We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,918)
Filter reviews
14,918 results
Traveller rating
8,146
4,231
1,571
550
420
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,146
4,231
1,571
550
420
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier lobby cozumel buffet le gourmet a la cartes fish golden lobby playa del carmen snack bar quiet pool kids water park akumal beach main buffet michael jackson show show table other resorts great resort activity pool
Filter
Updating list...
5,979 - 5,984 of 14,918 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Vacationed at this resort dec 11 to dec 18..

Good:

- food was good... Variety at the buffets was sufficient
- rooms were clean
- mini bar well stocked daily
- clean towels daily and room cleaned daily
-special coffees in the lobby coba
-coba and akumal beach very nice
-could explore many different types of fish by walking in the water
-beach well taken care of
- pools maintained

Bad

- service was not great... I have stayed at several resorts throughout Mexico and this resort was by far the worse service... Waiters and waitresses were not helpful... Rarely assisted with seating... Were not attentive with coffee or water... Overall we're not friendly
- waitresses in the lobby bar would take your orders but rarely return with your drink.... Most times would order but then have to go to the bar yourself....
- staff at the pools were instructed to remove towels from chairs and then tell guests to go to main lobby to have them returned... 42 guests had towels taken and were then told that they would have to pay 20 for each of them... This is very disturbing for a five star resort to attempt to make more money off the paying guests...
- although minibar replenished daily... Staff did not replenish coffee..
- trolleys rarely went to the locations indicated on the carts.. Always had to ask to confirm..
- not enough bartenders at pool or beach bars

Although the overall cleanliness and beauty of the resort were great I would likely not stay at this resort again... Feel that the overall atmosphere of this resort is not typical of most Mexican resorts that I have stayed...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Connie,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your opinion about your stay with us. It is delightful that you enjoyed our facilities.

We would like to comment you that we have sent your comments to the head of the involved departments to review your suggestions.

We are sorry regarding the comment about the towels, but it is important to remark that our staff does not have any direction to remove towels. Nevertheless the towels are responsibility of the guest since it is stated in the registration form if one of them is lost it will have a charge.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This resort is on the larger scale of resorts we have visited along the Mayan Rivera. As mentioned in other reviews there is a trolley that will take you from one lobby to another. They do run on schedule, sometimes there may be a wait so be prepared to walk.

The resort is well maintained and managed for it's size. We stayed in the Coba/Premier section and ate at the Kukulan buffet for breakfast and most dinners. (We made a point of being seated in Jesus's section, we looked forward to chatting with him)

The Rivera buffet in the Akumal lobby too noisy and very busy and only ate there once. Most a la Carte resaurants were booked for dinners at a suitable time frame (we tried to reserve the first morning of our stay), we did managed to eat at the Japanese Mikado restaurant and enjoyed the food. (Alberto, our server was wonderful) The Mediterrananeo was so so. Snack bars offered great food and were convenient located at the pool areas.

Accomodations ~ The rooms were clean and mini bar stocked daily. Danny, our housekeeper did a wonderful job each and every day.

Beach/Pool ~ We found the beach area too crowded and lack sufficient amount of chairs. Signs are posted at the beach and pool reminding guests not to reserve chairs and that the towels would be removed and a $15.00/towel applied. Still the towel game was in play, daily. The pool areas (there are two on the Coba side) were too small and again lacked sufficient chairs.

We travelled with our two children ages 12 & 15.

Room Tip: Our room was far away from the Coba beach, if I had to suggest a better room it would probably cost more to stay in building 40,50 or 60's closer to the beach. The Tulum section of the resort appears to have it's own beach front, we never took the trolley over there.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneinBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Joan,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your experience. It is a pleasure to know the opinion of our guests.

We are happy that you enjoyed our great facilities and the friendliness of our staff. We will send them your greetings.

Your comments and suggestions have been reviewed with the head of the department to take actions where is necessary.


We would like to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Went to chill out there and found what I was looking for! we were 3, my wife, my 3 yrs old son and 8. i had nothing to worry of except ordering food and drinks. All very well organized and clean. We spent most of the time at the cobá beach, plenty of entertainment, very clean and taken care of (operatives were cleaning up the spot at least once a day) and plenty of different activities to do for then3 of us. No concerns whatsoever. The only downside is the size of this resort and perhaps food and beverages quality in some of the beach chiringuitos and 24 hrs snack bar was questionnable. Highly recommended for family with small kids but i also pictured myself there with my firiends.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gardimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Gardimel,

Thank you for the review about your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is delightful that you could enjoy all the facilities we have here.

Our main goal is to satisfy our guests. Therefore we are glad we fulfilled your expectations.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have been traveling for years in all-inclusive resorts on the Mayan Riviera, Barcelo Maya Beach, Riu Tequila, Valentin Imperial Maya, Catalonia Yucatan and Catalonia Royal Tulum.

The GBP Coba simply just has the best value. The food is excellent. The Arlequin and Don Pablo A la carte restaurants were are favorites. The service is friendly and adequate and sometimes even great.

The beach isn't the greatest but the immense space allows for everyone to have a chair and even a palapa. No need to get up at 6am to reserve beach chairs.

The lows: The humidity in rooms. It gets really uncomfortable. You feel like your camping, the bed pillows always seem damp and clothing never seems to dry! The house wine in buffets is terrible, but the red wine in A la Cartes is quite ok.

Would return absolutely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stef_montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear trip advisor user.

First we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.We are very happy we could give you a great experience.

We are glad you found here what you were looking for. It is an honor knowing we fulfilled your expectations and you enjoyed our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kindest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Let me start off by saying that this review is from the standpoint of a couple in their their early 20s (21 and 23 years old). We also chose the Club Golden package.

We booked this resort in April, 2013 for December 15 to 22, 2013 after we visited Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, Dominican Republic and multiple people were raving about Grand Bahia Pricipe Coba. We loved the service and the employees in La Romana and we truly fell in love with this chain.

In general, we enjoyed our experience at this resort. As two people who are quite athletic, we really enjoyed the gigantic size of this resort. We enjoyed the ability to walk around (except 1/2 of the vacation when there was torrential downpour). Yes, the resort is very large, but with it raining for 1/2 our stay, we always had something to do with all the activites going on everywhere. If you aren't much of a walker, there are trollies which can drive you around the resort (they are quite helpful, but do not always trust the signs about where they are going because they dont always match where the driver is actually driving to - always double check with the driver).

The "jungle-like" nature atmosphere was gorgeous and very well maintained. Also, their cultural theme based off the ruins was a very nice touch which added to the overall beauty of the resort scenery.

For us, the beach was perfection. The water was transparent crystal blue and it was truly gorgeous. There was an inlet on the beach which had a school of over 100 fish which would swim around you (please do not feed them - they may bite you and there are signs around saying not to feed them as it really is a safety risk). At that same inlet, you can also find pelicans early in the morning. The sand was very soft and the beach had a few rocky points (bring water shoes to be safe). The Alukumal/Coba beach were the best of the beaches in our opinion.

As for the coati, they are truly the cutest little creatures there. Like many tourists, we fell in love with their pure and utter cuteness and friendliness to humans. If you feed them, DO NOT feed them bread as it damages their health - feed them fruits/berries.

In reference to the pools, there were plenty of them. Very pretty pools ranging in sizes, but we honestly only spent 3 hours in them our entire stay at the resort so we can't really give a evaluation of them.

The alcholic drinks were quite tasty. The various types of taquila located in each lobby are definetly worth trying (our favorite was the strawberry flavored one). The margaritas and daiquiris were fantastic!

With the buffets, they all generally had the same items, but the selection varied with the actual size of the buffet. Conzumel in the Premier Lobby was small - if you want a quick breakfast/lunch/dinner - this is the place to go. For those who are not rushing, Coba and Tulum have a great variety of breakfast/lunch/dinner (we perfered Coba for lunch and Tulum for dinner) - each have a huge variety of foods. The food is quite "Americanized". The cappuccinos are amazing and the best which I have ever had - same with the mimosas. The rice, cheese, hash browns, french toast/waffles, and ice cream were quite delicious.

We had 3 ala carte restaurants: 2 of them made us sick (Portofino/Italian - the lasagna and a pastry based soup and Le Gormet/French - the vegetable dish). We ended up going to buffet after our stomaches settled. The 3rd restaurant (Grand Tortuga/Brazilian) was AMAZING. It was a steakhouse and the meat was amazing as was the service. Even for someone who per say does not like somewhat rare meat, it was truly very tasty! The champagne was quite dry, but very good.

The service at the buffets/restaurant was fine. Nothing amazing and nothing terrible, just fine.

In our opinion, the entertainers truly do not receive enough credit. They are all truly amazing and they try very hard to make everything as enjoyable as possible for everything. They were some of the nicest and down to earth people we met at the resort and after talking to them one thing was clear: they do what they do because they love entertaining. Appreciate their efforts!

As for the Dolphinarium, it is located in Tulum and a very nice touch to the resort. There are free dolphin shows at 11:30am. The shows are quite cute and all the people who work there are VERY knowledgable. The only downfall is that it is hard to deny that the area where these 5 dolphins live is quite small. Swimming with the dolphins is worth it the money, but the pictures are severely overpriced!

The Hacienda (it is located right by Tulum) had a nice selection of shops. We got a bargain on souvenirs!!

As for excusions outside of resort, for those who appreciate history and breathtaking views, do not hesistate to book the Tulum Ruins! They are a piece of history worth seeing and the scenery truly does take your breath away!

Now as for the few situations which weren't so much a damper on our vacation, but were annoyances:

A) When we arrived, both our shower and our sink water was yellow (nearly the color of urine). We were told that that was due to rusted pipes and we had no choice but to shower in it when we got in because we had a 12 hour travel day between car, airplane, and bus transportation. We complained once and it didnt do anything. We had to nag our Apple rep to get us a new room because we felt that showering in water resulting from rusted pipes was a sanitary concern. We got a room by our 3rd day there.

B) So, we got switched to a new room and the water was no longer yellow (yay!) but then we had a new issue: the jacuzzi. Let me be honest when I say that one of the primary reasons why we booked the Club Goden package was to have a jacuzzi. Needless to say, we had a issue with all the pressure pumps in the jacuzzi and they did not work at all. We complained multiple times and we got a technician to come out after our 3rd complaint. He said he would come back the next day and never did; then, a employee at the premier loby said that i would be fixed by the night of the next day when the technician was supposed to come and well, he never came and we were tired of wasting our time complaining and waiting around for a technician to fix our jacuzzi - it never got fixed.

C) Musty smell. Let me just say that it is not my first time to this area in Riviera Maya and I never heard the excuse of, "There is a musty smell because of the weather." In all the times that I have been to this area, I never had an issue with musty smell and I have been as close as 20 minutes from this resort at a different resort!

In our opinion, we should not have to deal with the hassle of nonstop complaining about issues with the bathroom - it wastes our time and energy on room gibberish instead of enjoying the vacation.

D) The outdoor snackbars and pool/beach bars gave us a bit if a sanitation concern. We were not very high on the reuse of plastic cups (glasswear is a different story, and with the cups being plastic we could sometimes still taste the soap in them). The soda machines by the out pool/beach bars were surrounded by wasps and as someone who is allergic to them, I had to make my boyfriend get me drinks.

E) We seemed to have experienced a bug issue. We got bit by bugs which left nasty big itchy marks. We noticed that we woke up with them each morning, so we are not sure if it was something in the room or mosquitos getting through the vents (depends on your opinion) - BRING INSECT REPELANT.

Overall, yes, we would come back and recommend this resort to others. We got a steal on this resort when we booked it in April and we truly recieved more than we anticipated considering how much we payed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the Premier Lobby - of the Coba villas, they are the closest to the beach
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Allana,

First of all we would like to let you know that we really appreciate that you decide to visit Gran Bahia Principe Coba. It is kind of you to take part of your valuable time to share your opinion.

We are delighted that you have spent your holidays with us and that you enjoyed your visit at our facility. It is an honor to know that we could fulfill your expectations.

Regarding your siggestions, we inform you that your comments have been reviewed by the manager of the department to take actions where is necessary.

Best Regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews