We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
W Punta de Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$311
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imanta Resort(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$765
US$738
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punta de Mita Luxury Residences(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$410
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Iberostar Playa Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$425
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$190
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa De Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
US$745
US$679
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Destino Alamar(Punta de Mita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,080)
Filter reviews
2,080 results
Traveller rating
1,837
158
56
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,837
158
56
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea breezeoutdoor showerbutler servicepunta mitaremede spachampagne ritualfour seasonsdeluxe suitemarine safaripersonal butlerwalk in closetthe general managerspg platinumsi senorcasa teresagolf coursefish tacos
Filter
Updating list...
1,657 - 1,662 of 2,080 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

started w/ the VIP treatment @ the AP and didn't end till we were dropped back 5 days later! Pulling through the gates of the Punta Mita property and driving up to the St Regis was as we expected - beautiful and actually reminded us of being at a 5* resort in Hawaii - w/out going 8 hrs! what makes this St Regis so special is that rare combination of great staff to go along w/ a great property - the butler service (Hector was our butler and was fantastic), the restaurants are top notch (we never ate off property - why??) along w/ our experience @ Carolina provided by Vladimir and the chef being as good as anything in the world (incl Paris, New York, San Francisco and Puerto Vallarta!), the menu is one of the best I've ever seen - we created our own multi-course w/ help from Vladimir; our housekeeping staff were so sweet and always aimed to please no matter what the request was, which I would say for the whole staff. Another thing that was really neat to see was the GM (Carl Emberson) being so visible and approachable - he really enjoys meeting the guests and hearing any comments whether good or bad....the only cons we can say was that there was a wedding going on (80% of the guest were there for the wedding) that put lots of stress on the pool / beach staff but when brought to Carl's attention he was already on top of it and made things "right" with the non wedding guest....the wedding events were so fun to watch though and should be on Entertainment Tonight as it was a million dollar wedding -this wedding was so much classier than Kim K's wedding. The St Regis Punta Mita is our new escape from Dallas as it is only 2 hrs away but in "another world" - we are fans of a 5* in Playa de Carmen but this is where we are going on our annual Nov getaway - it was so refreshing not to have kids and teenagers running around screaming / crying.

Room Tip: rooms below Altimira are probably the best as views are great but close to everything.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlitosembo, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear Sir

Greetings from The St Regis Punta Mita Resort - on behalf of the entire team we thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to Vladimir and the housekeeping team while we appreciate the way you felt we managed the non wedding guests over the weekend. We hope to welcome you back soon to your new home away from home and are honored you consider us in that manner.

Yours sincerely - Carl Emberson GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We had a wonderful wonderful week at the St Regis Punta Mita. The service is truly exceptional - from the Margherita when you arrive to the lovely and friendly service from the butlers. The resort doesn't kill you with extras (e.g. valet parking is free).
Pros: Beautiful hotel with truly amazing rooms, Ubiquitously friendly staff, Great range of pools, Lovely gardens, Good food, Great bars, Terrific golf
Cons: Difficult to swim in the ocean because the beaches are quite rocky, Quite a long way from 'civilization' - i.e. the town of Punta Mita feels very small, and it is a long way to other towns

Room Tip: Get as close to the water as you can
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussieskiernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband and I just spent a wonderful 8 nights at the St. Regis Punta Mita. Since so many reviewers have effectively highlighted what makes the hotel and the area in general such a wonderful vacation destination, I wanted to focus on sharing my thoughts around the St. Regis versus the Four Seasons (the other luxury hotel on the property) where we spent a week a year ago. Both are wonderful resorts with stunning grounds and pools staffed by best-in-class hospitality industry talent, but the St. Regis is where we'll be staying for our next visit to Punta Mita for the following reasons:

Round trip transfers: The St Regis offers far more comfortable round trip transportation (comfortable SUVs versus 4S's vans)
Location: My husband and I played a lot of golf (amazing courses!) and being able to walk back and forth to the clubhouse versus needing to wait for shuttle vans (4S) was far more pleasant for us.
Rooms: Our room was stunning (especially the bathroom) and the patio extremely private.
Staff: Although the 4S over delivers on the extra perks, the staff at the St. Regis over-delivers on what matters most to us - a thoughtful, consistent level of service that exudes class and grace (a special thanks to Mike O'Hara who really stunned us by going above and beyond to make our stay wonderful).
Adults-only pool: We typically spend the bulk of our pool time in adults only environments and the sea view offered at the St Regis was stunning (4S adults pool is in a jungle setting - although they get extra points for their spectacular cabanas)

Net/net: You can't go wrong with either hotel, but based on our vacation "priorities" the St. Regis is now officially on our must return (at least) yearly list.

Must do:
If you are a golfer, you can't miss the two Jack Nicklaus courses - great all around golf, and the service is unbelievable. (One note - carts don't have GPS so you may want to bring your yardage "gadgets" along)
Must eat:
Shrimp tacos at the hotel and anything and everything on the menu at Casa Teresa (just a quick cab ride away - excellent italian food, amazing people, perfect setting)
Don't pack:
Unless you're just dying to wear that new cocktail dress and stilettos, leave them at home. The resort is classy but very much "barefoot"classy.
Don't forget:
When the butler service sends you an email prior to your stay to ask for any requests, ask them to leave a can of bug spray in your room to help stave off the sunset hour mosquitos

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverTheHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I will not be the first to consider the Saint Regis Punta Mita as the perfect place for a honeymoon, or the ultimate golfing vacation, or for plain pampering and self indulgence in a classic luxury 5 star setting, but if the sea is your thing, read on for some additional insights.
Punta Mita is world class for blue water spearfishing for tuna and wahoo. Reach Sebastian Melani and Punta Mita Expeditions for more details. There is also great near shore fishing for large snapper. As a matter of fact, you can snorkel or spearfish right off the beach of the Saint Regis, and I am sure the friendly staff will find a way or preparing your catch. The Saint Regis is also close to the local fishing port of Punta Mita, where you can find all support for the nautical activities you want such as scuba, surf, stand up paddle, and all types of fishing. Another surprise was the warm water with 28 degrees centigrade in October. The village also has the great foot in the sand restaurants you expect, with plenty of taquitos del mar and cold Pacifico beers. This place has it all, and at the Saint Regis you can have it all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Friend's Daughter's Wedding - Sunset etc etc
Total Service - great staff. Prime location with great recreation available. Did a snorkle trip to nearby islands - very good and we are picky about such things. Great facility. Staff drives you around in Gold Cart if you want need a lift.

Banco Mexico ATM "ate" my card - St Regis got them on phone 9:00am Monday - card back in my hands by 11:30 (flight out was at 3:00). The Accounting Department jumped in!!

Tough Greens on Golf Course, very good food. Best for multi day stays as it take one day to find out where everything is. About an hour shuttle from Airport - most folks just stay there.

It is EXPENSIVE but you are at a 5 Star on Beach with Mountains around you. Lots of Government Fees (about $50 night for them).

Room Tip: Rooms are very large. Make sure you are not near a large Wedding Party - we made lots of noise (9 person band) till 11:00pm. Ask to see Map before you pick to meet your needs...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Searover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews