We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed down restaurant.”
Review of The Brasserie - CLOSED

The Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just outside of Chester in the attractive village of Beeston, The Wild Boar hotel is a popular spot for dining outside of the city. The Brasserie, with its chilled out Parisian vibe, feels entirely cosmopolitan despite its location within the walls of a Tudor-style building complete with low beams and provincial outlook. Comfortable leather banquettes and huge floral prints are joined by monochrome photography on the walls and huge windows letting light flood in to the room. With ingredients sourced entirely from British suppliers Chef Nathan Watts the menu is a classy modern take on homely favourites with an international flavour.
Reviewed 27 June 2017

This restaurant and all its associated bars, lounges and brasserie have been closed for several months now.
It is understood that the building is to become several private residences.

Date of visit: May 2017
3  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017

what a wonderful dining experience food was spectacular mitchelin standard throughout. staff very attentive. cleanliness was superb throughout, nothing was too much trouble. if you want to treat that special someone then i highly recommend here

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank maxine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here on two consecutive nights during our stay at the hotel. We were taken through from the bar and offered a choice of tables with beautiful views out of the window of the grounds which looked magnificent with the trees lit up. The food was served promptly by very friendly staff. The plates filled with mouthwatering food. The bill for the two of us came to £67 for 3 courses including a very nice bottle of white wine chilled in an ice bucket.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Shown into the brasserie whIch looks rather tired and not actually very warm, but it was ok. We had booked the afternoon tea , it was very disappointing. Just two finger sandwiches (1 ham and 1 tuna ) so not very exciting although the bread was lovely and fresh, a plain scone (not warmed) a macaroon, a slice of Madeira cake and a biscuit

We go for afternoon tea frequently and this is the worst one. No different tea options offered , no savouries (other than the two tiny finger sandwiches.

Even worse was the radio 2 commentary Seriously this could be a lovely place , don't put the radio on, have some nice background music on.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and i stopped here on our way home from a weekend in Builth Wells. Having been spoilt to genuine fine dining this weekend we had expected to have the same experience here. Unfortunately this was not to be the case. Despite the obvious quality ingredients (especially the beef) the meal was let down by being served lukewarm and on cold plates and topped off with a gravy that was obviously from a packet.

maybe this is the reason the afternoon tea was popular.
Staff also need a little customer service training perhaps asking how was your meal rather than trying to upsell the desserts.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank greenie23468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brasserie also viewed

Little Budworth, Tarporley
Little Budworth, Tarporley
 
Little Budworth, Tarporley
Little Budworth, Tarporley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing