We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$310
US$258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$451
US$374
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$310
US$258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Itour Akumal Villa Las Tortugas(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Morena(Akumal)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$367
US$307
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$401
US$335
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$433
US$311
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$379/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (14,585)
Filter reviews
14,585 results
Traveller rating
7,993
4,143
1,522
534
393
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,993
4,143
1,522
534
393
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier lobbycozumel buffetle gourmeta la cartesfishgolden lobbysnack barplaya del carmenquiet poolkids water parkakumal beachshow tablemichael jackson showmain buffetother resortsgreat resortactivity pool
Filter
Updating list...
7,552 - 7,557 of 14,585 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We are a married coupled from Canada in our 20s and we stayed at Coba from March 26th to April 9th. Overall, our vacation was great.
ROOM: Nice, spacious and clean. We experienced a problem with our TV on the first day but it was fixed within an hour.
FOOD: We really enjoyed the food. I am a very picky eater but there was so much variety that I can't write one single complaint =).
DRINKS: We enjoyed our drinks but I can't say it was extraordinary.
BEACH: Coba beach is definitely better than Akumal, Tulum and Sian Kaan, however it would be nice if the beach didn't have any rocks in the water at all. The resort is a 5 star resort but the beach is definitely a 4. There are no chairs in the shade after 7:30 a.m. so if you want to get one, get up super early...Other chairs get reserved by 9:30-10:00 a.m. There was lots of activity on the beach including beach volleyball, aerobics and zumba. Beach bars are usually packed but the bartenders are super nice and are trying so hard to serve everyone asap.
POOLS. Pools are big and clean. There are quiter pools and pools with music and different activities.
EXCURSIONS: This was our third time in Mexico so we didn't book a lot of trips. We went to Tumul to see the ruins and we took their public transport which costs $2-3 per person one way. It took us about 20-25 minutes to get their. We also went to Playa Del Carmen and again we took the public transport. In our previous trips, we went to Chichen Itza, Xcaret and Explore, and all of these places I would highly recommend.
NEGATIVES: Tourists. We were very unlucky with our neighbours who partied until 3:00 a.m. and then had drunken after parties on their balconies at 4:00 a.m. We are a young couple too but normal people with common sense know that people next door want to get some sleep at 4 in the morning. Our other neighbors were grown ups with kids who woke up every single day at 6:00 a.m. and had morning parties on their balcony. Then there were kids running up and down the stairs at 6-7 in the morning and screaming. We were really frustrated with parents who don't discipline their kids. The villa's walls were so thin that we could hear people having sex, walking in heels, talking, etc. One time I saw a man in one of the Coba pools with his baby in his hands, both of them were in the water and the man took the baby's diaper off right in water. That was disgusting.
We wouldn't return to this resort because there are so many other resorts that we want to check out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyudaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

What's left to say about this wonderful resort? This was our second visit, with three years between visits. We were wowed again. It was even better this time.

The staff is wonderful, the rooms are lovely, the grounds are stunning, the pools are beautiful, the beach is gorgeous and the food is delicious. Really, what more does one need?

The a la cartes get full, so book them early. Our reservations were so late (we were booking tables of six) that we cancelled two of them. Not a big deal for us. We likely could have chosen less popular restaurants. The buffets were so plentiful though, we weren't disappointed.

Everything in our previous review stands, so we won't repeat it here.

Some gems and standouts for us this time were the fabulous wait staff at the Cozumel buffet, the entertainment and atmosphere at the Tulum Lobby Bar (confusingly named the Akumal!) and the much quieter Akumal section of the beach.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Club Golden Room location worth it to us. (Have stayed in both 5A and 26B.)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NflderAndCaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Very nice looking place, but the often good service was countered by things like the threat of a 50 Euro charge for losing a beach towel, 3 visits and a whole day to clean your room and staff telling us to move from a table of 4 to a table of 2 in a completely empty snack bar. To make that even better, a hotel manager sat by himself at a table for 4 shortly after. Buffets were good, but the a la carte options produced some of the worst food we have ever encountered. I was excited about Le Gourmet, but after eating there I would quite honestly pay double the menu price at McDonald's over eating at Le Gourmet for free. We ordered different items for each course and all 6 were bad or worse. Dessert probably would have been bad too, but we just left to end the suffering.

It also took almost 2 hours from the airport, with traffic and stops along the way. Even on a clear run on the way home it was 1 hour and 20 minutes, so 55 minutes that they claim is more than a stretch.

All that said, really nice pools and a beach. Mostly good staff, big buffets with some good options and lots of slushy drinks to ease the pain. Just not sure why anyone would rave about this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R39411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked the Sian Kaan & moved to Coba. We didn't like the riding back and forth to the beach. The Sian Kaan was pretty and had a little more upscale, sedate look to it and we just decided that this resort was not for us.We wanted more action. This resort appears to be better for couples. We moved to the Coba with very little hassle. The Coba is definitely where the nightlife is. This resort is very centrally located to the restaurants. The ride to the beach is short and walking is not difficult. The beach is the greatest! Snorkling is fantastic. Akumal bay is a 5-10 minute cab ride for around $8.00 & is a must do to see the sea turtles. Akumal bay is always one of my highlights of Mexico. We went to Playa Del Carmen via public bus for $3.00 one way and it was very nice. We will definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: Next time I will probably try to stay in Akumal so I can be ocean front.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

One word can describe our experience at the Coba - Excellent. We understand now why people fall in love with Mexico. We just came back from the Gran Bahia Principe Coba and it has been added to our 'to-do' list. This was our first trip to Mexico and our first experience at an all-inclusive. It was wonderful. The resort is beautiful. It is clean, well-maintained, and well organized. The staff are friendly, helpful and always have smiles on their faces for you. The staff work extremely hard to ensure that your stay is a comfortable one. The food is excellent at both the buffets and the al a cartes. I would recommend this resort to all. We did not have one negative experience. You should be at the beach by 8am to ensure you get a beach lounger and a tiki hut for shade. The excusions I recommend are the Coba Mayan Outback and Xel-Ha. Don't spare the expense to pay for excursions, they are well worth it. Tulum is also extremely interesting. Take the tours!!! Xel-Ha will need no less than 7 hours. We were there for 7 hours and we ran out of time, so get there when they open. As far as the resort, it is great! There is always something to do. It is safe and secure! You will love it and will never be bored. We will be Back!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lobbies are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Letkemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews