We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peckforton Castle
Northwich, Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I have just got home from my daughters wedding at Peckforton Castle. What a marvellous experience it was! Stunning doesn't even come close, and as for the staff, how can I ever thank them enough? Nothing was too much trouble, everything ran to perfection, and the day was perfect in every way. We stayed at the castle, the bride and her bridesmaids stayed the night before the wedding too, and how well organised the place is. And as for the wedding......it surpassed all my expectations. The venue, the food, everything was incredible. Service from the staff was second to none. The wedding breakfast was a complete success with many, many empty plates!
I am one very happy Mother of the Bride, with a very happy Father of the Bride by my side, and an delighted bride and her new husband. Thank you Peckforton, a shining example of how to arrange a wedding.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for kind and complimentary comments about all aspects here at the castle, as i am sure you know weddings are a big part of our business and each one means a lot to us, its a big day for all involved and are glad you chose Peckforton Castle to host this special occasion. Congratulations to all concerned from Peckforton Castle:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    452
    231
    114
    112
See reviews for
302
1,160
10
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england/corfu
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

this is the most woderful hotel i have ever stayed in. the castle is captivating. it made us feel like this was our very own castle. our room which was up a fabulous stone staircase was beautiful. we had dinner in the restuarant and that too was wonderful. i can't wait to stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corfu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
How you felt when you stayed with us how we want everyone to feel, originally Peckforton Castle was one mans dream (Lord Tollemache) but since the Naylor family bought the castle we wanted it to be shared by all so thank you for sharing your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I got married at Peckforton in January this year. Booked from Australia, the staff were amazing and helped where ever they could in the planning and arrangements. They couldnt do enough for us. Following that awful fire in 2011, they continued to keep us updated. Sadly, the room we had originally booked was still not ready to be reopened to the public, but in the end, the day was perfect, food was amazing, the staff were wonderful and the rooms we stayed in were beautiful. I would recommend Peckforton to anyone planning a wedding. Our day was perfect. Thanks heaps guys, you are awesome!!

Room Tip: Me and my husband stayed in an executive suite for the night following our wedding. I was gutted I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Congratulations Pamela, Peckforton Castle wishes you a very happy life together, we wish we were in the sunshine of Australia with you!! Visit again soon and bring the sunshine with you please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just spent the weekend at Peckforton Castle, primarily for my partner's birthday but also to review as a future conference venue for my job. Upon arrival the venue is breathtaking. It truly is a castle (albeit a relatively modern one) and we could not quite believe we were lucky enough to stay there. We were treated to an upgraded room (Bentley) which was superb with a beautiful four poster bed and luxury bathroom. All the furnishings are tastefully done and in keeping with the grandeur of the castle itself. We had a tour of the whole hotel and remained in awe of the detail in the rooms, the decor and the whole atmosphere of the place. We ate in the 1851 restaurant on the Saturday night and it has to rate as one of the best food experiences/excellent service/atmosphere we have enjoyed in recent times. Definitely first class.

I also treated my partner to the falconry 'experience' which again was excellent. The guide was extremely knowledgable which added to the thrill of seeing/handling these magnificent birds up close and although tinged slightly with the sad thought of these birds being captive as opposed to 'free', it was explained to us that they are bred in captivity and not taken from the wild. It was also evident that the birds are very well cared for by these guys who truly cherish working with them.

During our stay there was a wedding party on both days. Understandably this is the perfect wedding venue and must attract a lot of customers this way. Unfortunately, the only down-side we experienced during the weekend was the mass onslaught of wedding guests at breakfast each morning resulting in excessive noise, unruly kids, food running out and actually being 'shoved' out of the way by one guest! My suggestion to the hotel would be to provide a quiet, separate area for non-wedding party guests so that they can enjoy their stay in peace rather than be pushed aside by the masses. (We also experienced very drunken and noisy wedding party guests in the room above us so failed to get much sleep- but this is obviously not the fault of the hotel)!!

Overall we would highly rate Peckforton Castle. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, if a little overworked at breakfast and lunch in the Brasserie. The thoughtful birthday cake left in our room for my partner really was a special touch and greatly appreciated. We would love to go back, and would recommend to others, but perhaps only if breakfast were a more relaxed and pleasant experience........

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Julie your comments are appreciated and the relevant teams have been made aware so thank you, your comment regarding the breakfast space WAS a problem due to the arson attack, pre fire and consequently now after all of our bedrooms have been returned it is again not an issue as the 2010 Brasserie services our leisure bedrooms. Happy belated birthday for your partner and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

we've just come back from a 2 night stay at Peckforton and I have to say that it ticked all our boxes, We wanted to get away from the ratrace and chill for a few days. I had a lovely time. We were upgraded to the Malpas room which I have to say was fantastic, huge 4 poster bed. Bathroom was lovely too,was a little on the chilly side and it was a running joke between me and my partner about having to 'dress up warm' before going in, but on the whole it really wasn't an issue. The only thing I did notice was that our room was near to a staff entrance only door and it was a little noisy in the morning with the door opening and closing and staff talking, its amazing what you can hear through a big wooden door!! again It didn't really bother us though. We only ate at the Braserie and not in the 1851 restaurant, food was nice, breakfast was yummy, plenty of options and cooked to perfection.
The staff are also very friendly and accommodating and are also it appears very hard working, especially 'mark' who always seemed to be working in the brasserie!
The surrounding area at Peckforton is also stunning and very peaceful.

On the whole I loved it and we even talked about getting married there one day!!! We hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you of comments Sarah, we are glad you enjoyed your break away from the hussle and bustle of life, we look forward to hearing from you when you plan to marry:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
12.8 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
12.2 km away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.8 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
14.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
15.9 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Property: Peckforton Castle
Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tarporley
Price range (per night): $238 - $386
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing