We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,147)
Filter reviews
2,147 results
Traveller rating
771
674
361
201
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
674
361
201
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice roomgolf tripgolfing breakrelaxation roomcream teagreat golfpro shopplay golflovely hotelround of golfset menubar pricescheshire countrysiderestaurant stafffrom start to finishbirthday treatcouldn't fault
Filter
Updating list...
1,149 - 1,154 of 2,147 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Overall very good. Apart from breakfast. Not very enjoyable for one person out of 4. Undercooked food. And a bar lady on in the eve. Had attitude when we asked to put our drink in a tall glass. Clearly did not know that a vodka and tonic is to be served in a tall glass.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andreavX8631ZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, however I am sorry for the disappointing aspects of your experience.

Please be assured that I have implemented a programme of remedial training with the catering team based on your feedback and I hope, should you stay with us again, you are able to notice the improvements in these areas.

Kind regards

Marc Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We were a group of 68 golfers. Enjoyed the golf courses. Do not eat here if in a very large group as the kitchen seems unable to cope. As a family or small group who were in the restaurant they seemed to enjoy their experience.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V5666LHalanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback which I will share with the team.

We look forward to you visiting again soon.

Many thanks

Marc Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Enjoyed the stay however the staff are over worked at the bar, staff pleasant but service was not to standard because of this.

We purchased the stay dinner bed and breakfast but the dibber is a 3 course and this menu is poor - we were however allowed to purchased a meal up to the value of £50 which was a great alternative.

Wine is pricey and food is very pricey for the quality.

Standard bedrooms are great size so would not consider upgrading as these were more than sufficient for a 1 night stay.

In all honesty you would get more fore your money if you were to visit carden park instead, stand and quality is much better for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 489tonih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa.

I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were disappointing, I would have liked the chance to discuss this with you during your visit.

We are currently implementing training for staff across all departments and I hope, should you stay with us again, you are able to notice the improvements.

Kind regards

Marc Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Stayed on a one night two rounds of golf break.both golf courses where excellent very well maintained and a joy to play. The hotel its self again excellent. However my main complaint would be as follows are meal was booked for 7-30 there in good time are starter arrived at 8-30,then are meal one hour later, this is not good enough,but overall I would go back assuming the that was a one off.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tellbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your visit to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa.

It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is very busy and this is testament to the excellent facility we have and the service that we are continually improving. There are times when staffing levels can be slightly short but with our focused training procedures we are able to move people from other departments to support busy areas.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Many thanks

Marc Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Resturant too hot.hotel comfortable .food very good . people were complaining about small things like asking for a jug of water and it taking an hour to get it.
Breakfast very good but was very busy. Maybe a toaster that people could do their own . I would definitely return but they do have a few small problems .

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peteandwend927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and appreciate your constructive feedback which I will share with the team.

We look forward to you visiting again soon.

Many thanks

Marc Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews