We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$272
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$330
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Morena(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Itour Akumal Villa Las Tortugas(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$412
US$335
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14,680)
Filter reviews
14,680 results
Traveller rating
8,034
4,169
1,541
535
401
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,034
4,169
1,541
535
401
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier lobbycozumel buffetle gourmeta la cartesfishgolden lobbyplaya del carmensnack barquiet poolkids water parkakumal beachshow tablemichael jackson showmain buffetother resortsgreat resortactivity pool
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 14,680 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Coba. Overall we had a great trip, despite the budget motel style rooms. We're currently on our second room, as our first did not have working air conditioning and the fan was way too loud to use while sleeping. Our sink also literally fell from the counter top and was not functional. I had to fix it as maintenance never showed. Our new room ALSO had no working AC, and the shower does not drain. The photo is four hours post-shower, with no water drained. We've called and stopped by the front desk and even talked to a manager and no one has fixed the issue. I have heard from staff and other guests that the AC doesn't work in most buildings. Bahia Principe should be ashamed of the condition of the rooms.

To end in a positive note: staff has been incredibly kind. Food at the a la cart places is very good (I recommend Mashua, and the pools and free drinks are fantastic.

Overall, there are some nice amenities, but I DO NOT RECOMMEND this resort due to the significant and ongoing issues we had with multiple rooms and buildings.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SSS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 December 2017

Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are thrilled to read you love the personal attention of our staff and the variety of food and drinks our hotel offers.

We are sorry for your room issues and disappointment with some services we offer, that certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

Some of the problems you have mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken corrective actions in order to meet our values again. Furthermore we would like to express our appreciation for your concerns which have been discussed with our Management.

We hope you give us a second chance to restore your confidence in our resort, it would be wonderful to host you again.

Kind regards!

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Great Vacation!

Myself and 2 of my friends travelled to the Grand Bahia Principe Coba for a week in November from Toronto. This review will be detailed so hopefully it’ll cover off all of your questions!

Flights/Check In:
We booked through Air Canada Vacations and booked a Premier room. It was a short flight from Toronto to Cancun but beware, it was about a 1.5 hour drive from the airport to the resort. They sell beer at the airport but you're better off buying on your bus/transfer for half the price. We had our own lobby for Premier and check in was easy. Because we were Premier, they waived off the $5/day fee for the safety deposit box in your room (I’ve heard there is a charge but worth it if you want to keep your stuff safe). Note: upon arrival in Cancun, you will be handed an departure immigration card. You will need this in order to leave the country to come back home, otherwise it’s a $35 USD fee to purchase another one. Keep this in your passport in your safety box as soon as you arrive so you don’t have to worry about it when you leave! Our room was in Villa 22 which was minutes away from both the Premiere and Main Coba Lobby and next to a pool and 24 hour snack bar which was great.

Resort:
The resort is massive. They give you a map upon check in but best to explore your first day to figure out where you want to spend the rest of your week. We had access to all the restaurants and amenities in Coba and in Tulum (which is another hotel, there are 4 on this property). There are mini train cars that pick you up at the lobby that run frequently (usually 5-10 min at most) that will take you around to the other lobby’s/hotels/beaches; they have signs telling you where they’re going but it’s best to just ask as sometimes the signs are incorrect. The grounds are kept immaculate and there are lots of wildlife on the resort. The rooms were kept clean and fridges were stocked with 1L bottles of water, pop and beer everyday. Note: the walls are very thin so bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper like me. The staff were very friendly and work very hard to keep a smile on your face and keep the resort clean.

Weather:
We were there at the end of November and it was hot during the day, but bring a sweater and jeans for night time. It’s their winter and we did not pack appropriately; it gets a bit chilly at night so just be prepared.

Food/Drink:
There was no shortage of food whatsoever. We were told the a la cartes were hard to book; we simply downloaded the app and were able to book through there – we were allowed 3 for the week. We did the Mexican (delicious), the Gourmet (also good) and the Japanese Teppenyaki (which is the cooking show) and was fun! Make sure you book the Teppenayaki if you want the show otherwise you’ll end up just in the restaurant ordering off the menu (a la carte).

We found the breakfast buffet at the Coba Premier was very good – they had an omelette station, fresh fruits, pastries, and these hash browns that tasted like they were from McDonalds. Yum.

We found the buffet at Tulum was better than the one at Coba. They had so much variety – there was something for everyone. They have a kiddie corner for the little ones, always a Mexican corner, pasta bar, salad bar, meat station, dessert station – anyone that complained here about the food is wrong. I’m a super picky eater but found myself eating more than I usually do because it was so good. And their bread, was soooo fresh and delicious every day!

The 24 hour snack bars had everything from burgers, fries, salsa + guac (everywhere), pasta, soft-serve ice cream which was great during the day to cool you down!

Drinks were plentiful and they had the ‘good brands’ if you asked for them. I stuck with Margaritas until mid way through, I discovered the Mango Margarita and basically need a detox now that I’m back! Cappucino’s in the AM were key for me and sometimes with a shot of Bailey’s if I was feeling like it – which…who am I kidding, I always felt like it because I was on vacation!

Beach/Pools:
To be honest, I didn’t hang out much near/in the pool because I can do that anywhere. The pools at Coba were nice and more chill, vs. the pool at Tulum had more activities with the animacion team doing sports/games etc… both had very large pools with swim up bars if that’s what you’re looking for. The beach was nice, we discovered a secret,quiet spot minutes away from the Tulum main pool. It was a single hut overlooking the ocean which was our favourite. Snagging a pool chair or a spot with shade was a bit difficult as people do save their seats with towels and do so very early! We didn’t start our days until about 11am and had no issues with finding empty chairs here and there and dragging them to our own spot.

Nightlife:
There was live music in the Premier Coba lobby every night which nice to have a drink or 2 before heading out to dinner. The Main Coba Lobby had more activities and an outdoor bar. The Tulum main lobby was the liveliest and had lots of action and people. We managed to only see 1 show at night which was the Michael Jackson show and that did not disappoint. They also have a Hacienda which is in the middle of the resort. People from all 4 properties would come there and that’s where they have a sports bar, they do Karaoke, live music, there are markets if you want to buy any souveniers (you can bargain here) and the disco. Everything shuts down at about 11:30pm and that’s when the disco opens. They played everything from top 40 to reggaeton to salsa music which was fun.

Excursions:
We really wanted to do a ruins or cenotes tour but ended up going in Playa Del Carmen one day to shop and eat some local food. We also did a speed boat tour at Playa Maroma (which is a beautiful beach) and that was a lot of fun!

All in all, I think this was a great trip. We were 3 friends and looking to have fun; we probably would have preferred to stay at the Tulum resort as this was more lively and had a bit of a younger vibe. Coba was more for families with children but we were only a train car ride away and it didn’t take more than 7 min to get to the other resorts. I would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank keys416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2017

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for trusting the Gran Bahia Principe Coba Resort and choosing us to enjoy your holidays. We really appreciate that you are taking the time to share us some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort. It is for guests like you who send us some nice, inspiring words after their holiday, that our personal finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work and we hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future.

We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable.

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

The size of this resort allows for a variety of different activities and entertainments. Every employee worked diligently to provide excellent service. The buffet restaurants and specialty restaurants were top notch. All of the pool and beach programs were excellent. Kudos to all the managers (Sabrina, Irina, Emmanual, Morgan) employees, Mariachi Band (fantastic) our room attendant (Juan), spa employees (Jaquelin, Dalia, Gaudilupe), bar employees, Zumba and dance instructors. We will return next year because this was our best Mexican vacation. Viva Mexico!

Room Tip: A big complex with many available activities and different types of entertainment.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire Grand Bahia Principe Coba team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your review regarding your excellent experience at our hotel .

We are very happy that you and your family members enjoyed your first visit to the resort. It is a pleasure to read that all your expectations have been exceeded.

We would like to express our appreciation for your comments and for mentioning our staff. It was honor for our entire team to be at your service

We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Without a doubt this place is our second home. Been here 15th times in the Bahia. We were here November 16th for two weeks and hopefully back in January and March.

As repeat guests, upon arrival we were warmly greeted right away with nice drinks from the bar and by Angela Aldama and Roy Escarcega (Guest Services Manager) with a warm welcomed.

Our room was nicely decorated with a welcoming card and a nice gift bag from the management and staff. Everything here is exceptional from our maids to the management.

We finally met the new Subdirector, Eduardo Sousa, who is very pleasant, outgoing, gregarious person with good communication skills. He is loved by everyone from his staff to all his guests, including us.

Our morning and lunch routine was going to Premiere Restaurant to eat and to see our favorite people, namely, Andres Jimenez, Karina, Romeo, Sandra, Jorge, Lourdes, Ana, our chef and the other Andres. They are all exceptional and amazing people. We never have to repeat ourselves what we want, they know what we like and want. Now... that is service. Awesome job guys!!

And at night we hang around the Premiere bar to do some dancing as part of our evening routine especially after eating in buffet... we need to lose those pounds. This place is so nice, very classy place to meet friends, especially if you have these wonderful ladies who serves our drinks, lattes, cappuccino, etc. Thank you to these deserving ladies, Ofelia Lopez, Florentina, and Ana. You ladies rock!!! Also includes the ladies in Kukulcan Restaurant, Landy, Norma and Arianne.

Again and again, the staff exceeded all our expectations to make our holiday a wonderful and awesome experience. Bahia are very fortunate to employ such hardworking, dedicated and happy staff.

Lastly, we also wanted to express and give our appreciation to the band, David, Omar, Shaggy, Josue, Angie, Freeman, Paulina and especially to our dearest friend Tony. Tony had been there for the longest time and we really would like to see him back. They do such a great job of entertaining people like us.

Never a dull moment for us that is why we are coming back again and again. See you soon!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DLOdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 December 2017

Dear repeat Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for choosing our hotel once again for your vacations.

It is an honor for us to host you for the 15th time and to know that you feel at home here. Our aim is to get the maximum satisfaction of all our guests, even more when it comes to our frequent ones.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and the service by al our staff that was provided during your stay. Your evaluation is of special importance and please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team.


We will be more than excited to welcome you many times more at our Bahia family♥ !

Kind Regards from Mexico,

Antonio Endres
Onlie Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Returned 3 weeks ago from this fabulous hotel..this huge resort which consists of 4 hotels 2 Premium and 2 five star...the Coba is 5*...beautiful gardens and surroundings...fab jacuzzi areas dotted around the grounds...several beautiful pools ...our room was brilliant large and immaculate..bathroom also exceptionaly clean and big. Beds very comfy.Fridge filled up every day with cokes fantas and beers.
Several Al a carte restaurants...the French and Mexican our favourites...the normal buffet restaurants are a little chaotic at busy times...service a bit erratic but the waiters had a hard job to do...probably needed a few more staff.
Large lobby area which is cool and has free wifi.
Golf buggies run all the time to take you around the resort. Beach is wonderful...real Carribean beach..
All in all this place is amazing. Go see.:)
Places to visit:-
COCO BONGO...an absolute must and im cracking on a bit :)
TURTLE BEACH....Use the taxis the hotel call for you, much cheaper than the TUI trips.
XELHA...Bloomin amazing..book the dolphin swim here..
XPLOR...Fantastic zip wires caves etc
CHICHA NITZA..the Mayan ruins .FAB...
We will be back Mexico :)

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank fytchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 December 2017

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for trusting the Grand Bahia Principe Coba and choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you mentioned the areas that you enjoyed such as the jacuzzi areas, rooms and our a la carte restaurants. We are always striving to provide our guests with the highest quality service so that they could stay absolutely content with their vacations at our hotel.

We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable.

Best Regards.

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews