We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
125
134
55
51
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
134
55
51
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub st ives oldest pub in england lunch with friends old english family meal pate ouse river saturday evening beer garden full english function room wedding reception stayed for one night comfy bed resident ghost grave
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We live locally and have a poor food before here, but after a year or so we thought we'd give it another go......big mistake.

On a sunny friday afternoon in nice surroundings i was hoping for a well deserved drink and meal. Apparently you're not allowed a 'tab' if you sit outside - this suggests to me that they don;t trust you. So, after having had to pay for drinks and then come back and buy food we waited for quite a while for a simple starter - rocket & olives on garlic bread. But I could i have knocked nails in with it. Oh well, it must only get better........we moved inside and informed a waiter. I saw him pass after an hour with a couple of meals to where we had been sitting, but pass by again without stopping. after another wait he came back with the wrong meal (missing peas) and went off to get some. The kofta kebab with cous cous was appalling - dry and tasteless. Never going back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank theboystuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Thank you for your constructive comments which are much appreciated, we will look at the quality of the food and service at the Old Ferry Boat to ensure your points are checked and rectified we are sorry your visit was not good on this occaision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Firstly,you must appreciate that the 'Old Ferry Boat' is not a hotel but a pub with just seven rooms. Taking this into consideration on arrival my wife & I loved the location, right beside the river. Sarah, the assistant manager was most welcoming and made us feel at home from the start. Ian the manager was very friendly and professional and Fran' the breakfast waitress could not do enough for the residents. All in all we found Ian and his staff very friendly,pleasant,helpful & chatty. The breakfast like all 'Old English Inns' was great, with as much coffee & toast as you wished. Again the evening meals were typical 'pub grub' well cooked & presented. So much so we decided to eat 'in' each night. Yes, the inn does need a touch of paint outside but the interior was spotless. Our room was very very small, apparently the smallest & quiet noisy, but was adequate.we have no complaint. The housekeeper (it think her name was Glynn) another charming lady, was kind enough to show us other larger rooms with conventional bathrooms which we will definately request on our next visit. I know that there are guests that expect 5 star hotel service wherever they visit, BUT the 'Old Ferry Boat' is great value for money, in a fantastic location, genuine careing staff, good english food with special 'meal deals'. What more can you ask for ? I will visit this inn again and recommend others to do so. The 'Old Ferry Boat' is a credit to Greene King & Old English Inns. Thank you JTM France

Room Tip: Ask not to have room No. 5.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jtmfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Ferry Boat or one of other Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My boyfriend and I often go to the ferryboat when we fancy a quiet drink by the river. We had dinner here a few times over winter and there never seemed to be any real problems. We usually avoid it when it's hot because we find that by the time we arrive there either isn't any food or there are parts of meals unavailable. Today was no different. We asked at the bar if they were out of anything before we looked at the menu and were greeted with a death stare as though we'd asked a stupid question. We sat outside because even though it's Easter sunday, it wasnt that busy. We ordered our food and weren't told that there'd be a long wait or that any of our food was an ingredient down. good start. 40 minutes later a waitress asked if we'd ordered cod and chips. we hadn't. 10 minutes after that a different waitress approached with another cod and chips. that wasn't ours either. 15 minutes after that a young waitress asked what we'd ordered.
"a topped sirloin medium rare and a cheese and bacon burger"
Eventually our food arrived. My medium sirloin looked suspiciously like charred rump and my boyfriends burger appeared to have come in a ciabatta bread.
"out of burger buns then?"
Yes they were.
The chef obviously has something against everyone that eats his food and the manager clearly thinks 2 waitresses is enough for a hot sunday. Maybe they would be if either of them knew any of the table numbers and knew how to contort their faces into a smile.
Maybe i'll return at christmas for a mulled wine.
Probably not though.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank disgruntleddoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This is such a pretty hotel in a beautiful location. It is in the middle of nowhere so you are restricted to staying at the hotel unless you drive elsewhere but its comfortable bars and beer garden facing the river make it a pleasure to stay put! The only negative is the room was tiny but fits in with the history of the building. Staff were more than friendly and overall a very reasonable price. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KML076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Ferry Boat or one of other Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

A lovely old inn, good food but terrible service, the first night of our 2 night stay we were forced to eat elsewhere as, having booked a table weeks in advance, we were told at 7.30pm that there was an hour & a half wait for food. ( ate at a good value pub in St Ives, excellent service ! ). The next evening, having complained about the previous night, we ordered our food at 7 for 7.30 & all was well, but my latte coffee was carried in by the waitress holding the coffee glass in her hand by the rim where I had to drink and slopping it all over the table as there was no tray or even saucer !! Sunday Breakfast we declined the full English in favour of cereal & toast, but waited so long for toast that the coffee was stone cold by the time it came & both mornings we had to request extra butter as 2 tiny pats were all that were supplied for 3 large slices of toast ! a couple at the next table never did get their toast & left muttering complaints under their breath !
Friends joined us for Sunday lunch which was good but again service very poor, we waited nealy an hour after the main for pudding, people were being told by 2pm that there was a 2 hr wait for food & the ladies toilets were then closed due to them being out of order but no alternatives were offered ! Our guests are local and eat out a lot with lots of friends & organisations and were keen to return when they saw the location, but vowed never to return after experiencing the service. A great pity that this fine 900+ year old pub will soon be a casualty of it's failure to provide enough staff, trained in basic customer service, to manage the numerous covers they have. We loved the location, our room was noisy being next to the kitchen flue, but it was really the lack of service & shoddy waitressing that will prevent us from returning again.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, . Pretty setting, rubbish service!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyncharliewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. I would like to offer my sincere apologies and we are working closer with the team to improve the standard of service.
I hope this does not hinder in future visits and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Ferry Boat or one of other Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews