We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Morena(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Itour Akumal Villa Las Tortugas(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$400
US$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$347
US$313
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$317
US$301
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$254
US$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$412
US$335
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
246
170
58
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
170
58
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslol ha restaurantdive shopcontinental breakfastcannon housewater coolerturtle bay bakerysnack barfishreserved for hotel guestssea turtlessmall fridgerestaurants within walking distancehotel buildingsmall hotelyal ku lagoonnice poolla buena vida
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful location. Sea was warm and swimming with the turtles were special. We had a ground floor room which looked out on the pool and the ocean. Extremely clean and the air con was great. The staff kept the grounds swept and fetched a beach bed to place under the shade if you needed it. We enjoyed the restaurants and cafe overlooking the water. Just lovely authentic Mexican accommodation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The hotel is an older one and is rather small compared to new giants next door. We had a bungalow duplex room which was very large, and had a 5 gallon drinking water dispenser which was a pleasant surprise. The bungalows have a nice courtyard, and ours had a private gazebo with couches and table. The premises were quiet, green, and well kept. It has no all-inclusive option, so even though the room is a bargain, food and drink tab will run up quickly. We discovered a nice convenience store right outside the entrance that sells beer for $6 per six-pack compared to per drink at the restaurant. Beware that the store doesn't sell any alcohol before 10 a.m. and after 2 p.m. on Sunday. There is a coffee-maker in the room but coffee is only complimentary the first day, so bring your own. The beach is at the east end of Akumal Bay. It has public access, so it becomes rather busy during the day. The thatched roof umbrellas and loungers are reserved for hotel guests only, so you can get shade any time. The reef is very large and stretches out from the Secrets resort next door to the next one west, and is easily accessible from shore. Great variety of coral and fish, sea turtles. Very pleasant and relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Bungalow duplexes have very large rooms and nice courtyards.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank NatashaIvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We have stayed at this hotel for many years. If you like tranquil you will love it here. It is busy when tour groups stop to snorkel in Akumal Bay, but it is a very peaceful place in the morning and again in the late afternoon and evening. Even during the day the hotel has a private area under large palapas on the beach for hotel guests only. Be aware that there are no TV's or radios in the rooms which actually adds to the tranquility. There is WiFi and cell service however. The food at the snack bar and the main restaurant is great. We have found it difficult to find local cuisine in Cancun for years and look forward to eating in Akumal.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank I8373QMcraigc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This was our second stay at Akumal Caribe and again we found it to be a nearly perfect stay.

Check-in was a breeze and we were quickly ushered to our bungalow. Our room consisted of 2 full beds which were comfortable, a water cooler, mini fridge, air conditioner and safe. The bathroom was small and the shower could have used a new shower head. The bungalow is designed to be a no frills room geared to provide you with a quiet nights rest and easy access to the beach and/or dive centers.

The bungalow area is a bit busy during the day with tour and dive groups coming and going, but the buildings are well built enough to filter out any noise and at night when everything dies down, its very peaceful.

Akumal Caribe is located right on the beach and our room was literally a 30 second walk away. You may have seen pictures of the beach area or visited the loco gringo webcam and seen how beautiful this area is. During the day the beach can become quite busy with tourists (local and foreign) and dive groups coming and going to their boats. No matter how busy, its always a fun and relaxing atmosphere and the swim area is great. You can walk pretty far down the beach and to the south there are a couple resorts. They will have security guards checking for wrist bands if you venture too close to the properties, otherwise they won’t hassle you. The walk along the beach at night is amazing, especially under a full moon.

There is a designated swim area and its shallow pretty far out before it gradually drops down. You will see a lot of fish here and there and the occasional turtle. Be aware that a local conservation group has designated an area beyond the swim area as a protected area for turtles. If you venture into this area you will be turned back unless you have a life vest and are accompanied by a guide (although we did see some leniency on this).

Onsite there are two restaurants (one will provide complimentary continental breakfast) and nearby there are 2 grocery stores, some small shops and other restaurants (including an ice cream parlor). If you are up for a walk, you can venture into the town of Akumal and eat at some of the local restaurants as well. One note to mention about the nearby restaurants just outside of the hotel property, the food is excellent and offers fresh catch of the day, however we suggest that you are vigilant of any drinks you may buy and stick to bottled water, beer or soda, we had a very bad experience with some mixed drinks that very nearly ended our vacation.

We look forward to another stay with Akumal Caribe as it was probably the most relaxing stop during our vacation. Whether you are diving or just looking for a place that offers beautiful beaches, peace quiet and you don’t need a resort-type atmosphere, this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WearyTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We have been coming to Akumal for 25 years...thankfully t is always the same.

We rise with the sun and stroll over for breakfast. We return to our room and gather our beach necessities, a towel, a book, a hat and glasses. We then select a palapa and have our chairs and tables brought over by the helpful attendants. The remains of the day are filled with what can only be described as heaven. We read, swim with the turtles, break for a lunch of ceviche, fruit and beer. We then return to our palapa for a nap and more of the same...read, swim, and perhaps another snack.

At the end of the day we return to the room and get dressed for dinner; by dressed, I mean khaki shorts and an un-tucked polo & have dinner in the open-air palapa they call the snack bar. If we are feeling like enjoying something a little more "formal", we either opt for slacks and a tucked shirt and dine at he more formal restaurant called Lol-Ha.

I suggest that you review the entertainment schedule and make reservations for Lol-Ha, as there always seems to be a great show there. In fact...if you are there for a week, there is certain to be a show of interest to you...no matter your taste.

We then retire to our room and enjoy the balance of the day, sans television. There is of course a TV in the snack bar you can grab important sporting events on (who wants to watch the news on vacation?).

There is not much else to do but enjoy the day and the bay...Swimming, snorkling, fishing charters and dive shops are all on site, as well as shopping for gifts and groceries. There is really no reason to leave Akumal, unless you want to visit a nearby centoe or archaeological site.

It's our happy spot...If you visit, it will be yours, too...

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank D-Dikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews