We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
61
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan oasisthe ownerfolk artperfect place to relaxgardens are beautifulholy weekb bssitting areadia de los muertosmichaelorchidsartisanresourcesceramicsplazahosts
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2017

From the moment a guest arrives at Villa Victoria she or he knows they are in the right place. The front courtyard with its fountain leads into a living/dining/kitchen area of remarkable charm, decorated with superb examples of local folk art. Behind the main house lies a wonderful deep walled garden with succulents, orchids and even an avocado tree, with 2 apartments for rent on one side.

Supporting the host Michael from Victoria, Canada, are Samantha and Cindy who exemplify Mexican hospitality and warmth. Bedrooms off the fountain courtyard and extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. The beds are sumptuous and come equipped with mattress warmers for the cool nights in winter and with fireplaces. Breakfasts are delicious and many cuts above the average B&B.

Villa Victoria is located the Centro Historico of Patzcuaro, a 5 minute walk from its epicentre,the wonderful Plaza Quiroga, and the busy mercado. The area is safe and full of interest for a tourist, but is 100% Mexican and serves both the locals and visitors.Everything a visitor is likely to want is within walking distance of the Villa. Michael, with his knowledge of the region and contacts, can help arrange tours to attractions further afield.

This is a place where a guest can feel part of the real Mexico, and also feel entirely comfortable, secure and at home.It can't be beat!

Room Tip: All rooms off the fountain courtyard and the 2 suites off the garden are private and quiet
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 9Nick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Villa Victoria was highly recommended by friends of friends, and exceeded expectations by a long shot. Michael is an amazing host, taking us under his wing and making us feel like family. He had friends visiting from Canada, and we all shared several meals in the Villa, in restaurants, and in a friend's home. Villa Victoria itself is gorgeous, a warm and charming renovation of an historic Patzcuaro building in the historic center. It's filled with local art from throughout a region known for crafts. Breakfasts were fresh and perfect, local ingredients inventively presented and delicious. The rooms are comfortable and charming, with fireplaces, heated bathroom floors, and electric bed warmers (it can get cool at night in Patzcuaro in the winter). The wifi works wonderfully. Michael gave us terrific advice about local tours, restaurants, and museums, and even accompanied us on jaunts around town. We've been to many B&Bs around the world, and we rate Villa Victoria an 11, in a class by itself.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

It was a long anticipated trip to Patzcuaro for Dia de Los Muertos and it surpassed my expectations. Once we entered the gates of Villa Victoria we felt like we were in an oasis. The gardens and rooms are beautiful. The dining room and sitting area are filled with local art and books on the area. It was a comfortable gathering place and the breakfasts were delicious and varied. Michael, the owner added such a personal touch. He is very knowledgeable about Patzcuaro and the surrounding villages. His knowledge added so much as we arrived in villages well prepped with their history, customs and a bit of local knowledge. The Villa is located two blocks from the main plaza and the location is perfect for exploring Patzcuaro and as a base for seeing surrounding areas in Michoacán. Michoacán has had bad press regarding safety. I found that was not a concern in Patzcuaro. Not once did the thought of feeling unsafe enter my mind. I highly recommend a visit to Villa Victoria. Michael and/or Samantha, his very capable assistant await you. I will definitely be returning.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank RaeKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Behind the large wooden entrance doors, we found the Villa Victoria to be an oasis of quiet and comfort in old Patzcuaro with spacious rooms surrounding a beautifully decorated courtyard. All five suites include wood burning fireplaces, tiled bathrooms and comfortable beds. Two one-bedroom apartments in the lush garden have well supplied kitchens for longer stays. Villa Victoria breakfasts are served in the comfortable and art-filled main living /dining room. It was a perfect place for us to relax, read or enjoy a glass of wine. Breakfast was a feast of Mexican fusion cuisine, such as a delicious omelet made with avocados from the trees in the garden.

Six friends stayed at Villa Victoria in early November for the Day of the Dead festivities. It was a wonderful week for us thanks to the charming and knowledgeable owner Michael who was generous with his time and recommendations for local restaurants, shops and day trips. He arranged tours such as our nighttime trip to the Arocutin, Tzurumutaro and Cucuchucho cemeteries. We found the Patzcuaro market in the main square (only two blocks away) spectacular for ceramics, wood carvings and textiles. At the end of the week, Michael even drove us to buy another suitcase as our purchases overflowed our available luggage.

It was one of our most memorable trips and we look forward to our return visit to Villa Victoria, possibly for the Easter festivities.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBBarb803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had a great stay at Villa Victoria this past September, it was a festive time in Patzcuaro. The town was celebrating its 484th year since it's founding. Of course parades and great festive costumes. Villa Victoria is conveniently located near the town plaza of Vasco De Quiroga. We also took time to explore neighboring towns and sites. Michael Austin Cullen the owner of Villa Victoria had excellent recommendation on towns / sites to visit. ihuatzio pyramids, the Tupataro church (a version of the 16th chapel), Cuanajo for furniture, Capula for Catrina dolls and Santa Clara del Cobre for exquisite copper. This part of Michoacán is stunningly beautiful, and the new toll road in from highway 15D (from Guadalajara) is an engineering feat of beauty. Michael can also recommend great restaurants in the area! You won't go hungry for food or culture.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank billknownasmemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews