We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea ”
Review of The Brasserie - CLOSED

The Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just outside of Chester in the attractive village of Beeston, The Wild Boar hotel is a popular spot for dining outside of the city. The Brasserie, with its chilled out Parisian vibe, feels entirely cosmopolitan despite its location within the walls of a Tudor-style building complete with low beams and provincial outlook. Comfortable leather banquettes and huge floral prints are joined by monochrome photography on the walls and huge windows letting light flood in to the room. With ingredients sourced entirely from British suppliers Chef Nathan Watts the menu is a classy modern take on homely favourites with an international flavour.
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Shown into the brasserie whIch looks rather tired and not actually very warm, but it was ok. We had booked the afternoon tea , it was very disappointing. Just two finger sandwiches (1 ham and 1 tuna ) so not very exciting although the bread was lovely and fresh, a plain scone (not warmed) a macaroon, a slice of Madeira cake and a biscuit

We go for afternoon tea frequently and this is the worst one. No different tea options offered , no savouries (other than the two tiny finger sandwiches.

Even worse was the radio 2 commentary Seriously this could be a lovely place , don't put the radio on, have some nice background music on.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and i stopped here on our way home from a weekend in Builth Wells. Having been spoilt to genuine fine dining this weekend we had expected to have the same experience here. Unfortunately this was not to be the case. Despite the obvious quality ingredients (especially the beef) the meal was let down by being served lukewarm and on cold plates and topped off with a gravy that was obviously from a packet.

maybe this is the reason the afternoon tea was popular.
Staff also need a little customer service training perhaps asking how was your meal rather than trying to upsell the desserts.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank greenie23468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

As a family, decided to treat ourselves to eating out for our Christmas lunch. We were recommended to try this restaurant and was not disappointed. We are arrived half an hour before our sitting, drinks and presents exchanged before shown to our table. We was not rushed and the food was excellent. Staff were very attentive and courteous. Seriously contemplating booking for next year. Thank you for making our lunch a pleasure.

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Good meals served in the brasserie at a reasonable price. Good ambience and very friendly staff. Would certainly visit again.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We enjoyed a lovely early evening meal at the restaurant. Service was quick and very friendly. Food was amazing. Looking forward to going back for the pie again was so tasty.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Aloc1n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brasserie also viewed

Little Budworth, Tarporley
Little Budworth, Tarporley
 
Little Budworth, Tarporley
Little Budworth, Tarporley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing