We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Stayed here for 6 nights at the end of August and it wasn’t super busy, which was great, benefits of going off season!

This hotel is not one of those fancy all-inclusive, many pools, several hot tubs and multiple restaurants sort of place. If you want that - Secrets Resorts is on the same beach stretch and looks a bit more like it.

This hotel is an amazing small hotel with a good restaurant, friendly staff and all the amenities you need right on the beach.

The beach does get busy as it's not a private beach - but it's a great beach to swim and snorkel.

A huge bonus are the turtles that feed right off the bay and a short snorkel away. Get up early to get clear waters and avoid tourists.

They have two room blocks with bungalow options scattered around the property and a small three story building with about 20 rooms. We stayed on the third floor, the rooms were big with a refrigerator, good WiFi, AC, microwave and even a stove if needed. Room’s don’t have TVs which we enjoyed.

They had little balconies, ours overlooked the pool and the beach, and we had no mosquito trouble there, although the further inland you go you do get bitten a bit. I find hotels in Tulum near the sea have a lot more having stayed there previously (again this could be seasonal).

The shower in the room was a bit weak but to be honest it served the purpose of washing of beach sand so we didn’t really complain, but if you want a fancy power shower – not the place for you.

The restaurant for breakfast and dinner Lol Ha was great, staff amazing and food tasty with a lovely beach view. There's an Italian restaurant a short walk away as well that does good pizza and pasta if you want a change. There's a super market on the way to the restaurant too.

We did have a car as Akumal itself is tiny and we wanted to drive across to visit the Mayan Ruins and Cenotes. So, I would recommend a car if you stay here more than three nights. They have free parking. Taxis are available too.

I would stay here again, great location and hotel, and it really has a holiday feel to it. It was even pretty in the rain.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank SG-092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful location. Sea was warm and swimming with the turtles were special. We had a ground floor room which looked out on the pool and the ocean. Extremely clean and the air con was great. The staff kept the grounds swept and fetched a beach bed to place under the shade if you needed it. We enjoyed the restaurants and cafe overlooking the water. Just lovely authentic Mexican accommodation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The hotel is an older one and is rather small compared to new giants next door. We had a bungalow duplex room which was very large, and had a 5 gallon drinking water dispenser which was a pleasant surprise. The bungalows have a nice courtyard, and ours had a private gazebo with couches and table. The premises were quiet, green, and well kept. It has no all-inclusive option, so even though the room is a bargain, food and drink tab will run up quickly. We discovered a nice convenience store right outside the entrance that sells beer for $6 per six-pack compared to per drink at the restaurant. Beware that the store doesn't sell any alcohol before 10 a.m. and after 2 p.m. on Sunday. There is a coffee-maker in the room but coffee is only complimentary the first day, so bring your own. The beach is at the east end of Akumal Bay. It has public access, so it becomes rather busy during the day. The thatched roof umbrellas and loungers are reserved for hotel guests only, so you can get shade any time. The reef is very large and stretches out from the Secrets resort next door to the next one west, and is easily accessible from shore. Great variety of coral and fish, sea turtles. Very pleasant and relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Bungalow duplexes have very large rooms and nice courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank NatashaIvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We have stayed at this hotel for many years. If you like tranquil you will love it here. It is busy when tour groups stop to snorkel in Akumal Bay, but it is a very peaceful place in the morning and again in the late afternoon and evening. Even during the day the hotel has a private area under large palapas on the beach for hotel guests only. Be aware that there are no TV's or radios in the rooms which actually adds to the tranquility. There is WiFi and cell service however. The food at the snack bar and the main restaurant is great. We have found it difficult to find local cuisine in Cancun for years and look forward to eating in Akumal.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank I8373QMcraigc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This was our second stay at Akumal Caribe and again we found it to be a nearly perfect stay.

Check-in was a breeze and we were quickly ushered to our bungalow. Our room consisted of 2 full beds which were comfortable, a water cooler, mini fridge, air conditioner and safe. The bathroom was small and the shower could have used a new shower head. The bungalow is designed to be a no frills room geared to provide you with a quiet nights rest and easy access to the beach and/or dive centers.

The bungalow area is a bit busy during the day with tour and dive groups coming and going, but the buildings are well built enough to filter out any noise and at night when everything dies down, its very peaceful.

Akumal Caribe is located right on the beach and our room was literally a 30 second walk away. You may have seen pictures of the beach area or visited the loco gringo webcam and seen how beautiful this area is. During the day the beach can become quite busy with tourists (local and foreign) and dive groups coming and going to their boats. No matter how busy, its always a fun and relaxing atmosphere and the swim area is great. You can walk pretty far down the beach and to the south there are a couple resorts. They will have security guards checking for wrist bands if you venture too close to the properties, otherwise they won’t hassle you. The walk along the beach at night is amazing, especially under a full moon.

There is a designated swim area and its shallow pretty far out before it gradually drops down. You will see a lot of fish here and there and the occasional turtle. Be aware that a local conservation group has designated an area beyond the swim area as a protected area for turtles. If you venture into this area you will be turned back unless you have a life vest and are accompanied by a guide (although we did see some leniency on this).

Onsite there are two restaurants (one will provide complimentary continental breakfast) and nearby there are 2 grocery stores, some small shops and other restaurants (including an ice cream parlor). If you are up for a walk, you can venture into the town of Akumal and eat at some of the local restaurants as well. One note to mention about the nearby restaurants just outside of the hotel property, the food is excellent and offers fresh catch of the day, however we suggest that you are vigilant of any drinks you may buy and stick to bottled water, beer or soda, we had a very bad experience with some mixed drinks that very nearly ended our vacation.

We look forward to another stay with Akumal Caribe as it was probably the most relaxing stop during our vacation. Whether you are diving or just looking for a place that offers beautiful beaches, peace quiet and you don’t need a resort-type atmosphere, this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WearyTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.2 km away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 22 in Akumal
344 reviews
0.2 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.3 km away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,199 reviews
3.4 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.7 km away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $216 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Akumal Caribe is a peaceful family-friendly resort located on the main bay in Akumal, Mexico. It is steeped with history and provides personal service, relaxation, delicious food, great views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing