a reservation. Our name was on the list, our table was ready,and we were given the name of a specific girl that was going to look after us. What a well organized and amazing adventure, the food is unlimited and delicious. The service is a young crew of owners offsprings and friends, and they know what they are doing. This is our third year there, and the horse pulled sleigh ride through the bush is a treat for the kids and parents alike each time. No plastic tubes here. Everything is done the original way, by hand. The syrup house is available to visit and there is a maple candy station that is yummy. The kids can roll it on a wooden stick more than once! The washrooms are plenty and are clean. There is lots of place to sit outside and soak up the sun, or cosy up to an original fireplace inside. Room for kids to roam around and play. We enjoyed ourselves more with each visit.

Thank Glenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Propriétaire at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. We really appreciate your good words about our site and service. As a small family sugar shack it means a lot to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

We have been visiting this place for years. It is authentic to what a sugar bush should be. Note that it is not glamorous and it shouldn't be. Cabane means a shack, which is what I want when I look for a sugarbush.

The food is prepared in an open kitchen and served buffet style. The price is expensive for a breakfast type meal but it is all you can eat and if you can appreciate the effort behind maple syrup and a seasonal business it is acceptable. You can bring booze which helps on the bill.

For all the negative reviews, please return to the sanitized, sardine like usine a sucre and leave my quaint sugarshack the way it is.

Keep up the good work.

Thank Martin_mcfly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSucrerieLavigne, Owner at Sucrerie Lavigne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this great praise of our establishment, we could not express it better! As a small family sugar shack, it means a lot to us. We greatly appreciate your loyalty throughout those years and your appreciation of the whole traditional experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sucrerie Lavigne also viewed

 

Been to Sucrerie Lavigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing