We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peckforton Castle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,337)
Filter reviews
2,337 results
Traveller rating
1,264
528
280
143
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,264
528
280
143
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarbirds of preyland rover experiencetranquility spaafternoon tearoll top bathoff roadsecret escapesthe wow factorwedding venuewedding guestsfour postermain restaurantbeautiful venueclassic rooma la carte menuwedding breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,011 - 2,016 of 2,337 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

this is the most woderful hotel i have ever stayed in. the castle is captivating. it made us feel like this was our very own castle. our room which was up a fabulous stone staircase was beautiful. we had dinner in the restuarant and that too was wonderful. i can't wait to stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corfu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

How you felt when you stayed with us how we want everyone to feel, originally Peckforton Castle was one mans dream (Lord Tollemache) but since the Naylor family bought the castle we wanted it to be shared by all so thank you for sharing your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I got married at Peckforton in January this year. Booked from Australia, the staff were amazing and helped where ever they could in the planning and arrangements. They couldnt do enough for us. Following that awful fire in 2011, they continued to keep us updated. Sadly, the room we had originally booked was still not ready to be reopened to the public, but in the end, the day was perfect, food was amazing, the staff were wonderful and the rooms we stayed in were beautiful. I would recommend Peckforton to anyone planning a wedding. Our day was perfect. Thanks heaps guys, you are awesome!!

Room Tip: Me and my husband stayed in an executive suite for the night following our wedding. I was gutted I didnt book an extra night as it was beautiful!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Congratulations Pamela, Peckforton Castle wishes you a very happy life together, we wish we were in the sunshine of Australia with you!! Visit again soon and bring the sunshine with you please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just spent the weekend at Peckforton Castle, primarily for my partner's birthday but also to review as a future conference venue for my job. Upon arrival the venue is breathtaking. It truly is a castle (albeit a relatively modern one) and we could not quite believe we were lucky enough to stay there. We were treated to an upgraded room (Bentley) which was superb with a beautiful four poster bed and luxury bathroom. All the furnishings are tastefully done and in keeping with the grandeur of the castle itself. We had a tour of the whole hotel and remained in awe of the detail in the rooms, the decor and the whole atmosphere of the place. We ate in the 1851 restaurant on the Saturday night and it has to rate as one of the best food experiences/excellent service/atmosphere we have enjoyed in recent times. Definitely first class.

I also treated my partner to the falconry 'experience' which again was excellent. The guide was extremely knowledgable which added to the thrill of seeing/handling these magnificent birds up close and although tinged slightly with the sad thought of these birds being captive as opposed to 'free', it was explained to us that they are bred in captivity and not taken from the wild. It was also evident that the birds are very well cared for by these guys who truly cherish working with them.

During our stay there was a wedding party on both days. Understandably this is the perfect wedding venue and must attract a lot of customers this way. Unfortunately, the only down-side we experienced during the weekend was the mass onslaught of wedding guests at breakfast each morning resulting in excessive noise, unruly kids, food running out and actually being 'shoved' out of the way by one guest! My suggestion to the hotel would be to provide a quiet, separate area for non-wedding party guests so that they can enjoy their stay in peace rather than be pushed aside by the masses. (We also experienced very drunken and noisy wedding party guests in the room above us so failed to get much sleep- but this is obviously not the fault of the hotel)!!

Overall we would highly rate Peckforton Castle. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, if a little overworked at breakfast and lunch in the Brasserie. The thoughtful birthday cake left in our room for my partner really was a special touch and greatly appreciated. We would love to go back, and would recommend to others, but perhaps only if breakfast were a more relaxed and pleasant experience........

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Julie your comments are appreciated and the relevant teams have been made aware so thank you, your comment regarding the breakfast space WAS a problem due to the arson attack, pre fire and consequently now after all of our bedrooms have been returned it is again not an issue as the 2010 Brasserie services our leisure bedrooms. Happy belated birthday for your partner and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

we've just come back from a 2 night stay at Peckforton and I have to say that it ticked all our boxes, We wanted to get away from the ratrace and chill for a few days. I had a lovely time. We were upgraded to the Malpas room which I have to say was fantastic, huge 4 poster bed. Bathroom was lovely too,was a little on the chilly side and it was a running joke between me and my partner about having to 'dress up warm' before going in, but on the whole it really wasn't an issue. The only thing I did notice was that our room was near to a staff entrance only door and it was a little noisy in the morning with the door opening and closing and staff talking, its amazing what you can hear through a big wooden door!! again It didn't really bother us though. We only ate at the Braserie and not in the 1851 restaurant, food was nice, breakfast was yummy, plenty of options and cooked to perfection.
The staff are also very friendly and accommodating and are also it appears very hard working, especially 'mark' who always seemed to be working in the brasserie!
The surrounding area at Peckforton is also stunning and very peaceful.

On the whole I loved it and we even talked about getting married there one day!!! We hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you of comments Sarah, we are glad you enjoyed your break away from the hussle and bustle of life, we look forward to hearing from you when you plan to marry:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We got married at Peckforton Castle in December 2011 and despite the fire earlier in the year the castle looked stunning. In fact, to look at it now you would never believe that it had happened. Peckforton castle is a fabulous venue to get married in.
The staff are excellent, they supported us throughout the whole of 2011, constantly keeping us up to date with their progress after the fire and their work to resume normal service, their support in showing us around when we visited with family and friends (they must have been sick of the site of us!) and I can’t thank them enough for they way they looked after my nana who is a wheel chair, my nana is not very easy to please and even she was over whelmed with the support she was given.
Throughout the whole day the Peckforton staff were on hand to help our suppliers, guests and the turn around of the function rooms was seamless.
One of guests commented that they couldn’t understand how they did it as you never saw anyone! To this day we are still receiving comments from our guests saying how wonderful and magical our wedding day was.
I can’t thank Peckforton enough, the venue, the scenery and staff, it's the ultimate package, this is an amazing place for a Wedding. If you are looking to wow your guests and have an amazing day this is definitely the venue to pick! Thank you to all at Peckforton for helping us have the wedding of our dreams, Mr & Mrs Cornes.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing (how can they not be when you are staying in a castle!) however if you want something a bit more plush choose one of the rooms that have a name e.g. Buxton...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma_Cornes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewNaylor, Director of Sales at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your wedding day we wish you all the happiness in the world! We definately are not sick of the sight of you and it was a pleasure to be able help your Nana, we pride ourselves on going the extra mile. Dont forget to return on your anniversary or before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews