We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel resort, be prepared for long journeys if booking excursions!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my husband booked this resort for our honeymoon. We booked all inclusive which was the only option and I see why. The main buffet that is open breakfast, lunch and dinner until late had a huge variety (i am very fussy and mainly had chicken and chips most evenings) but they also had veg, pizzas, burgers, skewers, soups, salads, pork, beef, SO much seafood and a kids food corner. When you arrive you can book 4 restaurants in advance as they get fully booked up. They have roughly 8 or 9 restaurants that are reservation only - so you should book on arrival as they get fully booked about 2 days ahead of the current day. There is Japanese, Brasilian buffet of meats, Mexican, Sea food, Italian etc so much more and the quality is a lot richer than that at the daily buffet (buffet is still awesome though). There were 2 poolsides at Tulum, the main one always seemed rather lively with loud music and kids running around. We were on our honeymoon and luckily our room was located near the smaller pool (that was still large) and just a few steps around the corner is a luxury private beach. We spent every morning here, you can always see poolsides but how often do you have your own private beach? It was just bliss!! We booked a few excursions... CocoBongo (1 hour drive away), Xcaret (only about 30 mins away) and Jolly Roger pirate show which was 2 hour drive away and was an awful cramped journey there and back so be mindful as Captain Hook pirate show is in the same location. We dont regret going but the drive could easily make some people sick in that heat. As the resort is so large, men drive large buggys and take groups of people around the resort. There is a place a 5 min walk away with lively bars, shisha, sports bar (we played pool in there a lot). The maids and staff are very sweet and helpful if you need anything. Obviously with such a large resort you only get Wifi in the reception area. Each night at 9pm there would be a different show on (Michael Jackson tribute, magic show, kareoke). Overall the trip was amazing and we had a great tine in this resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank BenjKhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest:

On behalf of our team we thank you for taking the time to put together the details of your vacation experience at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum.

It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us.

Receive our sincere congratulations for your marriage and thank you for choosing our resort for spend your honeymoon♥.

We are always striving to provide our guests with the highest quality service so that they could stay absolutely content with their vacations at our hotel.

Thank you once again for your choice and we are looking forward to your next visit in order to repeat this great experience. : - )

Sending you our best regards,
Elizabeth Villaseñor
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 245 of 12,976 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

4th visit, sept 10-15 absolutely lush grounds, wonderful selection of food every meal, friendly staff!
We were in block 22 with a great view of the pool and ocean.
Met a lot of wonderful people!
The sand whale barriers are a little too close to shore and unfortunately impede the beautiful seascape and swimming areas. No complaint of the coral (rocks some call it) on shore, as this is totally natural and don't expect them removed for tourists pleasure. There are plenty of Sandy entry area if you can walk along.
I was Very disgusted in the small pool the dolphins are in.....didn't even want to look but curiosity got the better of me and I felt sad what I saw.
The most unfortunate episode which needs to be mentioned was, my Husband found a wallet, without handing it over, we left his name and our room number and the name on the ID in the wallet, so he could personally return it to its rightful owner.
After 2 days we went to lobby again to see if they had contacted the owner who we know by the contents she was a guest, only to be treated that night at 8:30 with security at our room door. they stated the wallet was stolen along with a purse and wanted to search OUR room and luggage!! What a minute, we are the good guys trying to return it...not the theives...very poorly handled and we felt violated and humiliated. Later heard of several incidents of theft out of the safe, so we chose not to use it, even though you are charged $5 American daily. Husband's lesson, sadly, is to leave anything not his and don't try to help out.
We would return probably, if the opportunity arose, as we like the area, people and all the facilities but feel the resort could have apologized for treating us like criminals.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank palmlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 September 2017

Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing our hotel in your trip to Mexico and for your feedback.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your holidays, the food, and our beautiful grounds.

Positive comments always motivate the staff to provide excellent service.

We truly understand your review and appreciate the opinion that all of our present and future customers may have about a delphinarium in an hotel complex, some of them are against the dolphin captivity, others appreciate the new attraction being in hands of a professional organization, as an enterprise with experience in the building of a controlled habitat in specially created aquariums. The operation consists in a state-of-the-art life support system that changes the water in the pools every two hours and the dolphins are supervised, trained and taken care of by professional biologists. The dolphins have never known the open seas experience as they are born in captivity which is not an excuse or explanation to defend this activity, but information we want to give to our concerned customers.

Regarding the situation described please kindly excuse us for this unfortunate experience. We aim to provide excellent service to our customers.

All your observations have been forwarded to the General Management of the resort as the guests satisfaction is our priority and rest assured we will be constantly striving to the excellence in our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to change your perception in the future as we believe you will enjoy our new services.

Sending you our best regards,
Elizabeth Villaseñor
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Our trip to Mexico was a once in a lifetime trip for us , all inclusive to the Bahia principe tulum . First impressions when we pulled up outside the lobby reception area was wow , on entering again wow , the check in went really quickly and we were soon on our way to our rooms via a golf cart . Bad .... we requested adjacent rooms but we were as far to the right of the lobby and the parents were far left of the lobby !!!! We couldn't have been any further apart !!!!! The parents requested to be moved closer which they duly sorted out for them ✅ Then the first 5 days were a mixture of rain , thunderstorms, lightning and wind ( I know you can't predict or do anything about the weather but it still spoils it ). Finally the sun came out for the next 8 days ✅yippee.
GOOD ......as you can see from the pictures a beautiful setting on the edge of a rainforest , hot sun , cold drinks and a great relaxing time ✅
My biggest gripe was BIRDS !!!!!! IN THE RESTAURANT!!!!!! YES IN THE RESTAURANT!!!!!! When you go for any of your meals you are greeted with a lady squirting hand sanitizer into your hands ✅very health and hygiene ✅
Then you walk into restaurant and you are dive bombed by big black birds , they can be seen casually walking over tables set ready for use , pecking at the cloth and walking over knives and forks A BIG NO NO NO
ON one occasion ( in the pictures ) a table which had been used was left with dirty plates on it for 20 minutes this encouraged the birds to scavenge the plates , I think they only cleared table because they saw me taking photos . Another photo clearly shows what a bird thought about a nice clean table !!!!!
MOAN OVER
I loved the food (usually only luke warm but nice ) A LA CARTE on the other hand were brilliant and hot , drinks were plentiful and free!!!!!
Saw some lovely wildlife too especially Cedric who would always be sat with his mate near the restaurant
All in all I really enjoyed the Mexican experience but don't think I will be in a hurry to come back !!!!!!!
Oh yes nearly forgot about the nasty little blighters........MOSQUITOES I hate them but they love me lol

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 September 2017

Dear guest:

First of all thank you for your loyalty in Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us once again to enjoy your holidays.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the restaurant a la carte, the food, the service, and all our facilities.

Regarding mosquitos, we would like to inform that we have a fumigation program here at the resort, however your comments have been sent to the management to reinforce this area.

We apologize for the buffet described. We have sent this information to the our Ecological Foundation Eco-Bahia so that they could take the necessary measures to improve the areas mentioned and to give a proper follow up to your concerns.

If you choose us again in the future, we are sure you will enjoy your stay at our hotel.

Sending you our best regards,
Elizabeth Villaseñor
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Where to start,
the bad.
Family and friends of a group of 21, stayed here for 2 weeks. When we arrived we were taken to our rooms, which they did put us all in the same block, but the the rooms smelt damp and foisty. When complained, they sent a dehumidifier to the room and put menthol blocks in the air conditioning unit. Which says to me that this smell is there all the time.

We had safes in our rooms which was opened buy key. 4 rooms out off our group money was taken from the safes. When complained they said they did an investigation but they didn't find anything wrong, they just weren't interested, on the representative meeting we where told there was break ins. It seemed we heard a lot of this though out our holiday.

The staff were quite abrupt, unless you tipped them, even to get a decent drink at the bar or your rooms cleaned properly you needed to tip. when you've already paid a lot of money for all inclusive in a 5 star hotel you should not need to be tipping for everything.

Our family and friends said none of us would return to this hotel.

The good.
Food was amazing in the restaurants. The mashu, which was a Peruvian restaurant was amazing, they did the best beef fillet steak I have ever tasted.
The Japanese restaurant was also amazing for the show cooking, really enjoyed this experience and the food was amazing too.
Don Pablo fine dining restaurant was also amazing. Every plate beautifully presented.
The buffet area was also nice but quite repetitive.

Entertainment was ok, Romeo kept us entertained around the pool with plenty of actives such as: water polo, maya basket ball and water aerobics, many more.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
7  Thank kay718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 September 2017

Dear guest:

We are delighted to receive your feedback from your recent stay with us.

Thank you for enjoying your time at our resort and sharing your positive comments about the restaurants a la carte, the entertainment and the services we offer.

Regarding the situation described, we want you to know that we keep strict control of all incidents reported and in this particular case; we can assure you that we have implemented all the security protocols established by the company. Also, please note that all our personnel is well checked every time they are coming in or getting out of the Hotel, in order to avoid that items can be taken away.

We would like to make a heartfelt apology that you got the impression that our staff does not give the proper follow up to your incident. We will not attempt to excuse the occurrences that happened during your stay, but we do sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to offer you a more charming experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to change your perception in the future as we believe you will enjoy our new services.

Sending you our best regards,
Elizabeth Villaseñor
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We visited here for the last 2 weeks of August. On arrival checkin was quick and efficient - However when we got to our room (which was not close to the lobby) we were unable to get into our room. I had to go back to reception - our card had not been activated! This was the last thing I needed after a 12hr journey.

Once we were in our room I was slightly disappointed as it was a little old and dated - I became more irritated when I was sat on the toilet and upstairs (what I can only hope was bath water) was dripping down onto my head!!! I looked up and there was a large bulge in the ceiling!

I later went to the lobby and asked to be moved - in fairness the lady was very response and offered an immediate move or one 2 days later to a room which over looked the small pool and sea - we opted for this and they were true to their word.

Although our new room was exactly the same as the other one (junior suite) the decor was more updated and the beds more comfortable.

The grounds here are truly beautiful and the gardeners should be very proud of themselves. The food was ok in the buffet restaurants, we were disappointed in the second week when the restaurant next to the small pool closed.

The bell boys and drivers of the carts were also very helpful and friendly.

Booking the al la cart restaurants was no problem and we got the times we wanted.

We traveled with Thomas Cook and booked are trips through them - they are very expensive per person. On saying that my son and I particularly enjoyed swimming with the dolphins €169 with €40 cash back - the adult pays and the child goes free. Plus you are able to book a spectator onto the bus for free. We had about 50 mins in the water including an amazing foot push out of the water by 2 dolphins.

It was our first time in Mexico and a longtime since we've been all inclusive. I would say Grand Bahia did live up to our expectations.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank reggie2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 September 2017

Dear guest:

On behalf of our team we thank you for taking the time to put together the details of your vacation experience at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum.

Your honest opinion can be a valuable reference for other customers who are thinking to stay with us, so we deeply appreciate the time you took to share it.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the staff, the restaurants a la carte and the beautiful grounds; as well as for targeting the points we can improve. All your observations are well received and we will do our best to reinforce the areas mentioned.

If you choose us again as your holiday destination it will be pleasure to serve you again in the best possible way. ; -)

Sending you our best regards,
Elizabeth Villaseñor
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
3.3 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.9 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 23 in Akumal
2,253 reviews
9 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250, Local B, Akumal, Municipio Tulum, Quintana Roo. 77760 | Local B, Akumal 77776, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $231 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 4.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing