We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot with a great menu”
Review of The Grocer at 5

The Grocer at 5
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The Grocer at 5 is an artisan cafe serving great coffee, freshly prepared salads & sandwiches and mouthwatering cakes with friendly service and a relaxed informal atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Description: The Grocer at 5 is an artisan cafe serving great coffee, freshly prepared salads & sandwiches and mouthwatering cakes with friendly service and a relaxed informal atmosphere.
Reviewed 23 January 2018

The Grocer is a new addition in a highly competitive high street with many coffee shops and little boutique restaurants. Not only was it busy when it first opened, but continues to be packed and have a great atmosphere 6 months on.

The coffee is great, the fresh cakes that come daily are all good (I've tried them all!) and the menu is comprehensive without being overbearing that features lots of healthy (but tasty) options.

The free wifi is a bonus, staff are friendly, service relatively quick and just a really nice place to meet a few friends for coffee or lunch - highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sona U, General Manager at The Grocer at 5, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hi Adam!

Many thanks for taking time to review your experience at the Grocer!

So pleased to hear you love what we do and continue to support us month after opening, it is so rewarding to ready how much you like our product and how you feel when visiting our coffee shop.


Thank you for your loyalty and hope to see you soon!

Regards

Manager and team at no 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

A fabulous cafe which have the most scrumptious cakes on offer.
Unique flavours and even gluten free options. Orange blossom (gf), pistachio (gf), salted caramel & sticky toffee are my favourites!
The salad platter is a nice lunch option where you get to choose 6 from 8 varieties ...very filling. All freshly made.
Coffee beans used here are very strong hence the smaller cup sizes.
A definite must visit in this small town.

Thank AnomalousLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sona U, General Manager at The Grocer at 5, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear guest,

many thanks for such a lovely feedback! We are so pleased you love our yummy cakes and salad offer and tried most of them yourself.

We are very proud of serving such a premium products including amazingly tasty coffee too!
We believe in quality and we never settle for less...
We value our customers dearly ...
and....
We believe our offer says it all !

Thank you for your support,

hope to see you back soon!

Regards

Manager and team at 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The coffee and cake are both of an excellent quality, however the coffee is a smaller size than the average yet priced the same. The Pistachio cake is to die for as are the others which my wife has tried on a number of occasions. In summary everything is great quality but the coffees are too small and cake too expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sona U, General Manager at The Grocer at 5, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Robin,

many thanks for taking time to review The Grocer at 5,

It's great to see you find our cake and coffee excellent quality...we couldn't ask for more!
It is important to build successful business on quality and it is so rewarding to see we managed to achieve this within our little group of three Grocer shops.
Everyone likes their coffee in certain way- extra hot, extra strong/weak, large/small , decaf, dry or extra frothy ...
As a successful coffee shop I believe we can please nearly every guest coming through our door every day, however we have a standards we have set many years back and they proven to work for us and for which we are recognised as a successful operation;) ... hence our coffee is certain size so is it's price which we believe is relevant for it's quality.

We really hope you will stay loyal to us and we get to greet you at the Grocer's most days I a week!

Kind regards

Manager and team at 5!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

My son came across the Grocer by researching, he is always searching for good quality serving food venues. After having tried the food and given his approval himself he has recommended to family and friends. And what a good find The Grocer has turned out to be. Every dish they turn out here is full of flavour by flavour I mean one mouthful has bursts of this herb or that herb that even til the end of the portion one is left wanting more. The chefs are giving more then their all to these attentively made food. It’s always delicious, fresh and of high quality. Never disappointed in any of our many visits. Hats off to the hard working chefs and staff. Well done.

Thank missp606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sona U, General Manager at The Grocer at 5, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your kind words ! It is so rewarding to read how much you enjoy our dishes.

We want to thank you for your support and loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back very soon again.

Kind regards

Manager and team at 5!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Nice, clean and causal brunch place. Must try the pistachio olive cake.

The only place in GX whi h makes proper coffee.

Thank Arora_Josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sona U, General Manager at The Grocer at 5, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hello Josh,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at the Grocer!
Pleased to see you love our coffee we are super proud of!


See you very soon,

Kind regards

Manager and team at 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grocer at 5 also viewed

Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Chalfont St Peter, Gerrards Cross
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Grocer at 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing