We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in a relaxed setting”
Review of Jack & Alice

Jack & Alice
Certificate of Excellence
Description: "Friendly, humble & slightly nostalgic..” We are a young brand, based around the personalities of the grandparents of the founders 'Jack' and 'Alice'. We are friendly, free and easy, humble and slightly nostalgic. We care about the people we work with, the guests we serve and the suppliers we use.
Restaurant details
Description: "Friendly, humble & slightly nostalgic..” We are a young brand, based around the personalities of the grandparents of the founders 'Jack' and 'Alice'. We are friendly, free and easy, humble and slightly nostalgic. We care about the people we work with, the guests we serve and the suppliers we use.
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

The menu varies and we both chose the pulled pork and gorgonzola toastie. Great choice very fast is and good service as usual!

1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Michael,

Our team is so glad you enjoyed your visit as usual. We try very hard to make Jack & Alice a place at which to be proud to work!

Please say ‘hello’ next time you’re in.

Regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018

We've eaten in Jack & Alice a few times, and it's always good, whatever time of day. This time we just stopped by for a cheeky coffee and slice of cake mid-morning. Why would anyone go to one of the "chain" coffee shops, when you can go to Jack & Alice for fresh brewed coffee and huge slices of delicious home-made cake?! It's a really lovely restaurant (they do great food all day & in the evening too), and the staff are incredibly friendly & knowledgeable about the food they offer. Want a slice of gluten-free carrot cake? Just ask chef Gazza & he'll point you in the right direction! This is a really friendly restaurant in a nice location on the high street in Gerrards Cross. It's popular (because it's a really nice place to eat!), so you may want to reserve a table if you're going for lunch or dinner. It'll be worth it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Stu,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We try very hard to exceed expectations, so our team will be very happy to hear your comments.

You’re quite right, making a reservation is particularly recommended in the evenings, particularly on our Wednesday Burger Night or other special evenings.

Please say ‘hello’ next time you’re in, I’d love to thank you in person.

Regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Just had an casual evening in Jack & Alice with a friend and as always the food was of a good standard and generous portions

As it is Pancake Day tomorrow my friend asked for pancakes for dessert. The Bistro was serving pancakes only at lunchtime. However the chef overheard this conversation and approached us and went the extra mile and went immediately to make a plate for her with all the accompaniments ... she was extremely delighted so very well done Gary. Brilliant service!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 510rfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Our team is so glad you were able to be accommodated as we try very hard to go the extra mile to create fans like yourself!

Please say ‘hello’ next time you dine with us.

Regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Me and the other half fancied a last mi the night out on a Thursday night as both the kids were out. My hubby recommended Jack and Alice as he had visited before with friends. I was rather skeptical at first as I don’t usually visit new places. However upon arrival I instantly felt relaxed as I was greeted at the door and seated as though we were old friends. We were taken great care of by our wonderful host Jess. We even had a quick chat with the barmen who was also very friendly and warm, which I thought was rather unique for a restaurant in this area lol. Had a lovely evening with great food. All staff are a credit to the establishment.

2  Thank MargotWilliams1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Margot,

Our Jack and Alice team are so glad we helped make your evening an enjoyable one! Even better when your experience so exceeded your expectations.

We try hard to make J&A a comfortable and relaxing place you can enjoy an adult beverage with friends over some platters of shareable goodies.

I hope you say ‘hello’ next time you visit.

Regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

A lovely place for A catch up. The espresso martinis were beautiful and Reagan was an amazing waitress who made it a great experience! See you soon

2  Thank Maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Jack & Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Maria,

Thank you for your kind words, we know Regan and the team will love to hear that they made your experience such a positive one. We feel it’s important to have somewhere you can rely on to get away for a little while and be taken care of by hospitality professionals.

Please say ‘hello’ next time you stop by!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack & Alice also viewed

Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Thame, Oxfordshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Chalfont St Peter, Gerrards Cross
 

Been to Jack & Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing