We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B experiences ever!”
Review of Villa Victoria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patzcuaro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Victoria
Ranked #3 of 31 Patzcuaro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This special two-hundred year old, carefully restored B&B, two short blocks from the central plaza, is only surpassed by its gracious and charming owner Michael. Behind an unassuming garage door is a delightful oasis – a garden of gorgeous plants and flowers – nice to sit with a book, but beware of an occasional falling avocado!-- a beautiful atrium fountain with rooms bordering it, and the entire home filled with local art and artisan crafts. Friends and I stayed in the front bedroom, with its own working fireplace (it was chilly in February); a large king bed and separate single, each with its own mattress warmer; a large tiled bathroom with copper sink and large soaking tub; and, like throughout the house, decorated with a variety of local crafts. Wooden shutters kept the sun out in the early morning and the street lights at night, and the cowskin rug kept the tiled floor warm. Michael, an architect by training, seems to delight in providing a special experience to his guests, in the surroundings of his home, in fascinating conversations about almost any topic and his ability to make you feel truly special, welcomed and comfortable. When we visited, he had 5 other guests, but still each day at late afternoon he was on the patio engaging with his guests on a wide variety of interesting topics, later he might join you for dinner at one of the local restaurants, and at breakfast he was there also. Breakfast is special – guests are invited to arrive early to enjoy coffee (or tea) and the warmth of the fireplace, and take in so many of the interesting crafts in the cosy living room. Breakfast is truly gourmet – each morning included a pureed juice mixture of fresh fruit (each morning different) – often from the garden, a fresh fruit compote (ALL fresh) with yogurt and granola, and a tasty Mexican-style egg-based dish, baked or with a sauce. There we talked about what to see during the day. We felt very lucky that Michael offered to show us some of the local nearby towns specializing in copper, pottery, textiles and other local specialties. Another day he recommended Marcia, a wonderful bilingual guide, whose private tour included a visit to one of the indigenous communities, local lunch (canitas, chicken mole or chicken soup) at an outdoor stall on the town square, and visits to galleries (in their home) of some of the most talented and respected artists in Mexico. My stay at Villa Victoria ranks as one of the best B&B experiences ever and the top of all my stays in Mexico.

Room Tip: side rooms may be more quiet because windows open to inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2017

From the moment a guest arrives at Villa Victoria she or he knows they are in the right place. The front courtyard with its fountain leads into a living/dining/kitchen area of remarkable charm, decorated with superb examples of local folk art. Behind the main house lies a wonderful deep walled garden with succulents, orchids and even an avocado tree, with 2 apartments for rent on one side.

Supporting the host Michael from Victoria, Canada, are Samantha and Cindy who exemplify Mexican hospitality and warmth. Bedrooms off the fountain courtyard and extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. The beds are sumptuous and come equipped with mattress warmers for the cool nights in winter and with fireplaces. Breakfasts are delicious and many cuts above the average B&B.

Villa Victoria is located the Centro Historico of Patzcuaro, a 5 minute walk from its epicentre,the wonderful Plaza Quiroga, and the busy mercado. The area is safe and full of interest for a tourist, but is 100% Mexican and serves both the locals and visitors.Everything a visitor is likely to want is within walking distance of the Villa. Michael, with his knowledge of the region and contacts, can help arrange tours to attractions further afield.

This is a place where a guest can feel part of the real Mexico, and also feel entirely comfortable, secure and at home.It can't be beat!

Room Tip: All rooms off the fountain courtyard and the 2 suites off the garden are private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 9Nick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Villa Victoria was highly recommended by friends of friends, and exceeded expectations by a long shot. Michael is an amazing host, taking us under his wing and making us feel like family. He had friends visiting from Canada, and we all shared several meals in the Villa, in restaurants, and in a friend's home. Villa Victoria itself is gorgeous, a warm and charming renovation of an historic Patzcuaro building in the historic center. It's filled with local art from throughout a region known for crafts. Breakfasts were fresh and perfect, local ingredients inventively presented and delicious. The rooms are comfortable and charming, with fireplaces, heated bathroom floors, and electric bed warmers (it can get cool at night in Patzcuaro in the winter). The wifi works wonderfully. Michael gave us terrific advice about local tours, restaurants, and museums, and even accompanied us on jaunts around town. We've been to many B&Bs around the world, and we rate Villa Victoria an 11, in a class by itself.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

It was a long anticipated trip to Patzcuaro for Dia de Los Muertos and it surpassed my expectations. Once we entered the gates of Villa Victoria we felt like we were in an oasis. The gardens and rooms are beautiful. The dining room and sitting area are filled with local art and books on the area. It was a comfortable gathering place and the breakfasts were delicious and varied. Michael, the owner added such a personal touch. He is very knowledgeable about Patzcuaro and the surrounding villages. His knowledge added so much as we arrived in villages well prepped with their history, customs and a bit of local knowledge. The Villa is located two blocks from the main plaza and the location is perfect for exploring Patzcuaro and as a base for seeing surrounding areas in Michoacán. Michoacán has had bad press regarding safety. I found that was not a concern in Patzcuaro. Not once did the thought of feeling unsafe enter my mind. I highly recommend a visit to Villa Victoria. Michael and/or Samantha, his very capable assistant await you. I will definitely be returning.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank RaeKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Behind the large wooden entrance doors, we found the Villa Victoria to be an oasis of quiet and comfort in old Patzcuaro with spacious rooms surrounding a beautifully decorated courtyard. All five suites include wood burning fireplaces, tiled bathrooms and comfortable beds. Two one-bedroom apartments in the lush garden have well supplied kitchens for longer stays. Villa Victoria breakfasts are served in the comfortable and art-filled main living /dining room. It was a perfect place for us to relax, read or enjoy a glass of wine. Breakfast was a feast of Mexican fusion cuisine, such as a delicious omelet made with avocados from the trees in the garden.

Six friends stayed at Villa Victoria in early November for the Day of the Dead festivities. It was a wonderful week for us thanks to the charming and knowledgeable owner Michael who was generous with his time and recommendations for local restaurants, shops and day trips. He arranged tours such as our nighttime trip to the Arocutin, Tzurumutaro and Cucuchucho cemeteries. We found the Patzcuaro market in the main square (only two blocks away) spectacular for ceramics, wood carvings and textiles. At the end of the week, Michael even drove us to buy another suitcase as our purchases overflowed our available luggage.

It was one of our most memorable trips and we look forward to our return visit to Villa Victoria, possibly for the Easter festivities.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBBarb803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
2.3 km away
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco
0.4 km away
Hotel Mansion de Los Suenos
Hotel Mansion de Los Suenos
#15 of 30 in Patzcuaro
47 reviews
0.2 km away
Posada Yolihuani
Posada Yolihuani
#1 of 31 in Patzcuaro
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Casa Del Naranjo
Hotel Casa Del Naranjo
#2 of 31 in Patzcuaro
43 reviews
91.9 km away
Posada de la Salud
Posada de la Salud
#14 of 30 in Patzcuaro
20 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
#22 of 30 in Patzcuaro
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Victoria

Address: Calle Navarrete 45, Patzcuaro, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Patzcuaro
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing